Great Expressions Dental Centers Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Great Expressions Dental Centers Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Great Expressions Dental Centers CEO Dan Hirschfeld    (no image)
Dan Hirschfeld
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "GEDC has great Benefits and room for growth with in the company(in 11 reviews)

  • "I had childhood dentist phobia but desperately needed dental treatment(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management treated us like toys instead of people(in 13 reviews)

  • "No cons really, new employee so time will tell(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "You have to love what you do to stay here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Expanded Functions Dental Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Doctors are great

    Cons

    Communication isn't good Force to take CE course without assistance with pay

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-09-27
  2. "ok to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Dental Assistant 

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time

    Pros

    benefits, ce courses, 401k, disability insurance

    Cons

    lots of turnover, not enough support

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-09-05
  3. "Pretty good work culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Openness of all executive team.

    Cons

    Vacation time isn’t the best.

    Advice to Management

    More group meets about company improvements.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-08-09
  4. "Wonderful until my position was eliminated."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people at offices to work with. Patients are wonderful and helping them makes you feel good about your job.

    Cons

    Downsizing due to financial concerns.

    Advice to Management

    Have loyalty to your long time employees.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-08-08
  5. "Prepare to sell sell sell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Hygienist 

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time

    Pros

    Full benefits, open line of communication with hygiene director

    Cons

    Medical benefits are through an unheard of company and not widely accepted

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-08-09
  6. "Terrible Employee Treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Rochester, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some good employees.. usually the ones that are under paid!

    Cons

    Horrible treatment of long term employees!!! Horrible and under qualified management within the offices.. Especially in the Michigan Northeast Region!

    Advice to Management

    The managers you all hire are not always right, when there’s an issue with employees within the office!! We are all human!! And if there is a minor almost non-issue within the office, there should be a investigation from the higher ups.. before a termination without a real reason!

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-09-04
  7. "22 years in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Southfield, MI
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great hours, no nights or weekends

    Cons

    Bad management at the upper level trickling down to the offices. Restructuring the bonus system so that it's almost not worth trying. Taking away commissions, etc.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-07-26
  8. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I want to say something positive. Really, I do. I worked for GEDC for 13 years.

    Cons

    The culture is horrible. They fired the 2nd CEO. Currently, there is no CEO. Because GEDC has such a bad reputation, many other DSO will not consider a current or former GEDC employee. Stay away from this sinking ship.

    Advice to Management

    You might want to look at upper management and clinical partners. They are truly the biggest culprit in the demise of the company.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-08-25
  9. "Not worth it, apply elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly hygienists, doctors, and their assistants.

    Cons

    Owners are stuck up and NOT friendly, horrible training program, not flexible AT ALL, owners are not understanding, one certain location has a toxic and highly inappropriate work environment. I personally dreaded going to work because of the environment. At the very least, you want to enjoy the work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Get a better training program, look into your staff and how offices are ran when upper management is not around.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-08-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Employees, Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Department in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every same level coworker I had was amazing, dedicated, and awesome to work with. Great people who kept the organization going.

    Cons

    Mid-level management is a joke in IT. More than one person in that department was run off by one, single person. Created hostile work environment and used degradation and intimidation to manage employees. Often micro-managing and taking credit for other people's work.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-07-22
Found 278 reviews