Goldman Sachs Senior Analyst Developer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Goldman Sachs Senior Analyst Developer Reviews

Updated May 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
Goldman Sachs CEO David M. Solomon (no image)
David M. Solomon
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome firm to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goldman Sachs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Trainings, quality of work and payscale. Cafeteria and Transportation facilities are way above of the other competitors

    Cons

    Work can be super lot at times. To grow in the company you need networking skills

    Goldman Sachs2018-05-31
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Analyst Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    - Good caliber of people recruited, interview process is involved and has 10+ one-on-one personal interviews - Team culture is highly regarded and encouraged - Performance is rewarded, bar is set high

    Cons

    - This is not a 9 to 5 job, work life balance has to be consciously maintained

    Goldman Sachs2016-12-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "You're paid well but be ready for long hours. Also, experience highly varies from team to team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goldman Sachs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is highly dependent on the team you land on. GS is a big place and I don't think any single pro/con list is going to fairly represent _anything_. On the team I worked on though: We were paid well, the work was engaging, and we had great clients who gave us requirements and used our products. For the US-side, absolutely fantastic people. Smart, good work-ethics, great stuff. Challenging work, good access... to managers, and we had a great MD too.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is highly dependent on the team you land on. GS is a big place and I don't think any single pro/con list is going to fairly represent _anything_. On the team I worked on, the support structure was a mess. We were paid well but were called on weekends when our support rotation came up (and in the beginning years, there weren't support rotations, it was just all hands on deck when crises happened). Code... upkeep and (non-existent) documentation: A complete mess. God help whatever people inherits our code. Also, there were emergency calls in the middle of the night (rare, but it happened) and our off-shore team didn't work well with our US-side team. For the record: Our US-team was only about five people though. A small team. Finally: Our technical process was a mess. People simply wrote code and committed. No process whatsoever for deployments. Inconsistent dev/qa/prod environments. No build/packaging pipeline. No easy way to revert code base. Loose-class deployments by manually breaking apart jars. You get the idea.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep tighter reins on the relationship between the onshore and offshore teams. Enforce single chain of command.

    Goldman Sachs2016-09-07
  4. "a work thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Analyst Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goldman Sachs for more than a year

    Pros

    One is provided with every incentive to work 15 hours a day on average - flat structure, brilliant colleagues, flexible work shifts....and a very thick bonus.

    Cons

    some of the management dont deserve to be part of the organization creating not additional value.

    Advice to Management

    start to act on feedbac from employees and not just take down notes.

    Goldman Sachs2016-08-26
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst Developer in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work. I can get good domain knowledge and lots of technologies to explore. Lots of passionate and inspiring people to work with.

    Cons

    Too much work, there is no exact work hours. Work life balance is totally up to us and we need to manage it.

    Goldman Sachs2016-07-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Over worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to say you work for Goldman Sachs

    Cons

    Terrible salary per hour worked

    Goldman Sachs2016-06-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Analyst Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Analyst Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, no limits to learning, very stimulating brains around, so you will always be able to learn as long as you want to

    Cons

    They can very quickly change their word and kick you out. Post maternity return redundancy.

    Goldman Sachs2016-04-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goldman Sachs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very smart people to work with Fast paced dynamic environment Good compensations

    Cons

    Work pressure is usually huge

    Goldman Sachs2016-03-27
  9. "Analysts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Analyst Developer in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    Very bright ppl Very smart ppl Good workers Enthusiasm Movers and shakers

    Cons

    Very bright ppl Very bright ppl Very smart ppl Good workers Enthusiasm Movers and shakers

    Advice to Management

    Give ppl a shot no seriously I worked hard and finally got a shot after 7 months totally ridiculous ma . Like really give ppl a shot

    Goldman Sachs2015-11-10
  10. "Professional work environment and highly demanding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Analyst Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goldman Sachs for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart and nice people. Good compensation and career advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    Extra workload. And sometime you might get lost in the politics between departments.

    Advice to Management

    Great job.

    Goldman Sachs2015-07-11
Found 57 reviews