Grainger Canada Employee Reviews about "agi"

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 322 reviews

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Grainger Canada Vice President and General Manager Dave Lagoner (no image)
Dave Lagoner
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and managers to help you(in 28 reviews)

  • "Work with some good people that's about it(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lots of changes in a small amount of time(in 8 reviews)

  • "There were no cons working for AGI(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "agi"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      Oct 16, 2019 - Operations Manager in Richmond Hill, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with the organization close to three years now and the leadership team builds an environment where the team members can learn and develop. AGI being a big organization there are plenty of opportunities which are posted and the hiring process is transparent, where an equal opportunity is given to all applicants. Overall AGI is a good employer that values team members!

      Cons

      No cons to report at this time.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Too bad there are a lot of lost souls with bad intentions.

      Jan 16, 2020 - Operations Manager in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The hours are pretty good. You don't work weekends, and have all of your statuary holidays off. You get three weeks vacations the first year, but remember that at any time should you leave or move on, you owe AGI back for the time taken in the present year (meaning, if you take 3 weeks off the first year you work, and you leave at the before the year is over, you are clawed back for your paid vacations. So it is misleading when AGI says, three weeks paid vacation when you start... that is simply not the case). You get benefits (caveat). Most people are okay to work with, as long as they are not direct reports.

      Cons

      HR is lost, they do not know or have the desire to do what any solid company should have, a solid HR. They are great at passing the buck, and sitting idle. Too many individuals working at HR forget the importance of people, and the importance of doing their role. Taking ownership... something HR does not do. Most companies handle the hiring, all in house. Not AGI, they choose to use a third party company who are simply hired to fill bodies. What about taking charge, I mean, isn't that your job? Some individuals are laid back, and like to cruise and pass the buck when it comes time to work. Sense of urgency is non existant, and those individuals are low performers. Too many employees are still feeling the sting directly or indirectly after the massive closures and restructuring. They live in the past, and fail to move forward. Too much wallowing in self pity and yet your coworkers are demotivating and disillusioned with reality that they continue to be heard for there griping and nobody holds them accountable by cleaning house. You got to spend money on your work staff in order to make the changes required to move forward. Until you do so, you will continue to drift along until you crash and burn. Eventually the good managers and people you come across move on, simply because they are ousted or choose to no longer fight the bureaucracy and resistance from within the organization. Senior American Leaders are clueless, self righteous, all knowing, closed minded, and simply cannot hear or listen. They talk the talk, but have no clue how to walk the walk. Lynching someone or finding someone to sacrifice is a defeatist way of learning and moving forward. They just don't get it. The rah! rah! rah! is a culture thing, and in Canada that simply is laughed at by your people. Slowly the company erosion persists, and good people find themselves being appreciated at the competition. Nice way of having your employees better themselves. Learn at AGI, and then move on to benefit your competition. The benefits package is there for window dressing, but it is pale with the standard in the industry in terms of what is covered and the amount. Most items from within the catalog is overpriced. So much so, that most items are above msrp, no wonder your customers choose to purchase from many other distributors. This doesn't have to be that way, but the red tape and dinosaur mentality makes this the norm.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good leaders & culture, struggling business model

      Nov 7, 2019 - Senior Operations Manager in Edmonton, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Greatly enjoyed my time at AGI. Senior leaders are smart and motivated, culture is inclusive and high-performance, learning is encouraged and they value initiative. Very little politics or personal agendas.

      Cons

      AGI recently changed their business model and are struggling to keep up with the new model's challenges, costing them customers in the short term. With a number of quality competitors in the field, it will be a hard fight for a few years.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Most of the reviews are fake or forced.

      Sep 9, 2019 - Account Manager in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone knows who AGI is and what they do.

      Cons

      1) MICROMANAGEMENT from top to bottom. 2) Lack of direction. 3) No CRM 4) Multiple reports taking time off sales. 5) Spend allot more time in front of computer entering fake or wrong data to satisfy middle management. 6) One way conversation. 7) No respect. 8) Horrible working condition.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Set the bar high for other organizations

      May 30, 2019 - DCSM in Fort McMurray, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great leaders, mentors, pay, and opportunities.

      Cons

      There were no cons working for AGI.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      AGI leading the way

      May 17, 2019 - Senior Manager DC in Edmonton, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have had the pleasure of working for AGI for 30 years. I come to work everyday empowered to do my job to the best of my abilities with no fear of making mistakes. The opportunities are only limited to your personal preferences, and you can take ownership of your own career. Our senior leadership is always forward thinking and looking for ways to continuously improve.

