GlaxoSmithKline Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Apr 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline Chief Executive Officer Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
1,189 Ratings
Pros
  • "It has an excellent working environment with an open office concept(in 318 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits at all level; Good global production system(in 230 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Coordinator"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline

    Pros

    Good benefits and working environment, work-life balance

    Cons

    Traditional way of working up in company through sales first; not a lot of openings/growth currently

    GlaxoSmithKline2014-12-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Discouraging trend"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, GlaxoSmithKline is seen as a brand name employer, which will help with getting work elsewhere once you've gained some experience there.

    Cons

    Work life balance is in decline in some areas leading to unrealistic expectations and a lot of very talented people performing below their potential. The system of recognizing good and poor performers does not have enough checks and balances and is vulnerable to a few people's personal agendas.

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2015-11-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Change is good?"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary. Good benefits. Enjoyable work environment. Knowledgeable and driven people.

    Cons

    The lack of top line revenue growth and coming patent cliff has resulted in a constant re-org within the company. Be prepared to work under the specter of being let go unless you are part of a line of business that is growing.

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2015-10-21
  4. "A mixed review."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good training when staff were full time permanent. Good benefits for full time permanent staff. Good wages for full time permanent staff. Some attempt at career development for full time permanent staff.

    Cons

    A very political environment that relied too heavily on personal connections for advancement. An environment where cost trumped experience, to the detriment of the core business and stated core business values. An environment that protected employment in sites that were associated with senior management, rather than judging employment by the value to the business.

    GlaxoSmithKline2013-12-14
  5. "Typical Large Pharma and large corporations, expect to feel insignificant."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline

    Pros

    Good benefits, employees are treated with respect

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance, wages are ok, communication from upper management tend to be slow and unclear in terms of directions and objectives. Politics.

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2009-01-26
  6. "Good"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits; you can keep the pension plan if you left the company.

    Cons

    Even if you are an exceptional employee when they restructure if they eliminate the position, you stay out.

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-04-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Its OK."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility .Big Company. Great Brands. Good Benefits

    Cons

    Lack of progress. Weak HR and its process

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-04-16
  8. "GSK"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Specialist in Brentford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance Friendly environment Helpful people Good benefits

    Cons

    Salary less than competitors Parking an issue at Brentford

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-03-31
  9. "Average"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Materials Scheduler in Maidenhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and package being apart of GSK

    Cons

    Bad management and lack of transparency on site

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-03-11
  10. "Take care"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineering Technician in Ware, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good conditions, good benefits package.

    Cons

    Totally poor management. Too young. Zero experience. Chemical engineers running Mechanical, Electrical and Controls skills!!!

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2020-02-29

    GlaxoSmithKline Response

    March 4, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your experience. We really value our employee’s feedback and it’s important that our employees feel supported. We are focused on creating a safe and inclusive workplace where everyone at GSK can feel able and inspired to realise their potential. We take your feedback seriously and encourage you to contact us via our Speak Up channel at https://gsk.i-sight.com/landing-page/ to provide more specific information so that we may look further into the concerns that you have expressed.

Found 230 reviews