GlaxoSmithKline Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GlaxoSmithKline Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4156 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline CEO Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
666 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance could be poor(in 102 reviews)

  • "Too much political concern on decision making; sometimes short-sighted decisions were made(in 90 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Site Procurement Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Senior Manager in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    Values, stability, culture, commitment, patient focus

    Cons

    some burocracy, union barriers, heavy quality system, risk adversion

    Advice to Management

    I believe the right objectives are set but is taking too much time to achieve them

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-07-09
  2. "zxvbxncg hv"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good culture, and scale, abcds

    Cons

    need to change the workload, OT needed, canteen services

    Advice to Management

    no

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-07-14
  3. "Great Place for an Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great place to learn how a big pharma company works. Lots of experienced and smart leaders to learn from. Great offices and physical work environment. GSK does strive to have a great culture and preaches it effectively.

    Cons

    Can be a bit bureaucratic but that is to be expected with a company the size of GSK

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and don't let a few rotten apples to spoil the bunch (ie; find the rotten apples and get rid of them)

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-05-30
  4. "I have been with GSK for past 5 years and have worked for different markets and roles."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great values, people and environment.

      Cons

      I don't see any downside of working with GSK. Instead I am glad to be part of it.

      GlaxoSmithKline2019-05-24
    • "Manufacturing lead"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Lead in Mississauga, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Nice colleagues. Nice cafeteria sitting area

      Cons

      At the MISSISSAUGA site, in the manufacturing division, the environment is toxic and company has lost sight of what is important. Leadership is not genuine and incompetent. Was a good company, even 5 years ago and has gone downhill. processes are complex and frustrating. Resources are stained and leadership does not care

      Advice to Management

      Take some leadership classes. Listen to your people. Perhaps you need to change jobs of you don’t care about your people?

      GlaxoSmithKline2019-05-29
    • "personal view"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager, End User Computing 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      FMCG, global organisation, wide outreach, antibiotics,

      Cons

      many of their staff are outsourced

      Advice to Management

      Don't lose people focus

      GlaxoSmithKline2019-05-07
    • "Marketing Operations"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

      Pros

      High octane environment with a priority focus on getting the right treatments to the right patients, it was an immensely rewarding role

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      GlaxoSmithKline2019-04-24
    • "Finance Business Partner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

      Pros

      Great compensation, great work atmosphere

      Cons

      Lack of transparency from upper management

      GlaxoSmithKline2019-04-23
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Medical Advisor 

        I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline part-time

        Pros

        Family focused. Good work life balance

        Cons

        High turnover can make it difficult to develop good contaxts

        GlaxoSmithKline2019-04-20
      • "Maintenance supervisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

          Pros

          I nice olace to work with a strong focus on employee wellness

          Cons

          Some people have been promoted to the point of incompetence (to align with the company value on development) - this has negatively impacted the productivity of certain teams.

          GlaxoSmithKline2019-03-16
        Found 4156 reviews