Golder Associates Employee Reviews about "junior staff"

Updated Dec 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 of over 953 reviews

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Golder Associates President and CEO Hisham Mahmoud (no image)
Hisham Mahmoud
287 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance, different jobs(in 48 reviews)

  • "Really great people to work with(in 46 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of training/finger-pointing when mistakes are made particularly to junior staff(in 33 reviews)

  • "Could have a better work life balance(in 30 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "junior staff"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Intern, more than 1 year

      General

      May 26, 2019 - Geo Environmental Coop Student in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - In house training - Experienced Senior Staff - Lots of OT

      Cons

      - Junior Staff is paid less

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good culture, management can be shaky and doesn't develop junior staff

      Dec 14, 2020 - Environmental Technician in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reasonable work/life balance, banked OT system is good

      Cons

      Competency of management varies wildly, kind of a cut throat/back stabby 'brown nose' environment, does not aid junior staff development and the company would rather bring in intermediate/senior staff from outside than promote current staff

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Bad company culture, out of touch management

      Nov 24, 2020 - Scientist in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wide variety of work available, size of the company means there's an expert for everything. Lots of opportunities for travel for junior staff.

      Cons

      - Low salary. Unequal pay grades for people doing the same work. - Utilization is prized above all else and yet there is hardly any support to keep staff busy. You are expected to find your own work even as a new employee with no contacts in the company. If you can't find work on your own, you'll be kicked to the curb. - Teamwork is supposedly a core value but when work slows down you'll be fighting your "teammates" for every billable hour. - Projects are constantly under-budgeted. As a junior you will be blamed for taking too long rather than the project managers getting any criticism for underestimating. - Zero company loyalty to long-term employees. - Antisocial office environment at times. Most people just want to finish their day earlier and get out the door. - Senior partners are always "too busy" for any sort of meaningful interaction

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It's a job

      Oct 19, 2020 - Environmental Scientist in Saskatoon, SK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      professional company, lots of experienced and intelligent technical people

      Cons

      Golder pays low as they think being employee owned is a perk. Leadership changes in the past five years have taken away all former pros, cheapened benefits, hiring junior staff on contract, taking away meals, gatherings, etc.

      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Comfortable place to work

      Aug 7, 2019 - Water Resources Engineer in Cambridge, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      i like the people i work with and i have flexible hours and schedules

      Cons

      the company is becoming more interested in shareholder returns then competitively compensating junior staff.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company, smart people

      Jun 14, 2019 - Junior Mining Engineer in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked with very smart people, up to date on everything, interesting projects. Some schedule flexibility.

      Cons

      Can be a lot of travel. Tendency for junior staff to get stuck doing the same tasks for a given senior person unofficially, rather than rotating through available work. Pay might be a little on the low side for the industry.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Meh

      Apr 10, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good management Extracurricular activities for team building Wealth of people to refer to for complex problems Good starting out job

      Cons

      Immature Junior staff Tendency to overcomplicate work Arrogance Underpaid

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Unfair and low morale

      Jun 12, 2018 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible time and ability to work from home.

      Cons

      Management and Seniors expect junior staff to accomplish way beyond with limited training and time. Salary is below average.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Field Technician

      Apr 2, 2018 - Anonymous Contractor in Mississauga, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good for gaining entry level experience

      Cons

      lack of caring for junior staff

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Hydrogeologist

      Apr 6, 2017 - Anonymous Contractor in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of support from other staff from home office and other offices. I was involved in a large amount of projects, each were different enough that I didn't feel like I was doing the same thing every day. Being involved in so many different things meant I learned a lot in a very short amount of time. There is a strong emphasis on health and safety, which is one of the reasons why I chose to work at Golder in the first place. Before you even head out to the field, you have to review health and safety documents. This process familiarizes yourself with the hazards you may encounter, and how to mitigate the hazards. I have on several occasions called the project manager to state that I did not think what I was asked to do was safe. In every case, I was rewarded with bringing my concerns forward, and worked out a way to achieve the goal in a safer way. You will never be penalized for not doing work if YOU feel it is unsafe. If you are ever unsure about how to do something ( ie some type of analysis), there is always someone you can contact to help you. If you don't know, someone in your office will know who to get ahold of. In my experience, someone is always willing to sit down with you an explain how to do something properly. There is a strong emphasis on learning.

      Cons

      In general, consulting will have busy times and quite times. During busy times, you will need to stay late and potentially work weekends for an extended period of time, especially for junior staff and field technicians. For example, I worked 60+ hours/week for several weeks, and then went down to ~30 hour/week afterward. The hours you work depend on the amount of work to be completed. Managing multiple projects also means you have a lot of responsibilities. Consulting is definitely not for every one, but for those who it does appeal to, it can be rewarding. There is also a tendency for projects to seem to come out of no where, and need to be done in an alarmingly short amount of time. It is difficult to fit everything in, especially where there is a significant amount of field work that is weather dependent. The compensation is lower compared to other similar consulting companies. The company sometimes feels very cheap. When I first started, I was given a 6 year old laptop and an obviously used laptop bag. Not exactly the best first impressions. The company would also not give me a work phone, I had to use my own personal phone (for which I was compensated). Golder used to have a field course in which you were taught everything you need to know regarding the field work you will perform. In order to cut costs, they got rid of that. As a result, you have to learn the technical aspects from A) another staff if they have time to teach you, B) making a mistake and wasting money, and then someone has to teach you the right way, or C) performing your own research (Golder has some in house resources such as Standard Operating Procedures, or SOP). The best type of consultants are the ones that take initiative and figure out how to do things themselves (with some help from others).

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Golder Associates Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Golder Associates? Share Your Experiences

    Golder Associates logo
    or