GoDaddy "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GoDaddy Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
GoDaddy CEO Aman Bhutani
Aman Bhutani
115 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It has turned into a typical call center(in 66 reviews)

  • "Upper management is riddled with people who fail to make critical decisions out right stalling progress at the company(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Normal Call Center Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Mesa, AZ
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pretty much what you would expect from a corporate call center

    Cons

    Feels to be more influenced by share holders thanks customers/employees anymore

    GoDaddy2020-03-29
  2. "Senior Content Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Care in Kirkland, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Small company feel, large company benefits Tight teamwork Flexibility (at least on the non-call center side) Free lunch Great benefits A chance to make a difference in the lives of everyday entrepreneurs. The people I work with are real, even up to the CEO. Office politics (at least in my group) are almost non-existent. I love it here.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of at the moment.

    GoDaddy2020-02-11

    GoDaddy Response

    February 14, 2020Team GoDaddy People Operations

    We're thrilled to read your comment about your coworkers being "real". We agree, Aman our new CEO is so approachable and we're excited for what the future holds.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Just pass"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account in Austin, TX
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy

    Pros

    I have to put 5 words minimum here, but zero pros

    Cons

    Do yourself a favor and just don’t work here, it is not worth it. You will have 300-400 accounts as an account manager, no joke, when you are fully ramped up and no cap on book size. Management overlooks all of our issues and the company is falling apart quietly but fast. I would be shocked if they are still open in two years because once GoDaddy sees how bad we truly are, since we were acquired a year ago, they will dissolve us or pick apart our services. Benefits - absolutely none. You must be logged on your phone at 9am until 6pm for your “shift”. You cannot even leave 3 minutes early if you need to go catch the train home. All they give in the office is coffee and water, you have to pay for snacks. No parking. Our internet never works and our computers are old and outdated. No remote work options. It is literally a call center, which is fine, but they advertise this as a career and anyone with a college degree should not work here. You can go to any other company in Austin and get all the benefits in the world.  Salary- You are hourly paid. Commision is all over the place because it is based off of your retention/location goals. However, when a customer wants to cancel, you dont even work it, you send it to a different team. They are so backed up customers do not get called for weeks so they just cancel them out and you take the hit either way based on someone else’s performance/willingness to call them and save them.  Culture - Terrible. So much animosity between teams. Everyone looks down at each other in different departments and not encouraged to talk/hang out with other teams to even understand what they do. Very divided. Then among the account management teams, you are encourage to work overtime to do your work. Management even acknowledges we are being overworked and you do need to work overtime to keep up, even when you are tenured. The managers are incompetent and held to no standards. The turnover here is a joke. No one is left who has worked here for even a year and when they leave, you get all their unhappy customers and when those customers cancel, it hits tour check. Product - an utter joke. We were down on Instagram for 8 months and sold customers on Instagram!!! We would have to tell them after the sale there was no Instagram and you guess it, when they cancel because of that it hits you. Maybe one platform is working at all times. All you do is lie to customers and feel unethical at all times. We lie that we’re done because of someone else’s fault when it’s always because of our company and the practices we use to bypass in these platforms. It’s shady. Please save yourself the time and go to any other company in Austin to actually have a life.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2020-03-04

    GoDaddy Response

    March 25, 2020Team GoDaddy People Operations

    We're sorry to hear that this was your experience while working with us. Since our acquisition of MSH, we have been working around the clock to transition everything from work structure, workload, culture and compensation over to the GoDaddy way of life. We hope that you may consider us again in the future. You may find that a lot has changed.

    Continue reading
  4. "Don’t do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Support in Hiawatha, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They give you perks like a good holiday party, discounted lunch, and an on-site gym

    Cons

    They will fire you if you miss a goal two months in a row. No exceptions. It has turned into a typical call center. Sales goals are all that matter. The management is inexperienced and are not held accountable in anyway. Every person I work with is miserable wondering if they will make the cut for goal and still have a job. They advertise the job as customer service but ultimately it is a sales job and they will fire you for not making sales. Every year you will also take a pay cut and they tell us they need to save money.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2020-02-05

    GoDaddy Response

    February 7, 2020Team GoDaddy People Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope you can find a way to move forward and love your job, we will share comments with our HR teams.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Sales Call Center Pretending To Be Technical Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hosting Support in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great offices and amenities such as full gym, supplemented meals and decent benefits. Very casual work environment and dress code (jeans, shorts, flip flops). Friendly and supportive co-workers.

