Goldman Sachs Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Goldman Sachs Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5440 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Goldman Sachs CEO David M. Solomon (no image)
David M. Solomon
194 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    High pay and smart people

    Cons

    High hours and no social life

    Goldman Sachs2015-09-07
  2. "Great Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    Great People Good Lifestyle Strong Competitive Environment

    Cons

    Repetitive Promotion from only the outside

    Goldman Sachs2015-09-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Associate - Investment Banking in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, and prestige - industry leader in investment banking, and great opportunity to build career and resume. After 2 years a GS, I get an interview to any finance related job I apply for within my experience level. Overall fantastic experience here.

    Cons

    The hours and the culture... averaged 90 hour work weeks with no overtime pay which is standard in industry. It is often expected that you do not leave the office if there is a deal on the table, regardless of personal situation. The bonus does offset some of this cost, but the overtime required often amounts to more than the final payout. Still a great experience for young professionals

    Advice to Management

    The culture of work and life balance has been visited several times with no actual material change for the individuals at the bank. GS is a leader in the industry and if they are able to pioneer the focus of work-life balance when investment banks ignore this issue completely, it will only grow the image and prestige of working for this compoany.

    Goldman Sachs2015-07-28
  4. "Senior Analyst - Fundamental Equity Research - GSAM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    Great culture Exceptional learning opportunities Tremendous brand value in financial industry People take immense pride and responsibility in working at Goldman Sachs

    Cons

    No specific cons. Cut throat competition and long work hours are a reality of the financial industry.

    Advice to Management

    Great job, keep up the engagement with employees.

    Goldman Sachs2015-03-09
  5. "Great place, intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    Great growing abilities and pay

    Cons

    Competitive people, pretty cut throat

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer

    Goldman Sachs2015-02-11
  6. "goldman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    good pay, good bonuses for sure

    Cons

    very very very very long hours

    Goldman Sachs2015-02-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of upside, but hours are difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs full-time

    Pros

    Great team, prestigious respect in industry, great pay, work hard, play hard mentality.

    Cons

    90 hour weeks, sometimes even more. Work life balance is not great....

    Advice to Management

    Even distribution of work load

    Goldman Sachs2014-06-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "i didn't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs full-time

    Pros

    really good salary and bonus

    Cons

    nothing prepare well have a good profile

    Goldman Sachs2019-09-11
  9. "Senior analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kritika in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competent work environment. Great talent to work with and learn.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Long working hours

    Advice to Management

    Appropriate strength in the team helps everyone maintain work life balance

    Goldman Sachs2019-09-14
  10. "Great place to work - great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goldman Sachs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with - great professional environment and flat hierarchy.

    Cons

    Make you work for your money! Expect to put in 12 hours everyday.

    Goldman Sachs2019-09-13
Found 5440 reviews