Goldman Sachs Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Goldman Sachs Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Goldman Sachs CEO David M. Solomon (no image)
David M. Solomon
245 Ratings
  1. "GREAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    Great pay and great opportunities

    Cons

    Really long hours and can become really stressful, also say goodbye to your social life

    Continue reading
    Goldman Sachs2015-09-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    High pay and smart people

    Cons

    High hours and no social life

    Goldman Sachs2015-09-07
  3. "Great Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    Great People Good Lifestyle Strong Competitive Environment

    Cons

    Repetitive Promotion from only the outside

    Goldman Sachs2015-09-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Associate - Investment Banking in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, and prestige - industry leader in investment banking, and great opportunity to build career and resume. After 2 years a GS, I get an interview to any finance related job I apply for within my experience level. Overall fantastic experience here.

    Cons

    The hours and the culture... averaged 90 hour work weeks with no overtime pay which is standard in industry. It is often expected that you do not leave the office if there is a deal on the table, regardless of personal situation. The bonus does offset some of this cost, but the overtime required often amounts to more than the final payout. Still a great experience for young professionals

    Continue reading
    Goldman Sachs2015-07-28
  5. "Senior Analyst - Fundamental Equity Research - GSAM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    Great culture Exceptional learning opportunities Tremendous brand value in financial industry People take immense pride and responsibility in working at Goldman Sachs

    Cons

    No specific cons. Cut throat competition and long work hours are a reality of the financial industry.

    Continue reading
    Goldman Sachs2015-03-09
  6. "Great place, intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    Great growing abilities and pay

    Cons

    Competitive people, pretty cut throat

    Continue reading
    Goldman Sachs2015-02-11
  7. "goldman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs

    Pros

    good pay, good bonuses for sure

    Cons

    very very very very long hours

    Goldman Sachs2015-02-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of upside, but hours are difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs full-time

    Pros

    Great team, prestigious respect in industry, great pay, work hard, play hard mentality.

    Cons

    90 hour weeks, sometimes even more. Work life balance is not great....

    Continue reading
    Goldman Sachs2014-06-18
  9. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goldman Sachs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the company has a great culture

    Cons

    the work can be quite hectic sometime

    Goldman Sachs2019-11-17
  10. "Not my cup of tea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Control in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goldman Sachs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well paid job roles, lots of intelligent and ambitious people

    Cons

    Practically no sense of teamwork or solidarity, often undercut to management by my own team member, VP level and up kept themselves segregated from the lower grade employees - felt like they were in their own clique

    Continue reading
    Goldman Sachs2019-11-17
Found 5581 reviews