Groupe Encore Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Groupe Encore Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
58%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Groupe Encore Founder/CEO Monique Mardinian (no image)
Monique Mardinian
18 Ratings
  1. "Really great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupe Encore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    since I’ve been at Encore, I can really see the focus on improvement and its people. Above all, the people are awesome, which makes it a really great place to work. They’ve also made big steps in becoming bcorp as well as focusing on diversity. A great environment to learn and work in.

    Cons

    Office and be a little noisy, meeting rooms are sometimes all booked.

    Continue reading
    Groupe Encore2019-09-18
  2. "It’s tough to work at encore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupe Encore full-time

    Pros

    They have food and a dog who can be cute but is also loud when you’re trying to make bookings. The people who work there that aren’t managers are great people.

    Cons

    It’s very dark to work at Encore. People are never happy and never smiling. People are sad or mad when they work. Everyone clocks in and clocks out and doesn’t care to put in more effort because what’s the point? They don’t have any culture or structure or organization. I suggest working at any other travel management company, the hours may be good at encore but that’s it.

    Groupe Encore2019-11-27
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Worse place i have ever worked , Unsanitary, dirty office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Corporate Travel Agent in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Groupe Encore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they even advertise free breakfast but what you get is just cereal that no one eats

    Cons

    I have been working at Encore Travel since 6 months , i already start looking for another job. We have been promised 2 full weeks training, but after a week they threw us on the floor , we did not get full 2 weeks training , when we have questions there is zero support , no one knows what they are doing , Its just total chaos , They keep lying us about all kind of stuff. It is the worse management i have ever seen . Office is not healthy there are dogs are running around , they bring their dogs without knowing if anyone is scared from dogs , Dog poops and pee all over the place , no one cleans carpets or coaches so unhealthily , office smells really bad , people keep getting sick . office is extremely loud you can not even hear clients on the phone , all they hear is dog barks. i did regret coming here as couple new agents , i am already looking to get the hell out of here. Before i came i heard that owner was crazy now i can confirm that it is true.

    Continue reading
    Groupe Encore2019-11-09
  4. "Great values, great collaboration, strong culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupe Encore part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are curious and want to keep learning its the place to be. Recognition is built in to the culture with a weekly company wide huddle where everyone shares results and shout outs of gratitude. Management is hands on, available and engaged. People team is off the charts! No red tape, no politics.

    Cons

    Expectations are high, engagement is expected, options are required. If you want to get a job rather than a career this is not the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Groupe Encore2019-08-18
  5. Helpful (4)

    "A dynamic company with great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupe Encore full-time

    Pros

    I love the work I'm doing! I love my team and my manager! I feel cared about at Encore. I enjoy the weekly meetings to discuss my goals and progress. Everyone is very helpful and friendly, including the owner, Monique. The office is recently renovated and a pleasure to come to every morning.

    Cons

    If you are uncomfortable with change and innovation, you won't be happy at Encore.

    Continue reading
    Groupe Encore2019-02-03

    Groupe Encore Response

    March 21, 2019People and Culture Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoy working here!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company and Great Colleagues!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Saint-Laurent, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupe Encore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really fun environment to work in. It's a place where you feel included and part of the family from day 1. A great work-life balance and company-wide huddles every Friday. The managers are great and have created great relationships with not only their own teams, but all teams are collaborative together within the company. I appreciate that the management team is hands-on and appreciates our feedback and ideas. A lot of room for collaboration, and an environment where you have the opportunity to learn from other people, who are very knowledgable in their fields. Overall I feel really fortunate to be part of this team and where the company is going. The CEO is wonderful and is very clear on the company's strategy. She is very transparent in sharing the company vision with the entire Encore Team. Great culture to be a part of.

    Cons

    The office is at a great location, but not much in walking distance in the winter.

    Continue reading
    Groupe Encore2019-02-01

    Groupe Encore Response

    March 21, 2019People and Culture Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback! We agree that a collaborative environment is a main driving force for success. Thank you for taking to write a review.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great company that deserves to be recognized for it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupe Encore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been at Encore for over a year now, and I have very few bad things to say about it. Reading other peoples’ reviews about the CEO being “crazy” is really unfortunate. Some people don’t understand what innovation and vision should look like. The company provides its employees with fantastic opportunities and a great experience. From an annual company weekend retreat to great events throughout the year, Encore definitely has a family-esque feel. Also, hard work is ALWAYS recognized here. If you come and put in your all, it will definitely be noticed and rewarded.

    Cons

    Being innovative requires change. I don’t personally see this as a con, but some might.

    Continue reading
    Groupe Encore2018-11-26

    Groupe Encore Response

    March 21, 2019People and Culture Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are dedicated to creating an environment that our team enjoys working in. Management sessions, town hall meetings and career development training are just a few ways that we help our team achieve success.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Worst work environment I have ever been in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint-Laurent, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupe Encore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast, which is sometimes not there. Salaries are also decent in this company

    Cons

    Owner has no respect for her employees, removing them from one position to another as if they were here property! She changes her mind as often as she changes her clothes, and this includes her strategies. No long-term thinking, everything could change for no reason, and job security is non existent. Very stressful workplace, especially since employees are fired arbitrarily without proper distribution of their duties.

