Grant Thornton Executive Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Grant Thornton Executive Assistant Reviews

Updated 21 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton CEO Mike McGuire
Mike McGuire
7 Ratings
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good attitudes of co-workers, excellent work environment and great management.

    Cons

    There were no Cons for me.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the best, release the rest.,

    Grant Thornton2019-09-21

    Grant Thornton Response

    September 23, 2019People & Culture

    Thank you for sharing your experience! We value your opinion and will use this feedback to help make Grant Thornton an even better place to work.

  2. "Easy Coasting Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Irvine, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Maternity leave People are nice and it is very relaxed and low stress.

    Cons

    FTO is used against you during reviews but they won’t tell you how much is an acceptable amount - just be the “same” as your peers. The ambiguity makes it difficult to manage. Absolutely no growth and no opportunity for any admin staff. Admins are not a part of the team. Annual raise is not merit based (maybe 3%) I was told “if you take on more work all you’ll be getting is more work” by a partner who was giving... me advice not to seek out more opportunity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Open opportunity for advancement to retain good smart employees. Stop catering to the lazy.

    Grant Thornton2019-05-08
  3. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Vacation policy, culture, people, professional environment

    Cons

    Low pay increases for admin professionals

    Advice to Management

    Recognize admin professionals contributions and provide pay increases and bonuses as ECS receive.

    Grant Thornton2019-04-17
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Underhanded way of doing business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package and location

    Cons

    Poor management, not transparent, unscrupulous

    Advice to Management

    This company plummeted on Crain’s “best places to work” and it is obvious why. GT treats its loyal employees unfairly and cuts from the bottom not the top.

    Grant Thornton2018-10-13
  5. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Noida

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reporting Partners are good .

    Cons

    Management is not quite helpful

    Advice to Management

    Management should listen to their employee's problem,

    Grant Thornton2018-08-23
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Eye -opening experience -The phrase “just an EA” is used far too often."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time

    Pros

    The office is business casual and in a decent location. There is also an opportunity for free training or “refresher” training on certain office software if you are in administrative support. If you are lucky enough to support a service line that values your input and empowers you to do your job, you can count yourself lucky. I got lucky in this regard. Good place to get your “feet wet” for those wanting to jump... into the public accounting arena or new to the workforce.

    Show More

    Cons

    • Office politics (interpersonal skills) & not performance play hand in far too much & input appears to be encouraged to pacify not improve. • Culture journey teaches you how to play "office politics" with a smile • Processes are unnecessarily complicated & very little guidance is offered. • Lack of communication, organizational structure & clear guidelines across all levels causes unnecessary confusion... • Compensation low for experience; no opportunity for bonuses and extremely low raise percentage if any at all • Support staff treated as they should be seen not heard *Under utilizes the technology at their fingertips

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ask, listen & digest feedback from those that support you. Their voices can add value. Being told you have a job is a "perk" is not exactly a morale booster. You should also make an attempt to make them feel as if their voice or position is not any less important than an intern, manager or anyone else.

    Grant Thornton2017-06-20

    Grant Thornton Response

    June 29, 2017People & Culture

    We are disappointed to hear that this was your experience at Grant Thornton. We focus on offering our employees an environment to communicate openly, while enacting opportunities for our employees to advance within the firm regardless of their background or experience. We encourage you to reach out to your local HR professional to discuss your situation and look forward to talking with you more about this.

    Show Less
  7. "Executive assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Time Off, Flexible work arrangements available

    Cons

    Job role clarity nationwide for support roles

    Advice to Management

    Create a clearer career path for internal client service positions.

    Grant Thornton2017-06-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Tax Operations Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GT offers great benefits including health, dental, and vision insurance; 401K; Legal Assistance, Pet Insurance, Adoption assistance, Firm paid ERP, SoFi Student Loan Refinancing

    Cons

    The FTO policy is not as flexible as it appears.

    Grant Thornton2017-05-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic company to work for. As an executive EA you have the ability to take on more ad hoc projects. Most of the partners appreciate you and all your hard work in making them and the company successful.

    Cons

    I loved the company, I just wish there was more growth opportunities for an exceptional EA.

    Advice to Management

    For executive assistants who work over and above the rest should receive better raises and bonuses as many times they are supporting a partner(s) and their senior managers, directors and managers.

    Grant Thornton2016-10-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for admins"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, flexible time off, great opportunities for work/life balance.

    Cons

    Don't always have the best internal systems in place - poor IT support, the way things are done isn't the most efficient, etc.

    Grant Thornton2016-10-05
Found 17 reviews