Gogo Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Gogo Reviews

Updated Jan 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Gogo President and CEO Oakleigh Thorne  (no image)
Oakleigh Thorne
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced work environment; you are never bored and something new to learn(in 17 reviews)

  • "Gogo provides great work/life balance and knows how to recognize it;s employees(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "None experienced as it offers proper work life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "Because of the large amount of growth in short period of time we continue to go through growing pains(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Great Place, Horrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gogo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary and that is about it.

    Cons

    This place is all about management. No growth opportunity. Upper management keeps bringing in people from outside that have no clue of what they are managing!! Company will be going down and down if it stays in this direction. Probably why the salaries are good. They can't keep a good employee. They bring you in with all these benefits, then all of a sudden, sorry, no.

    Continue reading
    Gogo2020-01-29
  2. "Cool place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager - Network Engineering in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gogo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Exciting technology, evolving fast. Nice office / work environment. Some really good, really smart people there to learn from. The plan to move forward is as solid as any I have seen anywhere. Excellent communications from Executive Leadership.

    Cons

    Some challenges with regard to some needed restructure that have been made - change can be hard for some.

    Continue reading
    Gogo2020-01-07
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Horrible - A place where upper management is filled with nut jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gogo

    Pros

    Frankly can't think of any

    Cons

    Beware, job was nothing like I was promised. Bosses and middle managers are numerous. The people actually doing the job are few but the managers are there just to point fingers. What's happening here is really a one man show, who thinks as though he knows everything. Seriously the work is not much either, still they claim as though they are developing something cool. If you still join Gogo, then you will become part of the office space, lose your guts to move out, and become incompetent like upper management. PS: you can recommend this place to your enemies

    Continue reading
    Gogo2019-11-07
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Gogo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Integration Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gogo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Explores New Technologies within the satellite IFE arena.

    Cons

    Not a stable company financially. S/W and H/W development relocating oversee to India

    Continue reading
    Gogo2019-08-23
  5. Helpful (8)

    "On the ledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gogo full-time

    Pros

    Technology is at the forefront

    Cons

    Extremely top heavy with so many management levels, so many VPs, directors

    Gogo2019-08-13
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Gogo Chennai - "The Politician's Castle""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chennai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gogo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks, Good compensation, Points based reward system, Online learning tools

    Cons

    Employees feedback not valued. Unless you are political, you cannot grow. Micro management at its core. Employees here undergo mental stress. People are harassed if they don't perform. Corrupted and useless appraisal process. Lack of technical directions in Chennai as the people responsible themselves doesn't have much knowledge. Immature leaders who doesn't have proper knowledge about software development.

    Continue reading
    Gogo2019-09-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gogo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, Culture, Comp, Commute, Management

    Cons

    Not a whole lot to complain about

    Gogo2019-06-29
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Horrible!!!!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Broomfield, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gogo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This place is a nightmare. From the CEO on down - a bunch of inept leadership.

    Cons

    I wish I had never even heard of this place.

    Continue reading
    Gogo2019-08-01
  9. "Good Company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gogo full-time

    Pros

    Nice company with lots of new stuffs/learnings

    Cons

    None from myside, Also depends on person to person

    Continue reading
    Gogo2019-06-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontend Developer in Chennai
    Recommends

    I have been working at Gogo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has been a month since I have joined Gogo. Learning curve is good here. People are very knowledgeable and they tend to help much. Work culture is good and work life balance is there too.

    Cons

    No cons as of now

    Gogo2019-05-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 160 reviews
</>Embed