Great-West Life Assurance Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Great-West Life Assurance Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 289 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Great-West Life Assurance CEO Paul Mahon (no image)
Paul Mahon
1 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, low pay, lots of overtime(in 8 reviews)

  • "unfair compensation, little career advancement opportunity(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great-West Life Assurance

    Pros

    Always opportunities to grow. Training available

    Cons

    None. I’ve only had good experiences

    Advice to Management

    Continue with all your great support to your team

    Great-West Life Assurance2019-03-02
  2. "Overall, a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Disability Case Manager in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Great-West Life Assurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, work life balance, earned days off, competitive salary,

    Cons

    Expensive extended healthcare benefits, high workload, constant process changes

    Great-West Life Assurance2019-09-23
  3. "a day in the life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relations Specialist in London, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great-West Life Assurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Salary Great Benefits Great Office Hours

    Cons

    Extremely repetitive , consistent scrutiny, gets stressful at times.

    Great-West Life Assurance2019-08-31
  4. "Onsite perks but disconnected teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great-West Life Assurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Affordable onsite food, lots of jobs to aspire to

    Cons

    Teams aren’t great at communicating, didn’t find the people overly friendly, quiet days in a cubicle

    Great-West Life Assurance2019-09-12
  5. "Changing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great-West Life Assurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the culture is changing to be more at par with technology firms and larger banks. this means that there is alot of work and alot of opportunity to make your mark!

    Cons

    some legacy structures make it hard to move forward

    Advice to Management

    continue to make changes to the culture, ask more of your senior and middle management and keep up the great work.

    Great-West Life Assurance2019-08-20

    Great-West Life Assurance Response

    August 23, 2019Great-West Life

    Our employee-focused approach is what drives us to build a workplace environment that’s collaborative and supportive for all employees. We appreciate your input and advice. We recognize that change and transformation can be a challenge and it can lead to increasing job demands and ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good place to work.....but had a lot of downfalls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great-West Life Assurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleauges, fun atmosphere, decent Management...

    Cons

    Workloads were very high, management could never agree on processes, concerns that were voiced were rarely actioned...

    Advice to Management

    Formulate a plan and see it through

    Great-West Life Assurance2019-08-29
  7. "Not to bad of a place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great-West Life Assurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay weekends off good coworkers

    Cons

    supervisors treat you like a child

    Great-West Life Assurance2019-08-21
  8. "O.K."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great-West Life Assurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong Team, Good place to start

    Cons

    Work life balance, Stress, Culture

    Great-West Life Assurance2019-08-22

    Great-West Life Assurance Response

    August 23, 2019Great-West Life

    We recognize the importance of work-life balance for a workforce that’s talented and diverse. Thank you for your input on work life balance – we will work to review and assess the guidelines.

  9. "Okay to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Disability Case Manager in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great-West Life Assurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good training program, clean office

    Cons

    Minimal support from management for ongoing file management

    Great-West Life Assurance2019-08-18
  10. "Client Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative 

    I have been working at Great-West Life Assurance full-time

    Pros

    The best part is the pay

    Cons

    Management is horrible. They need to hire qualified managers.

    Great-West Life Assurance2019-08-16
Found 289 reviews