Grant Thornton Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Grant Thornton Associate Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton CEO Mike McGuire
Mike McGuire
129 Ratings
  1. "Management Consulting at Grant Thornton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work culture that enables one to learn and grow harmoniously -Supportive colleagues -Collaborative opportunities

    Cons

    -Not as mature as the Big 4's -Talent pool not as competitive as it is in the Big 4 or the MBB

    Grant Thornton2019-04-25
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Associate in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth and development

    Cons

    Long hours and little work life balance

    Grant Thornton2019-09-13
  3. "Go for it and then jump into the big 4"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, flexible work schedule and overtime (for some positions), location in downtown.

    Cons

    Low pay (or fight tooth and nail for an increase), okay health insurance benefits.

    Grant Thornton2019-06-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Just another job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate, Corporate Finance in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable autonomy, work-life balance. Good if you want stability in your life and to go home at a reasonable hour.

    Cons

    Poor deal flow, few opportunities to advance. The compensation structure is not conducive to retaining top talent.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in the advisory practices.

    Grant Thornton2014-09-16
  5. "Good Place to Start Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great place to start your career, a lot of opportunity for different projects - Great People - Fair pay - Good work/life balance (especially compared to a Big 4)

    Cons

    - Advancement within the company is highly correlated to business development - not to your actual client work. There is a very high stress on writing proposals if you want to move up. Actually doing well on your deliverables is hardly recognized. - You get placed in Service Lines and Business Units which theoretically dictate the type of work you do based on your skill set. However, this is very unorganized and... in practice, you'll likely just get placed on a project wherever they can bill you. - Not as many project opportunities as a Big 4.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out the structure of the SBUs and Service Lines.

    Grant Thornton2019-10-18
  6. "Good company for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time

    Pros

    Good culture. You will find many many opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Non so far. I am new to the company.

    Grant Thornton2019-10-11
  7. "I worked for GT more than a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to learn more to be a professional and teams are friendly

    Cons

    Some competitors pay more and office location

    Grant Thornton2019-10-04
  8. "Advisory Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. People are super nice 2. Great culture - the culture conversations keep us aware of what kind of image/mentality GT pursues 3. Learned a lot in good and bad ways

    Cons

    1. No official training - Everything is considered as "on the job training" 2. Advisory has unreal utilization goals (partners want us to charge all, but managers are always conservative with the budget and wants us to charge less) 3. No unified testing procedures - most managers had different approaches, different way of documenting, had to do a lot of re-dos because of this. 4. Some managers... passive-aggressively ask to eat hours/charge less 5. Not as bad as the big 4s, but resourcing was not effective 6. FTO (flexible time off) policy is not as good as it sounds. Especially for Advisory when we can't reach our goals, it's hard to get our vacation approved 7. Restructuring happens even with 1st year staffs 8. Managers listen, but I felt like there was a disconnection with the partners

    Show More
    Grant Thornton2019-10-15
  9. "Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Senior Associate in Bangalore

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Exposure to variety of clients - Great management - Nice work culture

    Cons

    -Busy season hours -Less pay

    Grant Thornton2019-09-29
  10. "Advisory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, travel, growth, exposure, camaraderie

    Cons

    Pay is far below it’s competitors

    Advice to Management

    Benchmark base salary with other consulting firms

    Grant Thornton2019-10-10
Found 483 reviews