Glu Mobile Employee Reviews about "studios"

Updated Feb 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 279 reviews

4.4
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Glu Mobile  President and CEO Nick Earl
Nick Earl
102 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is great here(in 31 reviews)

  • "Great work environment with encouraging people all around(in 23 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Needs more communication between departments/studios(in 29 reviews)

  • "Upper management is disconnected from the individual teams(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "studios"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Brand New Glu

      Feb 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New office, new CEO, new culture.. I read a lot of the older reviews and was initially concerned... but it appears the new management has learned from past mistakes and is keen on putting employees first. This means a beautiful new office, catered lunches (yum!) 4 days a week, lots of cool perks... It's an exciting time to be at Glu, and the feeling seems to be mutual across the office...

      Cons

      The previous model of acquiring studios would naturally have some issues, especially if the prior investors didn't take care of their employees during the transition. From what I've learned during my tenure, they're hoping to move away from that model and build studios internally in the new HQ... the partnership with Disney being an example. The company has been around for a while and surely has some baggage, but this recent shift seems like a fresh start... fingers crossed!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work.

      Dec 11, 2017 - Customer Support Team Lead in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work culture is very good, specific and time-driven goals.

      Cons

      Needs more communication between departments/studios.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Glu Hyderabad a.k.a LiveOps Only Studio

      Dec 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      • Great office space in Hyderabad • Relaxed work atmosphere • Great place for interns / junior developers due to LiveOps only development culture • Great for Artists not for other roles

      Cons

      • LiveOps only culture ( Hyderabad ). • Multiple Glu studios shutdown in 1 year. If a game doesn’t do well then company shuts down entire studio and it’s the norm for them. So be prepared to read “Subject : Closing XYZ Studio” from CEO every few months. • Hyderabad studio treated differently with less perks etc. compared to the rest of the offices ( Cost effective approach )

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Awful

      Nov 17, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great creative team, talented people.

      Cons

      Awful higher up decisions that led to the closure of other Glu mobile studios, putting tons of great people out of work

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Corporate control causing a loss in revenue and team drive

      Oct 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My team was great Everyone worked well together Room for growth and improvement Preferred to hire from within the studio

      Cons

      Many studios have been shut down, mine included. Very unstable based off revenue and studio profit. Decisions from hire ups would cause loss of revenue/player retention and studios would be blamed.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Glu Mobile Response

      CEO

      Thank you for your feedback. I acknowledge that we have been in a turnaround state, working through a lot of change. Even though this is the nature of gaming industry, we are working to pivot away from layoffs by investing our time and effort in more creative rapid prototyping initiatives and supporting all of our teams with the new strategy. Changing a culture and company construct takes time, but I am confident we can create a truly enduring company and great place to work.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great People Making a Great Company

      Aug 28, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exquisite team of people, no matter which department you're in. Positive vibes all around, helpful colleagues, motivated people that love what they do. Fair pay, great benefits, fun perks and a growing sense of community. CEO seems to be really determined and passionate about what he's doing.

      Cons

      Occasionally some mild rivalry between studios and headquarters creep up. Could be avoided, we're all in this together. Free lunch would be rad.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Company on the rebound!?!

      Aug 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees are smart and passionate about their work. There are a number of game and central teams that are talent dense that lay it on the line day in and day out. HR function is much improved even if a bit bloated.

      Cons

      Pendulum of control and C-Suite love has swung a bit too far toward game studios leaving central functions in eclipse. Glu is generally quite lean, both a good and bad thing. Folks on less glamorous teams can get strung out fighting fires, legacy systems, and processes. Particularly accounting and IT.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Appearances can be deceiving.

      Aug 7, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great office location (close to BART, in the heart of the financial district), good benefits, lots of perks, events/outings.

      Cons

      Disclaimer: Glu was/is a large organization and each studio is different -- my opinions reflect my time in a leadership role at the San Francisco HQ in 2014 (when Niccolo De Masi was CEO). I can say, without any doubt, that joining Glu was the worst decision I ever made in my career. Within a week of arriving, our president of studios was let go, and 2-3 months later, many central roles were also cut (with no head's up or attempt to shift people to other roles within the org) -- apparently, re-orgs were quite common at Glu (I don't know if that's still the case). I also found Glu to be a highly political environment (departments within SF [but also studio vs. studio ] engaged in politics, jealousy, and backbiting) with non-existent leadership at the very top (De Masi was practically invisible; occasionally, he would make an appearance, usually at a monthly all-hands meeting). In person, he would come across as rude, arrogant, unfriendly. My interactions with studio heads themselves, however, were fairly positive. Recruiting had a strong presence but there was no HR leadership in SF at the time, which made for quite an unwelcoming experience.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great People, bad upper management.

      Jun 21, 2017 - Animator in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lot of amazing and talented people to work with. - Projects can be fun to work on. - Great location - Fun social/holiday events every year.

      Cons

      - Extremely poor upper management. Don't be surprised if your studio gets closed down and your jobs sent overseas because of their poor business decisions. - Pay could be much better. Negotiate hard for a good wage if you're considering working here, because you wont get a raise. Do not expect to ever get a bonus, unless you happen to be at their "current" top preforming studio or if you're in the upper management. - Glu's current strategy seems to buy studios, collect their IP's, is said studio isn't profitable in a year, close studio and send the IP overseas to India or Russia. Rinse and repeat.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Game Designer

      Jun 9, 2017 - Lead Game Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ok corporate company to work for, some nice perks. Can be a relaxing environment, unlike console game development. Benefits and 401k is just ok, not great.

      Cons

      Leadership is always shifting, with a focus on San Fran HQ while sacrificing other satellite studios to cut cost and temporarily shore up stock prices. HR is not your friend, report to them at your own risk.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Glu Mobile Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Glu Mobile? Share Your Experiences

    Glu Mobile logo
    or