Grainger Canada Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Grainger Canada Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Grainger Canada Vice President and General Manager Dave Lagoner (no image)
Dave Lagoner
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people (on both sides of the border), who are committed to making things better(in 16 reviews)

  • "self managed, work life balance and wonderful people(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "There were no cons working for AGI(in 8 reviews)

  • "They only regurgitate the new and ever changing policies upper management has fed them(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Acklands is a great career choice learning is endless the team is great Management helps you succeed in future goals there is always room to advance

    Cons

    need more consistency for holding team members accountable

    Continue reading
    Grainger Canada2020-02-12
  2. "Moving Forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Drayton Valley, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Forward Thinking, Upward Mobility

    Cons

    Branch Network is vulnerable. Interdepartmental conflict

    Grainger Canada2020-03-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for and grow with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Grainger Canada really invests in their sales force. I've been with Grainger for 5 years now and have had very extensive ongoing sales training where we spend time out of market improving ourselves as sales people in training. I have been am given the tools and support I need to be successful, make money and to keep my customers happy.

    Cons

    There really are no cons - if you do your job and apply the methodologies learned in training you will be successful and will make money. The opportunities for growth are endless.

    Continue reading
    Grainger Canada2020-02-20
  4. "Nice and Safe environment to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time

    Pros

    It's a great company in terms of culture and diversity. People feel safe and respected at work and has a friendly work space.

    Cons

    Little room for job development

    Grainger Canada2020-03-11
  5. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Dartmouth, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Supportive environment with co-workers and Supervisors

    Cons

    Be more effective with daily communication and present in daily warehouse operations

    Grainger Canada2020-02-14
  6. "Recertification and repair of Saftey equipement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Anjou, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Getting to work with great clients and insure there safety needs .

    Cons

    A lot of travel

    Grainger Canada2020-02-13
  7. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A company that values diversity and each individuals talents. Provides opportunity to grow and advance. An environment that strives to continuously improve and empowers team members to share in it's success.

    Cons

    With the business reset, customers lost faith in our service capabilities and looked to other supplier partners for their MRO needs.

    Continue reading
    Grainger Canada2020-02-13
  8. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Base pay Good Benefits Good management team no micro-managing room for growth

    Cons

    Too many changes budgets were not achievable commission structure vendor meetings were not helpful metrics

    Grainger Canada2020-01-25
  9. "OSSR Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OSSR Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Learning experience, competitive pay, growth potential.

    Cons

    Overworked schedules, no commission, downsized role in 2020

    Continue reading
    Grainger Canada2020-01-26
  10. "Great people, tons of products, confused in the market approach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great peers and people to work with Have so many products and access to so many more Base pay is good Core product offering is in stock and quick to get

    Cons

    Really difficult to get anything outside of the catalogue Pricing is centrally controlled and can be incredibly, incredibly high Bonuses potential is pretty low and not paid out at the full rate Bonuses are strictly tied to corporate performance Benefits are very average Retirement package is average Takes months to load a new product in the system Website search is not very good and filters out lots of products you are trying to find Confused in how to execute the strategy senior management want to execute Not nimble or adaptive outside of the core product offering

    Continue reading
    Grainger Canada2020-01-14
Found 199 reviews