Glassdoor Reviews in Mill Valley, CA | Glassdoor.ca

Glassdoor Mill Valley Reviews

Updated 25 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 172 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Robert Hohman
Robert Hohman
146 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (97)

    "4 years in and going strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Glassdoor is the favorite company I've worked for so far in my career. First and foremost, the company has an amazing company culture. People are really good to one another here. While people are smart and driven, they also care about making sure that everyone works together well. Glassdoor is also having a lot of success as a company. Like any early stage company there are ups and downs, but over the 4 years... I've been here I've seen revenue triple and the employee base grow by a similar amount. And I love Glassdoor's mission and that we are creating transparency for job seekers all around the world.

    Show More

    Cons

    None really. It's worth saying that we have some big competitors (LinkedIn, Indeed) in our industry so you have to bring your A-game. But I believe in what we're doing and our results show we are having success.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on company culture even as we grow.

    Glassdoor2019-04-29
  2. "Great company with a focus on its mission and company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Marketing Events in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is really friendly, approachable, and always willing to help. I can ask anyone on any team a question and they always answer to the best of their ability or redirect me to someone who can help better. Flexible work hours and free lunch every day. Plenty of dogs too!

    Cons

    Commute can be lengthy since the Mill Valley office is in North Bay

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing but I feel like some internal processes could be streamlined and work could be made more efficient

    Glassdoor2019-07-25
  3. Helpful (19)

    "A Rapidly Declining Culture, Values and Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Mill Valley, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    Career development & growth: I have been working at Glassdoor for 3 years and have been promoted 3 times which is amazing because once you build your internal brand and perform well, chances are that you will get promoted. Like any other organization you need to play your cards well and build the right reputation and relationships to speed up your promotion track, but overall, movements do happen frequently.... Great benefits & work life balance: Free catered lunch (amazing), dog friendly office (it helps owners and other employees to feel emotionally supported with so many cute dogs in our teams), 401K match (this took a few years but it's amazing that we have it now), very flexible PTO policy as long as you are performing on your numbers, awesome health/dental policies and an ok working from home policy. Office location: This is tough for people that live in the city or if they don't have a car to drive to the office, but being right on the water in the Marin county has elevated the company culture and it's refreshing to work in this beautiful "suburb" only 4 miles north of SF/Marina neighborhood. Lower Management: I have had 4 different managers here and every single one of them were amazing human beings, very empathetic, always supporting reps, passionate about our career and personal development and overall very hard working people that is extremely hard to find in the bay area especially in Sales.

    Show More

    Cons

    Upper management & executive team: Leadership is very removed from the needs and struggles of the lower end of the workforce - with the most recent news of Glassdoor HQ moving to the city, I was expecting a more reasonable announcement to get employees more excited and pumped about moving to SF. But, because they are so disconnected with what we need, it was a very disappointing announcement in our monthly... all-hands meeting and actually quiet insulting. Yes, we all understand that moving to the city is more beneficial to attract new talent and grow our company. However, just being located in the city doesn't get Glassdoor the "top talent" we are looking for - it certainly makes it easier but if we are not considering a competitive perks & benefits package in addition to our "hot new office in the city" this will only get us the average candidate that can't get hired at other hot companies/startups in the city. This is not the first time that upper management has made announcements without reasonable preparation or understanding of employees needs and concerns. In fact, during the all hands meeting, when we were raising our hands to share our concerns/ask questions, a few leaders were laughing at our comments and making it sound like we were ridiculous for surfacing these concerns which was both insulting and disappointing. Additionally, for a company that always preaches "transparency" and "culture" they didn't consider for once how people will react to these not very well presented announcements and made it very obvious that ultimately the decisions will be made regardless of the impacts they may have on people's lives and there is no room for review, hence why I am very disheartened by leadership and their decision making process. Priorities: If you are an engineer or a technical talent looking for a job at Glassdoor, this is the right time because literally that's all they care about - if you are in Sales or Customer success, think twice because we are not given the right resources or teams to help us success in our roles. Customer Success:

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When making huge announcements, try to understand your audience better, practice active listening and only share what you know will benefit the audience - Given that the current status of the big move to SF is under construction (until we have a new chief people office) it would be much more impactful to let the people know that you will be running internal surveys to understand what we value the most and letting us... know that you will be at least "trying" to find us the best package - instead of sharing a news that hasn't been well thought out and also get defensive about people asking questions about "food, dogs and commute" which are no longer really perks in the Bay Area but a standard benefit by most reputable employer brands that are seeking for the top talent in the bay area. Value your employees before you expect building a $1B company.

    Show More
    Glassdoor2019-06-03

    Glassdoor Response

    June 14, 2019President & COO

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I’m happy to hear you’ve found Glassdoor to be a place where you can grow and advance your career. And, I appreciate hearing that you believe we have amazing people, I couldn't agree more. However, I'm disappointed to hear ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (21)

    "Needs major changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mill Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible WFH policy, incredible senior leadership

    Cons

    Blatant favoritism, low pay, inconsistent bonus policy, far commute from SF, no room for growth

