Greystar Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 148 of over 2,157 reviews

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Greystar Founder & CEO    Bob Faith
Bob Faith
1,116 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, Place for growth(in 141 reviews)

  • "Opportunity for growth all over(in 75 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management was not great and there was no work life balance(in 90 reviews)

  • "Work-Life Balance can be difficult(in 85 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Jan 23, 2021 - Leasing Agent in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The compensation was okay and the location was nice

      Cons

      Upper management was not great and there was no work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Greystar Response

      Director Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your feedback and for your 3 years of service. We are happy to see compensation was competitive and the location convenient for you. I would like to learn or hear more regarding your feedback on upper management and work life balance. If you are open to discussing please reach out to me at Courtney.brooks@greystar.com. We wish you the best in your next adventure!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company great benefits

      Dec 9, 2020 - Assistant Community Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great health benefits and work life balance. I have the best manager ever.

      Cons

      Not too sure about advancement opportunities just yet. Been here a little Over a year.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good company

      Dec 23, 2020 - Community Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, move up quickly

      Cons

      Work life balance, definitely expected to work after hours of in upper management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Greystar Response

      Director Talent Acquisition

      First and foremost, thank you for your 5+ years of service! Your feedback is so important to our business and helps to guide us as we continue to grow in NY. I encourage you to reach out to your RPM, Director, or myself so we can learn more about your advice to management. I know these are things we strive for and are top of mind with our NY leadership team. I know they would be curious to hear your suggestions! Thank you for all that you do. Onward and upward!

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Fair place to work

      Dec 14, 2020 - Assistant Community Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive pay, good benefits for the most part

      Cons

      Extremely overwhelming work load at bigger properties, no work life balance. Little diversity.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Intern, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Nov 11, 2020 - Sales Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team of colleagues and management, good work/life balance

      Cons

      Lack of growth opportunities for younger team

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Environment but Bad Pay

      Oct 31, 2020 - Porter in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really great benefits and awesome events.

      Cons

      Bad pay, they take forever to consider a raise, toxic management, horrible work/life balance

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not what they seem

      Dec 8, 2020 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      insurance, insurance, insurance, pay, insurance

      Cons

      management, communication, commission pay, work life balance, compassion

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Working as leasing agent

      Nov 11, 2020 - Leasing Agent in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, beautiful offices to work in, commission is great

      Cons

      Work on weekends, hard to have work/life balance. Lots of competition for growth.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great training, lots of room for growth within the company

      Oct 27, 2020 - Leasing Consultant in Tempe, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Training provided set you up for success

      Cons

      Lack of work/life balance. Also seemed to be a lack of organization when it came to job roles in the apartment complex I was in.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Large Company that Lost Sight of its Values

      Nov 3, 2020 - Community Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -I had a great work life balance as a CM. I have seen other people absolutely lose their mind though... it is what you make of it. -Free apartment if you are a CM. Make sure your contract states that you are required to live onsite or that you have a letter from ownership saying they require you to live onsite or you have to pay taxes. **They are starting to move away from this a little bit, but, again, it depends on your regional. Some regionals will convince their client that they should only pay X amount for a free apartment and that you will be responsible for the rest. Be valued, know your worth, get that free apt if you need it. -Abundant sick time, make sure you USE it though. **wish they had moved to grouping in vacation/ sick time as PTO as other companies are moving towards. -401k is 100% vested after only 2 years. Crazy!

      Cons

      There are a lot of reasons why I left Greystar. Ultimately it came down to the lack of support I felt as a manager. "Greystar" was not on my team. Additional cons: -Boast about upward mobility, but this is seriously false. My region has hired many regionals from outside companies instead of promoting the 4 senior property managers we had at buildings. I was successful in getting a promotion in the company, but I had to leave my region and move across the country to do so. I was often non-responded to from hiring managers when submitting an internal application. -Pay is average, yet fair. However, if you get promoted, your pay will no longer be fair or competitive. It is best to enter this company and NOT be promoted as they increase your salary based on what you were previously making. Not what the position should pay as "there is no average pay for a position." Clearly they never heard of Glassdoor. -Speaking of promotions, you will see your fair share of nepotism. It is what it is; getting hired is one thing, but blatantly fast tracking these people for promotions is absurd and puts a damper on morale throughout the managers. -Benefits are expensive for such a large company. It's nice they pay for your insurance after 5 years and that you see a reduction after 3, but it is still crazy high. Also, they don't cover your short term/ long term disability. -We are a 3rd party management company. Even if your owner wants to do something their way, Greystar will shove all their "Greystar" products down the throats of their clients to try to get achieve all the kick-backs from our vendors. When ownership doesn't want it.. doesn't matter!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 148 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Greystar Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Greystar? Share Your Experiences

    Greystar logo
    or