GlaxoSmithKline Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GlaxoSmithKline Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline CEO Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
38 Ratings
  1. "well compensated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmaceuticals Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They provided all the means to help Sales reps generate sales- company car, phone plan, ipad, company credit card and food allowance.

    Cons

    The pressure on sales is high and I end up working late hours on some days, but they're the best company I've worked for.

    GlaxoSmithKline2013-08-29
  2. "Field Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Reasonable benefits

    Cons

    So many restrictions. No chance for upward mobility if you’re in the field. Maybe after a decade you can move to a senior sales role. Resp products are good, but sales strategy is mudane and old-fashion.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people that truly want to do pharma sales only and not looking to move up.

    GlaxoSmithKline2018-12-28
  3. "Very welcoming company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Pharmaceuticals Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team players, puts patients first!

    Cons

    Poor bonus structure, frequent restructuring

    Advice to Management

    Bonus staff on individual performance not regional performance

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-10
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Culture ever experienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    That I got made redundant when I did

    Cons

    I've never known any company I have worked for in my 40 years to blatantly encourage their teams and employees to be competitive towards each other so much so that its unbearable to work with some people. Constant back side kissing becomes boring after a while and just shows distaste towards the company and shows that they encourage poor behaviour

    Advice to Management

    To the board - time to review your culture and ways of managing. You wont be seeing me for one going back into pharma again thanks to this experience

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away from GSK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Executive Pharmaceuticals Sales Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Overall decent benefits, which includes health, dental insurance, life insurance, disability and salary.

    Cons

    When you turn 50 years old at GSK, the main objective from management is to harass you and discriminate against you.

    Advice to Management

    I don’t have any advice for management because they don’t care to keep their most tenured and experienced sales representatives. Your are destroying a company that once upon a time, sales representatives aspired to work for Glaxo.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-20

    GlaxoSmithKline Response

    August 21, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to provide details regarding your experience. GSK reaffirms its commitment to equal employment opportunity and non-discrimination for all employees and applicants for employment without regard to race, color, ethnicity, religion, creed, gender, national ...

    Show More
  6. "Very.. Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Sales Representative in Berhampore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good culture and professional working partners

    Cons

    Challenge is ever where how can I handle it depends upon me

    Advice to Management

    Very proficient management

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-06-29
  7. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good money, benefits, company car

    Cons

    Micro Managed, Shady, cliquey, too many meetings

    Advice to Management

    Back off

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-07-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Losing sight of their 2nd most valuable resource--people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in North Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    401K, health benefits package, respiratory market leader; I stayed for over 20 years and took the buyout during the last layoff. Pension Plan from years ago is also very nice--thank you.

    Cons

    shrinking pipeline, product marketing is weak, constant restructuring, frequent layoffs, lack of transparency, needless paper pushing and box checking.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing politics with your hiring and promotion practices regarding race/gender. Now that your CIA is over, get back to sales. This is what motivates salespeople. Ratings are a big step in the wrong direction and a big negative drain on the spirit of a salesforce.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-06-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "pharma world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    benefits, pay, teammates, car, pay

    Cons

    leadership, trust, advancement, bonus structure

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-06-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "GSK is a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    Competitive benefits Management listens to field observations and concerns

    Cons

    The role is not professionally fulfilling.

    Advice to Management

    Please discontinue hiring and / or promoting based on gender / race.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-06-06
Found 181 reviews