    Groupe Encore2019-01-11

    Groupe Encore Response

    March 21, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. Being a part of an innovative team such as Encore, change is a given. Although we have a clear vision and strategy, the ability to adapt and change course when required is critical for the growth of the organization. We pride ourselves on learning from the past and are focused on constant improvement. We have now put several resources and systems in place to ensure that our team members understand how they each contribute to the long term success of Encore. That being said, when it's clear that something is not working, we correct it. If you are open to a conversation with me, I would like to discuss how we can better manage how change impacts you and how we can support you with this. Our goal at Encore is to ensure that each individual feels like a valued member of the team.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Corporate Travel Circus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Groupe Encore full-time

    Pros

    The travel counselors are nice although they are trying their best to meet unrealistic goals and expectations.

    Cons

    Not much stablility. Constant change of direction. Unrealistic goals. The CEO is completely dilusional of what she wants to attain with a staff that is constantly changing like it was a revolving door. The owner and CEO should learn to treat her employees better.

    Continue reading
    Groupe Encore2018-10-30

    Groupe Encore Response

    March 21, 2019People and Culture Specialist

    Thank you for feedback. We are committed to ensuring that each individual at Encore feels supported and valued and it's clear that this was not your experience. We missed the mark somewhere and are focused on continuous improvement. In regards to salary, we regularly review within the industry to ensure that we remain above the market standard. If you are interested in contacting me to have a conversation, I would be very open to the feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Toxic leadership: do. not. join. this. company. Period."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Groupe Encore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I met great people there and made good friends. Most of us left Encore and we are laughing about this company when we speak about it. Such a joke! Fortunately, we do not spend much time anymore on this subject.

    Cons

    Sorry it is long! As a manager be ready to spend most of your time on meetings with no clear agenda, no concrete outcome or decision. There are meetings about everything, permanently with too many people. Loss of time. Management meetings: they can last for 8 hours if not more. Usually, the new comers are super stars: they will hear from the CEO « genius » each and every time they share an idea. It lasts between 6 months and a year for most of them. Then, they leave or get demoted. Transparency: forget about it. You have no access to numbers and forget about your bonus unless you are still under the spotlights. Employees who have been there for 10 years or more (travel agents excluded): I feel sorry for them. They are not bad people but spending too much time in such an environment is not good for the brain and the skills. So usually they hardly can adapt to a new environment and cannot change the company. They got used to be micro managed and do what the CEO wants (yes, the CEO will tell them what to do as she trusts them). As a new joiner in any position, be extremely careful: they are the one who will provide their feedback (negative usually) to the CEO. The company claims it grows but it does not. The number of employees remain between 40 and 50. They hire a lot due to the amazing turnover. This also explains why new comers are always surprised to see that many employees joined in the past 6 months. Technology: the company is far behind the main players in the business. Very manual processes, they struggle to implement automated solutions whereas they have been trying for ages. The reason? There is no understanding of strategic planning and the efforts required to solve deeper issues. So while the competitors have automated solutions for their agents or their customers, this company is totally behind with complex manual processes... Atmosphere: the company wants to be perceived as a fun place to work… The reality: there is no fun. Usually companies that communicate the most about fun, are not the best places to work for. It means there is an issue.... People are stressed and blamed for the lack of results, productivity or anything else you can face in this industry. I never saw in my life so many people feeling sick or depressed because of their work: when I was there and also a long time after I left. There is a reason. And this not the Christmas party or yearly retreat that will change this. Marketing: ups, sorry, there is no marketing team anymore. That was one of the trends at one point (up to 4 people!!!). Obviously, they all left and there is no such department. It is all about trends in this company. No clear vision. Positive reviews: they come either from people in their first year, when they did not get the reality of their environment, or people who have been asked to do it. This is the reason why you can see several positive reviews in June 2018… Travel agents benefits: forget about your hotel points. It is mandatory to use the CEO’s cards so she gets the points. Ask during the interview. My advice to candidates (even the most desperates) who are considering joining this company: go on Linkedin and contact ex-employees to hear what they have to say. Then, you can make a decision. I know the feedback on Glassdoor looks very negative but unfortunately it is true.

    Continue reading
    Groupe Encore2018-10-22

    Groupe Encore Response

    March 27, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking considerable time to provide us with your detailed viewpoint. You’ve brought up several points, so we’ll just address a few (you’re right, your review is long 😉!): Firstly, we’re happy that you met great people at Encore and made some good friends. You couldn’t be more right, when it comes to the amazing people that work here, you can’t help but bond with the fantastic team. We’re continuously working hard at finding the right people as we grow, and are extremely proud of where we are today. It’s true that Encore isn’t for everyone, but it’s the perfect place for a lot of people. We are also incredibly proud of the culture of trust and transparency that we have– and this starts with our CEO. As a former manager, and someone who was involved in contributing to your team’s development, it’s unfortunate that you did not see the value in these management meetings. We’ve received feedback that these meetings provide great insight and opportunity for our teams to align. It is always our aim to better inform our employees on career trajectory and how they can grow within the company. And you’re right - we do read a lot and share exciting ideas. In the many months since your employment with us, we have focused on investing in our people (training opportunities, career development plans…) and we will continue to improve, day by day. As a company that has been around for over 30 years, the list of people who grow (and continue to grow) their career at Encore is super impressive (including our incredible marketing team and our management team) . I’m sorry that you did not get the chance to grow your career with us. As for your advice to candidates, we encourage everyone to continue to read reviews and to come and see first hand! Meet us, chat with us, and get to know what we’re all about (we have great coffee, and a very cute office dog 😉).

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 23 reviews