Global Pet Food Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Global Pet Food Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Paul Thomson
9 Ratings
  1. "Generally pretty happy -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Front Associate in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Pet Food full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm pretty impressed by the nutrition educator and all the reps. I really y like how my communication has been positive with HO. I just don't know everyone which is why I'm rating a 4 for senior management.

    Cons

    I've had a couple of gripes with my Manager, looking back they were all due to miscommunication between us. I did get the franchisor involved as a third party to mediate and everyone is pretty happy now. Relationships take work!

    Advice to Management

    I loved hearing that you've hired some of the employees at the franchise locations to work at HO. I just wish I knew how to be nominated.

    Global Pet Food2019-04-02
  2. "Crap pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Kitchener, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Global Pet Food part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome products that our carried, and knowledge reps

    Cons

    Horrible management, went to manager about gossip and bullying and was told to suck it up. Loves to hire people make them work right up until the end of there probation and then fire them. Crap pay for the amount of work that has to be done. Not worth it at all. Even with the love of pets

    Advice to Management

    Your staff are your store. Treat with respect!

    Global Pet Food2019-06-25
  3. "Sales Ssociate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Global Pet Food part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, caring manager, very knowledgeable staff.

    Cons

    Pay cheque and not direct deposit for awhile (set up now), lifting the 25 lb bags of dog food, having to climb on a ladder regularly to grab overstock.

    Global Pet Food2019-03-27
  4. "Sales Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Global Pet Food part-time

    Pros

    Great customers and pets Great pet foods

    Cons

    Toxic enviroment Allows bullying and harassing behaviour against workers Manager does not manage store, employees do!! Dismiss workers without just cause!! Does not give praise where it is due, employees who really work hard

    Advice to Management

    I have worked at many different jobs in my life, but never have I ever worked in such a toxic enviroment. When employees voice concerns, you should listen. Harassment in the workplace is unexceptable.

    Global Pet Food2019-03-23
  5. "Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Global Pet Food full-time

    Pros

    Connecting with pet owners and their pets.

    Cons

    They threw away thousands of dollars worth of pet food and product that could be donated and it was awful how the head office team made jokes about it.

    Global Pet Food2018-11-23
  6. "Good job interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Global Pet Food full-time

    Pros

    Learnt a lot about pets and food

    Cons

    working weekends and evenings often

    Global Pet Food2018-08-18
  7. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Global Pet Food

    Pros

    excellent retail store to work for.

    Cons

    I have no complaints about this company

    Advice to Management

    none

    Global Pet Food2018-02-23
  8. "My Brief Time at Global Pet Foods"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Saler Clerk in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Global Pet Food full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For someone who is passionate about animals and pet nutrition, this is a great place to work. Customers were like minded and fun to engage with. Lots of dogs come in to be visited with and when they are well behaved this is great. You receive a discount on supplies/food, this may vary as all stores are franchisee-owned but my stores was very generous, as well as several companies offering "employee feeding" - meaning...

    Show More

    Cons

    A lot of my cons come from management so this would vary store to store. In my experience, communication was very poor, expectations were sometimes blurry and follow up was not pleasant. There were very few times I received praise and I found this to be discouraging, despite an excellent repore with customers. So my advice would be to be aware of stores with a high turnover rate or an inexperienced manager. Another con...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Develop a training program to be utilized at every single store so that all employees can feel confident with a minimum level of training that is universal across the chain. This would also ease transition for an employee who has worked at another location or to move forward to another job in the field, even. I think it is important that customers receive CONSISTENT answers when they shop and having a consistent level...

    Show More
    Global Pet Food2017-12-14
  9. "basic retail clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Global Pet Food full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice if you like dogs

    Cons

    Family owned - everyone there including part timers got benefits except for the non family members. No communication. Horrible environment from "owners", backstabbing from owners and other staff, very negative environment. You can work your butt off and never advance or be recognized

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together, give staff feedback on performance, expect same behaviour from all staff, establish dress code

    Global Pet Food2018-01-13
  10. "Relaxed, and efficient leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Pet Food part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not busy Good Pay Manager is really very nice and knows what she is doing Money is good Costumers are nice

    Cons

    Due to the quiet, relaxed, and unbusy nature of the company there are not many jobs available. Can feel a bit claustrophobic at times They aren't very vocal about job opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good attitude

    Global Pet Food2017-08-28
Found 24 reviews