Glassdoor "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Glassdoor Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 526 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Robert Hohman
Robert Hohman
438 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is so much flexibility with work/life balance that it makes it easy to come into work in the morning(in 64 reviews)

  • "flexibility with working from home when needed, and a culture of great people who love your children and embrace them as part of the Glassdoor family(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are growing pains as the company continues to evolve(in 41 reviews)

  • "The company has expanded into two buildings in Mill Valley(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (49)

    "Great four years, but left disappointed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall, I had a very positive experience at Glassdoor. Nine months ago, I would have rated the company 4 stars. Here's the top of my "pros" list. 1. People - My direct team was composed of professionals who are expert at their jobs, have fun with their work, and are genuinely great people. This extends to the Enterprise Sales and Customer Success teams as a whole. These are the groups I worked most closely... with, and it's a talented team overall. 2. Creativity - My leaders gave me a ton of trust to create new opportunities for the company. They trusted me to innovate our approach, and get the job done to grow the company. I believe I delivered by qualifying for 3 President's Clubs in 4 years. I'm very thankful for the trust in me, and hope that I've passed this spirit on to my team. 3. Knowledge - I grew my skills substantially during my tenure at Glassdoor. I was put in several situations where I had to "figure things out" in order to drive growth. I had to push the envelope regularly, which grew my knowledge-base over my 4 year tenure. These attributes will stay with me as my career moves forward, and I'm thankful for that.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company has changed dramatically from when I joined 4 years ago. It was a disappointing end for me, given the highs my team achieved during my tenure. Dramatic change is to be expected when you're in growth mode, and especially after an acquisition. However, the top "cons" listed here are why I dropped my rating to 3 stars. They definitely played a role in my departure from the company. 1. Senior... Leadership - The "feel" is dissipating. Everything is "rationalized" through spreadsheets, and decisions are made via endless hours in conference rooms. Many key departments are run by an MBA who doesn't have prior experience leading in said capacity. This has created a lack of first-hand customer knowledge, and is causing a diminished connection with team members who interface with customers and prospects every day. 2. Cross-Functional Partners - Team members in other departments are willing to help, but the company is separated into silos. Each department has their own OKRs, and few of those correlate with overall customer success. As a result, time spent selling for reps is greatly reduced. Reps routinely spend hours, and even days, waiting on cross-functional support. Most reps end up just doing things themselves to deliver to customers on-time. 3. Lack of Innovation - This may be number 3 on my list, but was probably my biggest issue. The company continues to push high growth targets...but isn't producing new, monetizable products to drive that. The market is changing dramatically, and the company is falling behind. Even if the revenue numbers look good at an aggregate level, there are significant risks to the business that will manifest themselves over the next 12-24 months if true innovation isn't realized.`

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I know it will be obvious who wrote this review, so as always...I'll tell it like it is. I aim for this advice to be constructive, but also very honest. Nothing I say should come as a surprise, as I've shared my feedback on multiple occasions. There are three key areas I believe management should address: 1. The Mission - Glassdoor's mission statement has become fuzzy for many in the ranks over the last few... months. The actual wording of the mission, and the recently stated vision for the company, are at odds. Many Enterprise reps are concerned about Glassdoor's market position over the next two years. There is a lack of clarity over Glassdoor's future value proposition, and what reps might actually be selling. The mission has always been our north star, and that became fuzzy with the new vision. 2. EQ - You need high IQ to power the company and make smart business decisions. I agree with that 100%. However, you also need EQ to be a leader and achieve balance. You can lay out the best plan anyone's ever seen...but if you don't have the "hearts and minds" of your people, it can all be for naught. I have too many examples of lack of EQ over the last 6 months to list. My job became much more mechanical, with a focus on serving information up. Yet, I knew that leadership was only going to listen to the MBA's opinion first. This lack of awareness played a sizable role in my departure. 3. Customer Focus - The company is so focused on internal operations, that it shifts attention away from what's happening on the front lines with customers and prospects. Over the last nine months, I started to see my job as more of an "Operations" leader versus a "Sales" leader. Spending more time in spreadsheets to serve up internally wasn't my idea of time well spent. There certainly needs to be time spent on operations, but the pendulum is 90/10 operations to customer focus from Glassdoor's leadership right now. Rarely are leaders involved with customers or prospects...and when they are, it feels like more work for the sales team.

