Grand Circle Travel Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Grand Circle Travel Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
34%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Grand Circle Travel Chairman and CEO Alan E. Lewis (no image)
Alan E. Lewis
180 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Associate Travel benefits are AMAZING(in 34 reviews)

  • "Great people, great business model-if you work hard, you are rewarded(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Call center is a challenging place to work due to nature of job(in 29 reviews)

  • "They preach their "core values" but good luck being open and courageous and taking risks, you'll be the out the door real fast(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Team Lead in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Circle Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GCT has excellent benefits, a distinctive culture, and great people. The office is in downtown Boston. The company also has offices throughout the world, with occasional opportunities to travel for some employees to those offices. Their European headquarters are in Dubrovnik, Croatia, with windows looking out onto the Adriatic Sea.

    Cons

    The company is owned by a family. Sometimes how the organization is run is peculiar. However, the family cares for people and value their employees and customers.

    Continue reading
    Grand Circle Travel2020-02-11
  2. "ehhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associaate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Circle Travel full-time

    Pros

    Fairly laid back work environment

    Cons

    Whether or not you receive promotions/good quarterly reviews is based solely on subjective rankings

    Grand Circle Travel2020-02-25
  3. "I am retiring at GCT/OAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Counselor in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Circle Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I you Help yourself this company will help you

    Cons

    if you do not help yourself this company will not help you

    Continue reading
    Grand Circle Travel2020-01-28
  4. "Challenging but rewarding company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Circle Travel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Tons of opportunity for growth -Amazing benefits including 100% transit reimbursement - Amazing travel benefits (been to 18 destinations with the company) -Great people to work with

    Cons

    -Long hours and tons of overtime -Call center is a challenging place to work due to nature of job.

    Continue reading
    Grand Circle Travel2019-12-23
  5. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Traveler Support Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grand Circle Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, high morale, management really listens and cares about you. Opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Really dated software systems that slow you down

    Continue reading
    Grand Circle Travel2019-11-20
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Circle Travel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Travel, opportunity for growth, great employees

    Cons

    Too many org changes, too often

    Grand Circle Travel2019-11-14
  7. Helpful (4)

    "It’s pretty bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Grand Circle Travel

    Pros

    Great location. Centrally located plus close to south station. A bunch of good meal options close by as well. Also, generally good people work here so you’ll make some good friends.

    Cons

    First working here is literally like participating in the hunger games. Nothing but mind games to try to break you and turn on your fellow employees. From the moment you enter you’re being criticized and critiqued and ranked against everyone else. At the end of the day this a different type of stress, no work like Balance. Do yourself a favor and never work here.

    Continue reading
    Grand Circle Travel2019-12-01
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grand Circle Travel full-time

    Pros

    Solid benefits, good chances of promotions as all experienced personnel has fled for their lives, although as a replacement for a promotion you will probably need to lose a bit of your soul.

    Cons

    Owner irrational. Your future in company depends more on your ability to sell an image about yourself than on your job skills and the quality of your work. The fact that the senior personnel has fled means that anyone can be promoted which also includes people whose only skills are that they are yea-sayers and who don't have a single leadership bone in their bodies. If you do manage to impress and do everything within the crazy deadlines and goals that are given, this only means that for next task it will be expected that you achieve roughly 20-30% better than last time, and this is valid for each next task until you fail, at which point the owner (or SR management) treats you like sh*t in front of your colleagues and uses you as an example to others because in his mind he perceives that as "challenging" people. One of the key phrases is "open & courageous communication", which is only valid if you are saying what they want to hear and if your views are at least 90% aligned with Alan&management. If not, "O&C" is a one way ticket out of the door, which means O&C is basically B&S. P&C (HR) is laughable, incapable of developing people to the point that they have no idea what kind of people they have under them and who is best fit for which role. Due to insane demands (and job insecurity) from head office regional offices have locked themselves in a way where no one wants to even apply for the job, as the company is being regarded as a joke. Letting go of people is erratic, they will let go of people without thinking of the time and the effort it took to develop that person, without thinking of the losses that will be created by incapable replacements, without thinking who will take over the tasks that have been left behind, without thinking that the actual cost of termination at that point means that all other people in that office will be stretched (and frustrated) for several months until they find and train a proper replacement (which is done at a snail's pace), and without thinking of the effects this will have on those people in that office as they will be expected to still deliver 110% of their regular job in addition to delivering everything for that person who was let go.

    Continue reading
    Grand Circle Travel2019-11-08
  9. "Management needs to communicate more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Service Coordinator in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Circle Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Get to shape travelers experience by hiring/training guides.

    Cons

    -Management not aligned together with different ideas to run things. -Bad communication in management and everyone blaming others for failures. -On the job training with very high expectations -Have very low staff retention overall

    Grand Circle Travel2019-11-07
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Do Not Understand How They Could Lie About ME"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grand Circle Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The People were really nice, and from what I saw that 1 day it was amazing and I really wanted to be a part of it. From the Managers to the Trainers, They seemed to really Care about their employee's. I knew I would learn a great deal and really would enjoy helping clients with all their travel needs.

    Cons

    I paid my own way up to Boston from Orlando. I paid for my lodging. I had to resign after the first day of orientation due to my Life Partner's illness. I was told I could reapply after 6 months. I have been applying for about 5 months now. I received an email from a HR Woman, who told me that GCT/OAT would NEVER Look at me again, because GCT had paid my way from Orlando up to Boston and they paid for my Lodging and after 2 weeks I walked off the Job. Which is a blatant Lie. Because I have the receipts from the airlines and the hotel, which I paid for. It hurts that someone would put a lie in my personal file at GCT, when I thought they were a Awesome and wonderful company.

    Continue reading
    Grand Circle Travel2019-09-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 282 reviews