Greene King Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Greene King Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 605 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Greene King CEO Rooney Anand
Rooney Anand
249 Ratings
Pros
  • "Left to run my pub as if my own business(in 41 reviews)

  • "Excellent staff discount and caring management(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be long hours but it’s how you manage your time(in 56 reviews)

  • "Now they are changing it to monthly pay which is a reason why I wouldn't go back there and would probably work at another pub that paid weekly(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Unstable hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commis Chef in Chippenham, South West England, England

    I worked at Greene King full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50 percent off food and drink, friends and family discounts, nice management

    Cons

    Zero hours contracts, unstable rota,

    Advice to Management

    Please dont tell prospective staff you are going to employ full.time when the co grants zero.hour contracts ,be upfront

    Greene King2019-09-14
  2. "Good place to work with opportunity for progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Team Member 
    Recommends

    I worked at Greene King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn to work well within a team, able to keep any tips made from customers, opportunities for progression in a company that cares.

    Cons

    Low rate of pay, minimum wage

    Greene King2019-09-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, good pay ,excellent training

    Cons

    Long hours , poor incentives for team

    Advice to Management

    Better team incentive scheme

    Greene King2019-09-04
  4. "Corn mill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Beeston, East Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good discounts every month to use

    Cons

    Rubbish pay each and every 4 weeks

    Greene King2019-08-28
  5. "The Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Front of House 

    I have been working at Greene King part-time

    Pros

    I’m always busy and everyone is so lovely.

    Cons

    How long the breaks are

    Greene King2019-08-29
  6. "Great teams, mismanaged from top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Supervisor in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people in all the teams across Aberdeen sites, fantastic to work with. Staff and friends and family discounts both very good perks

    Cons

    Decisions made by greene king made from people clearly lacking in Bar experience making your job more difficult. In my pub too we had 4 manager changes within 9 months which demonstrates the lack of care about the pub higher management had.

    Advice to Management

    Start to value your team members more than you already do and teams will be more settled and ultimately work more coherently

    Greene King2019-08-28
  7. "Decent Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FOH Staff in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greene King part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, good reward system

    Cons

    Very long hours, no progression

    Greene King2019-08-26
  8. "Brilliant company, friendly management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FOH Team Member in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pubs may vary but I’ve had no issues with anything. Management are friendly and very understanding in the pub I work in, they don’t hesitate to help you learn something when you are new and will explain it to you. You will not be left alone to do big tasks without first learning till you are confident in yourself to do so without help

    Cons

    Barely any if none

    Advice to Management

    Keep up a friendly atmosphere

    Greene King2019-08-24
  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun flexible shedule drinks peaple

    Cons

    long h weeknds managemnet food

    Greene King2019-08-25
  10. "Sneaky"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Greene King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friends and family discount, paid training

    Cons

    No work life balance, will sell the pub without notice

    Advice to Management

    Stop harping on about labour

    Greene King2019-08-20
Found 605 reviews