      Cons

      there are no cons to working at AGI.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Grainger Canada Response

      Senior Director, Communications

      Thanks for providing your feedback.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Sales Manager

      Jan 14, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      AGI used to be an amazing place to work but since the adoption of SAP it has been in steady decline.

      Cons

      Significant change at this time.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Grainger Canada Response

      Senior Director, Communications

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. There's no doubt the SAP implementation was challenging, and also that we've been through significant change in the past 15 months. That said, it's precisely because of this change that our performance has improved so dramatically. We're encouraged by our progress!

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company going through tough change

      May 23, 2018 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      AGI is making great strides toward becoming a high-involvement, inclusive culture. I'm in a leadership role and I feel really good about the leaders I work with, and the new senior leadership is very strong. AGI believes in developing people and encouraging growth, and while their efforts to do that are a bit amateurish right now, it's an exciting place to be. Compensation is strong, AGI believes in paying well for the right talent.

      Cons

      AGI is in the midst of a giant re-org that unfortunately resulted in a lot of job losses, and all senior leadership went to the American parent company Grainger. It means there's little room for advancement for the near future.

      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great People, Great Place to Work

      Feb 25, 2018 - Senior Manager Human Resources in Thornhill, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined AGI (as we refer to it) just a little over a year ago. I still remember thinking 'boy people are really nice and genuine here - is this possible?!' When I joined, I remember asking team members what they loved about AGI and what they found challenging and the answer was consistent. They loved the people and found organizational changes challenging. But I thought... I'm ok with that. Every company goes through changes. About 3 months later I remember saying 'when is the bubble going to burst?' Overall there's been peaks and valleys like in every organization but my journey has been a whole lot of peaks and mainly because of the people. The culture promotes open and honest feedback, people-first leadership team, cross-functional collaboration and really solid partnerships in key initiatives and work being done. It is like a family and people truly care about each other, the organization and the customers.

      Cons

      There has been change within the organization over the last few years. I wouldn't say that the changes are any different than what other companies go through continuously - it's about making sure you're doing what's right for the customer and the business in tandem while at the same token bringing in profits. Every company has to change in order to continue to remain competitive and grow. It’s just the reality! But what I can say that despite the fact that this company has and continues to go through change, I’m lucky to work with a group of leaders and peers who are so people conscious in their decisions. To me that speaks volumes – when business decisions places a focus on people speaks volumes about an organization and its leadership

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Grainger Canada Response

      Senior Director, Communications

      Love to hear this perspective. Thanks for sharing!

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Finally found that company

      Feb 23, 2018 - Branch Manager in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have spent my whole career looking for that certain company where I would land and feel like I belonged. Have over 25 years in management and have worked for some good companies and some terrible ones. Now that I am with AGI I finally feel like I am where I belong and that I do belong. I finally work for a great company. AGI genuinely promotes and commits to diversity, equality and inclusion. The organization's sense of it's people and their worth is something I had yet to experience and it is refreshing to say the least. The visibility and transparency of senior management is also a big welcome. This company makes big decisions to stay in the game and be a leader but doesn't do things without planning, thought and full disclosure. To move up in this organization is so attainable and we have many people who have been here more than 30 and 40 years and have climbed the ranks throughout their time. I think if I had to say one thing about AGI and parent company Grainger that I find the most attractive is that they are constantly evaluating what they just did, where they are and where they want to go and how to get there. In the current ever changing world of technology and the ever growing web based market, AGI and Grainger do what ever it takes to stay on top and to keep customer relationships healthy. More than that they strive to do this, day in and day out, while focusing on making sure that the health and success of their team members is one of their main priorities. Very happy to be part of AGI and hope to stay for the long haul.

      Cons

      Since I came on board in 2016 there has been a lot of changes to this organization and a lot of very tough decisions and moves. This has a profound effect on team members, their families and the pulse of the organization. That being said, how this company moves forward with these negative moments is a testament to the character and values of this organization. Their team members and the families are always a main focus. Nothing is done without making the impact or transition as painless as possible. So far my time at AGI has been...painless.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Grainger Canada Response

      Senior Director, Communications

      Thanks for the review. Great to hear Acklands-Grainger has given you that sense of belonging. Really great to hear.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Grainger Canada Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Grainger Canada? Share Your Experiences

    Grainger Canada logo
    or