    Cons

    GoDaddy's success was built on a reputation of fantastic customer service and 24/7 tech support. Arguably, GoDaddy may have started as a discount domain and hosting company, but what set them apart was their world class tech support. Today you can find cheaper hosting plans and cheaper domain registrars but you are hard pressed to find 24/7 support. Yet the current management seems to be doing everything in their power to erode the very thing that set GoDaddy apart from their competition. New sales are all that matter. GoDaddy's management has consistently diminished their technical scope of support while adopting a "up sell over support" mentality. As I write this, there is not a single tech support department option for their customer base. When a customer calls in for technical support the "tech support" team is required to attempt to sell them a new product, regardless of their issue. Their customer base is frustrated and starting to wise up to this pathetic, "Jiffy Lube" sales tactic. Meanwhile, employee attrition rates are shockingly high. My training class had roughly 20-25 people in it. Within the first 6 months, 14 of those employees have left and I know at least 5 more (including myself) are actively looking to leave. That is an employee attrition rate of well over 70%. Rather than retain employees with a high level of technical skills, GoDaddy's management chooses to increase sales quotas, which leads to higher employee attrition and loss of their customer base. GoDaddy is in a downward spiral and management is failing to address it. For all the new sales they are brining in, much of the potential profits are being squandered on new employee training costs. If you are looking to join a sales call center - no tech experience needed! (or wanted) This is the job for you. If you are serious about your tech career, avoid GoDaddy at all costs (at least the "Hosting Support" role).

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2019-02-24

    GoDaddy Response

    March 4, 2019Customer Care Operations Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We're happy that you enjoy the facilities and perks. When comparing to other contact centers, our benefits offerings are best-in-class since we benchmark against tech companies rather than contact centers. So the options are pretty amazing! To clear up some concerns raised, GoDaddy's Care organization has always been a service led sales motion. The service and technical support groups that set us apart, have always (15+ years) had sales requirements of some type. We recognize that not everyone wants to sell and some others may not want to solve. We're working on that. Additionally, our Wow scoring is entirely structured around giving customers consistently great, long-term experiences when we interact with them. While we've made big steps in the right direction with the program, there are still a number of things we're improving on. We hear you loud and clear. Finally, if you've got concerns as a current employee either on your experience or on your career development, we strongly encourage you to reach out to your manager or HR@ for guidance/assistance.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Run Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good insurance benefits. In SOME groups (depending on your boss), flexible working arrangements. "Unlimited" time off for salaried employees, but that's at the mercy of your supervisor -- some abuse it, others get shafted. Some offices are newly renovated, others are nasty. Kitchens stocked with drinks and snacks (but only for corporate , not the call center peopl.)

    Cons

    Cronyism/office politics in every single department like I've never seen any other place. Unqualified people promoted with no training to manage. Some groups are great, others are awful. All depends on your Senior Leadership Team member, and they aren't judged by the satisfaction of their employees. HR and others don't care about complaints of abusive toxic work place. Arbitrary and constant re-organizations. You'll be randomly told that instead of being a search marketing specialist, you're all of a sudden going to be an event planner (or somthing like that) -- COMPLETELY out of the blue assignments without any input on what you'd like to do. Absolutely no outlined career path. This tries to be a good place to work and I think their heart might be in the right place, but still its a really bad place to work. The most toxic work place I've ever been in.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2019-01-12

    GoDaddy Response

    February 8, 2019Team GoDaddy People Operations

    Well, we aren't perfect. But you are right, our heart is in the right place as we continue to work towards improving our culture and employee engagement. We do read every review and share feedback with our leaders and will do the same with your comments. Thanks for being a 5+ year employee - best of luck with your current and future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  7. "Hosting Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hosting Support in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic Leadership and things like taking days off was always easy and organized. Overall they make a call center environment very livable long term.

    Cons

    Rough job dealing with customers on phone all day but can be worth it with bonuses and overtime.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2018-12-16
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Worst Employer Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None that matter enough to make this a decent workplace.

    Cons

    Call center hell. The hype and internal propaganda can keep you fooled for a long time. I worked there for 6 years and I can tell you that you are just a number to them. They treat customers the same way. Shady discount practices and penalizing loyal customers with higher priced renewals, they just make no sense!

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2019-01-17
  9. "Web Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer/Systems Administrator in Sofia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GoDaddy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good server infrastructure. Experienced team members.

    Cons

    A great place to work if you are starting out in IT and wish to learn system administration and tech support skills in web hosting. My particular office was very loud ( call center like environment ). The UK office was much better as they had a separate room for developers, so that's my only negative from my time there. Good pay and company culture.

    Continue reading
    GoDaddy2018-12-14
  10. "Sales consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at GoDaddy full-time

    Pros

    Great Call Center Learning Experience

    Cons

    Corporate world, hard to get time off on weekends

    GoDaddy2018-12-09
Found 85 reviews