Groundswell Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Groundswell Group Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Groundswell Group CEO Darren Sartison (no image)
Darren Sartison
22 Ratings
  1. "Lots of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time

    Pros

    Working on shifting with the market trends Provides many opportunities for staff Gets lots of accolades from customers

    Cons

    Can be slow to move Seems distracted with a variety of initiatives and technologies

    Advice to Management

    Work on focusing on strengths and picking one area of growth, not 5

    Groundswell Group2017-04-12
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Groundswell Group

    Pros

    Senior level managers are very kind and approachable. More than willing to help you out. Leadership team is very competent when it comes to data management

    Cons

    -Company is totally reliant on the spending abilities of large local firms. IT projects are one of the first things to be cut when these large corps have to save money, so Groundswell is hit hard. -HR "department" is practically non existent, and too busy to offer any type of support. If you have problems with someone you work with, or for, you'll have to sort it out on your own -Let people go with no notice, and... for ambiguous reasons. Not a great office environment

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your day to day work environment. Try to encourage a more positive atmosphere around the office. The data management industry is changing rapidly, and leaving Groundswell behind

    Groundswell Group2017-01-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Best IT Firm in West Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group

    Pros

    1. Groundswell Cares: employees interest and ideas are always considered as top priority 2. Open door policy: senior management is always listening the voices from employees 3. Recognize employees 4. Tons of opportunity with leading edge technologies 5. Best working environment and culture. 6. GSW grows so fast and gain so many successful clients in many industries

    Cons

    Too good to have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep your excellent work and lead the company to a higher level!

    Groundswell Group2016-10-15
  4. "Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group

    Pros

    Good Policies and employee friendly

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for senior level roles

    Advice to Management

    Keep it simple

    Groundswell Group2016-06-11
  5. "Better among the averages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The management is very approachable. They have an open door policy. Hard work is recognized and you can progress quickly.

    Cons

    Very limited amount of work. It all depends on how oil & gas is doing and otherwise projects stop rolling in.

    Advice to Management

    Keep yourself approachable. Being the leaders in consulting in western Canada you should continue to drive the momentum to make your clients adapt newer technologies.

    Groundswell Group2016-04-11
  6. "Excellent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Groundswell Group

    Pros

    Bonus, Medical insurance, RRSP, Training bidget, Good work life balance

    Cons

    Have not experienced anything bad

    Groundswell Group2016-03-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good company for juniors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Groundswell Group

    Pros

    CEO and COO care genuinely about their employees. HR is awesome. Laid back and flexible environment. Feels like a family. Some of the best people.

    Cons

    No room for growth. Incompetent SDMs and TDMs. It get much worse of you are not in the head office as things are noticeable by HR and executives. A couple of time I saw team members treated in a special way just because they are buddies of an SDM. Not good for the team moral or the company itself. This even hurts the client's interest. Focus on hiring cheap workers while they send them to clients as Senior... CONSULTANTS. Not good! Once you are at a certain seniority level, you can't grow more. Alot of organisations changes since it grew more than 60 and nothing is working yet. Bad RRSP. Low Base salary and bonus is subject to market conditions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get more feedback constantly from your employees. You might have people still working for you simply because they are not able to find another place although they might have serious complaints against their leads. Keep the good job of caring about your employees.

    Groundswell Group2016-01-24
  8. "As good as it gets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An amazing corporate culture, and by far the best work experience I have ever had. Supportive and caring people, showing a genuine commitment to their team's development. This company is one of Canada's fastest growing companies (#183) and for good reason. I couldn't ask more from an employer.

    Cons

    Not sure where these negative reviews are coming from, so there must be a communication problem that I am not aware of.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose touch with what has brought you to this point!

    Groundswell Group2015-10-27
  9. "Designed IDT, Webi Reports, Dashboards, Hana architect and Administration in CMC."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Integrated Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group

    Pros

    Best Environment, Good Salary, Best benefits and above all keep the employees busy to feel satisfied.

    Cons

    I love to accomplish my projects. Challenge is to get used to new database.

    Advice to Management

    My job is to make job easy of my management and team members with my performance, experience, skill and punctuality.

    Groundswell Group2015-03-16
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Beware of Middleware management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Groundswell Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Negotiate and get a good starting salary. Good bonus and profit sharing, if market is good.

    Cons

    No bonus or profit sharing after first year. Company lays off smart and hardworking employees and replacing them with fresh graduates. Company recruits people very cheaply on TN visas and work permits and exploits them until they get PR. Advice to new recruits , get experience in a year and fly out, as you job may not be stable.

    Advice to Management

    Respect those employees who have worked hard and sincerely, instead of promoting those who don't work hard, but are close to top management.

    Groundswell Group2015-01-27
Found 38 reviews