    Show More
    Glassdoor2019-04-15

    Glassdoor Response

    May 6, 2019VP Sales, Enterprise

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and thank you for your contributions to Glassdoor over the past four years. It’s great to hear that Glassdoor’s people, the opportunity to grow in knowledge, and the ability to bring creativity to your work contributed to an overall very positive ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Admin Coordinator for Finance at Glassdoor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Coordinator in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great People, Flexible Schedule, Sweet Perks, Great View, Dog Friendly

    Cons

    Mill Valley office is a bit far and traffic can be terrible

    Glassdoor2019-05-06
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to start a successful career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Still small enough to still have some kind of input into ideas and ways to make teams better - Great people and peers -

    Cons

    - Upper management in sales is very disconnected - Promotion eligibility have guidelines but no one follows them and nothing makes sense around the process - Moving across departments is much tougher than management makes it seem and pay is much lower than industry standards when you move outside of sales at GD

    Glassdoor2019-04-17
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Glassdoor takes cares of its employees and their families!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mid-Market SDR in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This review is long overdue. Since I started with the company, I have felt a strong connection to our values and a deep desire to grow with Glassdoor. Local leadership is approachable and always willing to hear our ideas (and float them upwards when they are good ones!) Growth is possible as long as you continue to put in hard work month after month. Quota is challenging, but achievable, which is the whole point of... having a sales quota. The benefits for working parents are abundant: GREAT maternity leave, with 100% coverage AND commission compensation (this is unheard of!); flexibility with working from home when needed, and a culture of great people who love your children and embrace them as part of the Glassdoor family. The people who work at Glassdoor truly make our company as wonderful as it is. I am excited to come to work and see friends everyday. Glassdoor has some of the best talent in the workforce and it shows. There are TOO many people here to learn from! I haven't even considered any outside opportunities since I have been here because Glassdoor is a company that truly cares about you and your family. THAT, for me, is why I remain loyal to this company and I am looking forward to growing my career here.

    Show More

    Cons

    At times, it can feel like SDRs are not as important or valuable to the company. Recently, however, leadership has been giving our SDR team shoutouts and if we continue to do that, it will add to the value we bring to the company. SDRs are usually the first voice or outreach to many companies, so investing in more training can improve sales and ROI over time. Sometimes it can be challenging working directly with... teams in Mill Valley as a lot of communication is improved via proximity. We are, however, given plenty of tools to help improve this challenge.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think the change in the SDR leadership will be refreshing and an outside voice could be the catalyst into an even more powerful team. I think all teams would benefit from outside professional sales trainings, whether it is a training focused on cold calling, best email practices, or others of that nature. It would be great to see the Mill Valley executive team in the Chicago office more, although I know this is... tough with busy schedules!

    Show More
    Glassdoor2019-01-15

    Glassdoor Response

    March 28, 2019Senior Vice President, WW Sales

    It's great to hear your perspective, thanks for taking the time to leave this review. SDRs are a critical part of our go-to-market operations. We quite literally couldn't survive without you. I agree that our benefits are great and Glassdoor is a wonderful place to be a parent. I'll ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company but be prepared to work hard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Early stages of growth so an exciting time to be in the company and a lot of potential for growth and progression - Still a small company so you can feel valued and your opinion matters, even if you're just a new member - Not a typical cold-calling environment - more of a consultative approach to selling which helps you learn a lot more about the product / service from the beginning of your career - A lot of... nights out and company social events to enjoy - Relatively young team so there's a lot of energy and the culture is great - Great people to learn off and grow as a sales person - BAMF - Pizza Fridays - Free Snacks, beers, wine, VitHits

    Show More

    Cons

    - Work life balance can be difficult at times and quota does not change if you have paid time off so this can be very stressful, especially for new starts which causes people to work unsociable hours and weekends - Promotion timeline and criteria has been very vague so expectations aren't properly set for new joiners

    Advice to Management

    - Have clearer expectations set for new joiners for promotion - As we start to grow, try to maintain the culture (BAMF, Kuddle etc.) - Be more realistic with quotas so that people don't feel guilty for taking time off

    Glassdoor2018-11-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Glassdoor is full of great people who you can learn from. The culture is great with plenty of social events. There are plenty of benefits, from unlimited annual leave, private health insurance, a good pension scheme and pizza on Friday's.. We also have free snacks (crisps, popcorn, cans of coke, vit hits, fulfill bars, pistachios etc). We also have a fridge of beers, wine etc. The EMEA region is expanding so there... are lots of opportunities to learn, grow and apply for new roles. The location is right beside Stephens Green in Dublin 2 so very central and easy to get to. Overall it is a great place to work, the team are all very supportive and are able to have a laugh!

