Global Pet Food Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Global Pet Food Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Paul Thomson
7 Ratings
  1. "Generally pretty happy -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Front Associate in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Global Pet Food full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm pretty impressed by the nutrition educator and all the reps. I really y like how my communication has been positive with HO. I just don't know everyone which is why I'm rating a 4 for senior management.

    Cons

    I've had a couple of gripes with my Manager, looking back they were all due to miscommunication between us. I did get the franchisor involved as a third party to mediate and everyone is pretty happy now. Relationships take work!

    Advice to Management

    I loved hearing that you've hired some of the employees at the franchise locations to work at HO. I just wish I knew how to be nominated.

    Global Pet Food2019-04-02
  2. "Sales Ssociate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Global Pet Food part-time

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, caring manager, very knowledgeable staff.

      Cons

      Pay cheque and not direct deposit for awhile (set up now), lifting the 25 lb bags of dog food, having to climb on a ladder regularly to grab overstock.

      Global Pet Food2019-03-27
    • "Sales Clerk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Global Pet Food part-time

        Pros

        Great customers and pets Great pet foods

        Cons

        Toxic enviroment Allows bullying and harassing behaviour against workers Manager does not manage store, employees do!! Dismiss workers without just cause!! Does not give praise where it is due, employees who really work hard

        Advice to Management

        I have worked at many different jobs in my life, but never have I ever worked in such a toxic enviroment. When employees voice concerns, you should listen. Harassment in the workplace is unexceptable.

        Global Pet Food2019-03-23
      • "Leadership"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Global Pet Food full-time

        Pros

        Connecting with pet owners and their pets.

        Cons

        They threw away thousands of dollars worth of pet food and product that could be donated and it was awful how the head office team made jokes about it.

        Global Pet Food2018-11-23
      • "Good job interesting"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Global Pet Food full-time

          Pros

          Learnt a lot about pets and food

          Cons

          working weekends and evenings often

          Global Pet Food2018-08-18
        • "My Brief Time at Global Pet Foods"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Saler Clerk in Halifax, NS
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Global Pet Food full-time (Less than a year)

          Pros

          For someone who is passionate about animals and pet nutrition, this is a great place to work. Customers were like minded and fun to engage with. Lots of dogs come in to be visited with and when they are well behaved this is great. You receive a discount on supplies/food, this may vary as all stores are franchisee-owned but my stores was very generous, as well as several companies offering "employee feeding" - meaning...

          Show More

          Cons

          A lot of my cons come from management so this would vary store to store. In my experience, communication was very poor, expectations were sometimes blurry and follow up was not pleasant. There were very few times I received praise and I found this to be discouraging, despite an excellent repore with customers. So my advice would be to be aware of stores with a high turnover rate or an inexperienced manager. Another con...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Develop a training program to be utilized at every single store so that all employees can feel confident with a minimum level of training that is universal across the chain. This would also ease transition for an employee who has worked at another location or to move forward to another job in the field, even. I think it is important that customers receive CONSISTENT answers when they shop and having a consistent level...

          Show More
          Global Pet Food2017-12-14
        • "basic retail clerk"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Global Pet Food full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Nice if you like dogs

          Cons

          Family owned - everyone there including part timers got benefits except for the non family members. No communication. Horrible environment from "owners", backstabbing from owners and other staff, very negative environment. You can work your butt off and never advance or be recognized

          Advice to Management

          Get your act together, give staff feedback on performance, expect same behaviour from all staff, establish dress code

          Global Pet Food2018-01-13
        • "Relaxed, and efficient leadership."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Sales Associate 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Global Pet Food part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Not busy Good Pay Manager is really very nice and knows what she is doing Money is good Costumers are nice

          Cons

          Due to the quiet, relaxed, and unbusy nature of the company there are not many jobs available. Can feel a bit claustrophobic at times They aren't very vocal about job opportunities

          Advice to Management

          Keep up the good attitude

          Global Pet Food2017-08-28
        • Helpful (1)

          "Pet nutrition"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Global Pet Food full-time

          Pros

          I loved seeing customers pets on a daily basis. I have seen a new born squirrel, a chinchilla, many different breeds of dogs.

          Cons

          If a dog does its business on the floor and I had to clean it up.

          Advice to Management

          Treat staff as equals.

          Global Pet Food2017-05-30
        • "Sales"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Global Pet Food

          Pros

          friendly, helpful, energetic staff gain knowledge on animal health and nutrition competitive wages cashier skills personable variety of shifts including days, evenings, and weekends but not 24hr shifts

          Cons

          customers are always right but not always willing to understand or gain knowledge on pet health and nutrition i am not a vet

          Global Pet Food2017-04-26
        Found 22 reviews