    Show More

    Cons

    -Promotion timeline has been unclear and vague, so expectations were not set properly for new starters which leads to disappointment and frustration. -Quota is quite high and can be stressful. You don't get quota relief when you take time off, so it is hard to hit your monthly quota/targets. The workload can be a lot and pressuring. - If you don't hit quota, your commission isn't great -Work/Life balance can be... hard to maintain at times due to high quota

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -More transparency with regards to promotions and timelines -Each individual should be managed differently -Try to maintain the great culture we have as we continue to grow and expand!

    Glassdoor2018-11-30
  7. Helpful (35)

    "Sales - great place if you are positive, patient, and adaptable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great People from Peers to Leaders - working here is genuinely fun and the people are awesome! In addition to senior leadership being super personable and humble, I've made some great friends here and am almost always happy to come into work every morning to see my coworkers/friends even though I have the flexibility to work from home! I do not take this for granted as I know what it’s like from past jobs to dread... going to work every day. * Constant Learning Opportunities - there is a lot to learn in Account Management. From formal Franklin Covey Sales Training to tribal knowledge (and a pretty unique knowledge-sharing sales culture) to working with clients in a variety of industries I am constantly sharpening my skills. Even when you know how to do your job there is ample opportunity to get involved cross-functionally, with trainings, interviews, etc and continue learning about business. * Managers in Growth - tend to be awesome. I’ve worked closely with all of the managers in SMB Growth and have found them to all be incredible people. I've loved both my managers and they have definitely been instrumental in motivating me to stay at Glassdoor through good times and bad!! * Flexible Schedule/Travel Opportunity - Managers in Growth are understanding about working from home which is amazing. I don’t use it that often but it’s great to feel like I am trusted and treated with respect. I often feel like I truly am the owner of my own business (my book of clients). Working with clients across locations and industries is really fun and we get the opportunity to plan our own travel to in person client meetings which is awesome! * Mission - easy to get behind. For all the random tech companies to sell for, I might not be saving lives but maybe I’m helping a company hire people who are :) * Dogs in the office are the best thing ever, definitely make my day every day! * Office Location - being on the water in Mill Valley is amazing. The reverse commute is easy, it is serene environment and beautiful to get out of the city and have lunch outside every day * Food - I genuinely appreciate the daily catered lunch, tea/snacks. They have options for every dietary restriction which goes a long way!

    Show More

    Cons

    * Culture on the Decline - Our culture has suffered a lot recently, and I'm not sure why or how to fix it. The Fun Committee has pretty much disappeared. Monthly happy hours that used to be a blast have virtually zero attendance. It makes me sad how impersonal/automated company and department wide communications have become. * @Sales Leadership: Bluejeans Sales Huddles suck! It was way more fun and motivating when... we convened in the cafe. I am guessing these measures have been taken to save time/efficiency but the result is a disjointed community and everyone is multitasking, not actually paying attention to the meetings as we would in person. This also takes away face-time with leadership that we really enjoyed! I also feel this way about the Video Company All Hands - which I’m guessing <50% of the company actually watched. I don’t think I'm the only one who STRONGLY prefers real meetings. * SMB Growth partnership with CSS on Job Ads is NOT working. We need to allow high-spending job-ads accounts to have CSMs. I want to sell my clients the product that is the right fit to help them succeed, but it is getting to a point where i am fearful to move clients from slots to ads because there is a major risk the campaigns will not launch and will not perform as they are barely managed. When growth reps are measured on MCV and selling POCs we are being set up to fail attainment-wise if the trials we sell do not even launch so we obviously can’t prove performance in a short period. Glassdoor is an amazing product when we launch and when educated CSMs are managing campaigns - please help us help our clients succeed!! * FY19 Sales Changes are a Bummer - We moved from a Bookings attainment model to Monthly Contract Value (MCV) and it has been a nightmare. Even after finally understanding how it works (far into the fiscal year, and I’m sure some people are still lost), it became apparent how flawed this model is. It is not motivating in the way Bookings was and forecasting is a headache and a half. MCV doesn’t make sense for getting promoted/switching roles or leaving the company because there is no way for reps to get credit in these situations and it's shocking that there was no foresight into this. Leadership tries to spin it as that we should do what is best for the business but at the end of the day that is an unreasonable ask - I am a sales person and am motivated by getting credit for what I sell. Please switch back to bookings in FY20! * Forecasting Mess - I know this has been mentioned in other reviews. We switched forecasting tools form Clari to Aviso which has been a struggle since Aviso doesn’t work, deals randomly fall out, notes won’t update etc. I spend 2x as long on forecasting as I used to when we used Clari. This tool was supposed to be rolled out to use at the start of FY19 (April) but it is now almost half way through the year and it is still not working. It’s hard to get excited about promises made at SKO when the result is this far off year after year. How does it take this long? * Onboarding is Not Great - important note if you are considering accepting a job at Glassdoor: our on boarding experience in growth can be a bit of a “find your own way” experience as training is geared towards new business. Luckily, people are generally really nice and happy to help, but it’s not a hand-held easy training experience last time I checked. Be ready to make your own way, start-up style... even though we are not a start-up anymore which is awkward. * Billing & Sales Ops are both ridiculously understaffed, which has a major negative impact on sales teams. Leadership/HR if you read this - please please hire more billing people!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I know we as Glassdoor do our best to “walk the talk” of transparency and valuing the employee experience. I am proud to work here and love being a champion for Glassdoor and working with my clients. I would not do anything differently, and hope to continue wanting to stay here for several more years. That said, morale in Growth is pretty low right now and I’m starting to worry I won’t be motivated to get promoted... to Enterprise Growth if things don’t change due to the pain they are experiencing (per the recent reviews). I am hopeful that you will listen to my and others' feedback and try to make change. Thank you for reading this!

    Show More
    Glassdoor2018-08-17
  8. "Incredible Sales Team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Strong mission - Great benefits and perks - Opportunity to sell an amazing product - Great people all around, management truly supports you - Fast paced environment with aggressive/attainable quotas - The CEO Robert Hohman really cares about his employees

    Cons

    - Chicago office needs to allow dogs on-site (maybe every Friday?), the California office allows dogs. Huge con for dog lovers.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to preach transparency across all levels of the organization. You do an amazing job listening to your employees and implementing feedback quickly. As Glassdoor continues to grow, do not let the culture or values fade. Keep quotas attainable to keep morale high. Thanks for all that you do!

    Glassdoor2018-09-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Enterprise Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great product, great leadership, great people.

    Cons

    Quickly evolving organization so there are some growing pains.

    Glassdoor2018-02-21
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great Experience at Glassdoor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It’s the friends that we work with that make Glassdoor great. In full transparency, it’s been a challenging year, but I stuck it out because of the people here. It’s hard to leave a company when you love working for your manager and there’s awesome chemistry with your team. My manager’s ability to coach us to the top and keep everyone happy to be at Glassdoor was the highlight of my year. Our Director was very... hands on as well and never hesitated to hit to road while providing tremendous feedback to develop our skills. We’ve got great people here at Glassdoor!

    Show More

    Cons

    There’s been lots of growing pain this past year and it greatly impacted the culture of our Sales and CS Department. Morale was at its lowest this past year since my time at Glassdoor. Good news is that our Leadership Team listened to our feedback and is improving the situation. I’m happy to say that it’s starting to feel like the good old days and we’re getting back on the right track. Career development was... another challenging aspect for our tier, but there’s been improvement here as well with couple of reps getting promoted. Looking forward to see what’s in store for 2017!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to our feedback and focus on innovating as a company. It feels like we're on the right track.

    Glassdoor2017-02-13

    Glassdoor Response

    March 20, 2017CEO & Founder

    I’m glad to read this because it’s something I’ve been feeling lately too. Companies go through transitions and they don’t always make it out ahead. I’m happy to see that our team has tackled challenges that have come our way and we’ve emerged stronger. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Found 526 reviews