    Advice to Management

    To begin, over half my team has left. You’d think the mass exodus from a single managers team would be cause for concern but no formal steps have been taken to see understand why. A lot of my frustrations stem from my manger never having been in the role. For over a year our team had to send manual emails each and every touch point with clients. Some performed this more diligently than others, but absolutely... nothing was done to reward those who completed the most amount of work. In fact, there has never been any kind of formal recognition for those completing theirs on time. I’ve watched over 5 people who began after me assume positions I was also qualified for. The only difference? I speak up. Things like unannounced systems changes that disrupt workflow, said manager divulging personal information about teammates, and forced emotional situations are just a few of the things that haven’t sat well with me. Stats and reporting have been nonexistent since I started. They’re just not a priority. What that means is that people are being promoted based on favoritism and not their work ethic. Managerial tasks like: - Making sure the team is doing their job - Randomly QA'ing accounts - Demonstrating concern when multiple job ads accounts have been untouched - Flagging if no notes are left after a call ... It is not being done. It’s apparent during promotions. The fact that these are all ignored has lead to a complete lack of trust and feeling immensely undervalued. My request to have my (albeit self made) reporting used in regards to promotions was met with “it’s not reliable enough” (it’s straight from Salesforce). Again, this doesn't seem to be a problem for manger or those on their good side as it favors them massively. The manager not paying attention to the actual job is abundantly clear when it comes time for promotions. Those of us who come in early and stay later receive zero credit. Some people take months (yes, really add up the days!) and nothing is said and its always approved. Evidently not the managers concern that one person constantly taking weeks at a time off could mean more work for others. Finally, the position is not hourly but the unlucky ones who’ve had to stay in said certain position due to turnover and lack of promotion have had to make sure they’re following an hourly schedule every afternoon. That’s meant the entirety of all small business support cases has been the responsibility of 2 people between 1-5 ever single day (on top of normal work). Voiced concern there (especially since senior team members are in after 9 and out by 3:30) was met with watching 4 people be promoted who all began after me and that “hesitancy” being brought up in my formal review to explain not receiving my full bonus. “Less thinking before and more jumping in” ??? To conclude: I would not recommend anyone join my team. Hard work is hardly rewarded. You’re better of investing in a company who ensures favoritism isn’t rampant and metrics and performance take precedent over bias. My advice: LISTEN to your employees when they voice their frustration and FACT CHECK metrics and cross counterpart relationships when promotions happen. MANAGE your managers (especially when half their team leaves) and make sure that situations like this are not happening. I’m so disappointed and hopeless about the situation, the only thing left to do is try to move on. There are some great people on the team who deserve better. It’s only a matter of time before they figure it out as well.

    Show More
    Glassdoor2019-06-01

    Glassdoor Response

    June 21, 2019VP Customer Success

    Dear Mill Valley Team-Member I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback - I imagine it was difficult given your experience. Based on what you've described, I've inferred you could be part of my organization (my apologies if I'm off base). Irrespective of which ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Admin Coordinator for Finance at Glassdoor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Coordinator in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great People, Flexible Schedule, Sweet Perks, Great View, Dog Friendly

    Cons

    Mill Valley office is a bit far and traffic can be terrible

    Glassdoor2019-05-06
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful people, strong leadership, uplifting mission, clear vision for future

    Cons

    more focus on developing/training across the org'n

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good/hard work, keep focusing on your people

    Glassdoor2019-03-28
  7. Helpful (87)

    "Dr. StrangeOps or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Abuse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Operations in Mill Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    Dog friendly office. Free lunch and snacks. The pay is finally starting to get competitive. Most people there are very nice. Most managers have flexible policies around work hours and working from home.

    Cons

    Something dark lurks within the waters of Glassdoor's Sales Ops team, and it has the team's members fleeing for their careers. 1) The Only Live Culture on the Team is in our Yogurt In the most recent employee satisfaction survey, the largest word in the word cloud was "toxic". Pressure to perform is sky-high, which is part and parcel of any Sales Operations gig. However, the team's culture has shifted... dramatically to reward people who manage up well while undercutting the work and reputation of their peers. People are now hired and valued based their pedigree; Ivy League MBA with Management Consulting is the profile du jour and the only voices truly valued on the team (note: this is not unique to Sales Ops, but proliferates throughout the Operations organization). Most teams within Sales Ops work in silos and show little interest in understanding work outside of their purview. When collaboration is necessary, tensions inevitably flare. Even team outings are usually segregated by team lines, with the exception of a few open-minded individuals. Rather than encourage cross-pollination, leaders often simply skip the events altogether. We tried a big team-building offsite a couple of months ago. It did not help. 2) I Find Your Lack of Vision Disturbing Like sand in the desert, our org chart shifts with the winds. By my last count and without exaggeration, we restructured the Sales Ops team no less than 5 times in 2018. Many of those restructures were due to key staff leaving the company (which speaks for itself), but it embodies the lack of a cohesive vision for the team. We almost never talk about team vision, and when we do, there is no follow-through. Our processes are a mess and everything is manual. There is no documentation because no one has time to document them. We’re told to automate everything, but efforts are poorly scoped by our Sales Tech team and always fall short. Efforts to implement scalable policy are met with extreme resistance from sales leadership. More on that later. Our Sales Tech Stack is a mess. Salesforce is a disaster, and there are no plans to shore up the foundations there. We are something of an urban legend amongst the CS team at Salesforce, as our implementation is the most cluttered and least efficient that many of them have seen. The result is inefficient process for our sales team and an inability to effect productive change within the environment. We've recently taken to cycling in old tools that we've already tried and didn't work. We'll see how that goes. Our priorities shift more often than our org chart. We frequently enter the week with a frantic email telling us what "the only thing we need to focus on this week" is. OKRs have been out the window for most Sales Ops teams for the last 2 quarters, and when I shake my Magic 8-ball and ask if that will improve, it always says "Reply hazy, try again." Every time. I have a ticket in with Mattel to troubleshoot. 3) "And then! Oh, the noise! Oh, the Noise! Noise! Noise! Noise!" - The Grinch A key part of Sales Operations success lies in its relationship with Sales. Somewhere between trust and shared vision lies a nirvana of effectiveness and efficiency. Unfortunately, none of that exists at Glassdoor. Our relationship with Sales is incredibly dysfunctional. And, in spite of my criticisms above, the lion’s share of the problem lies with the inexperience of sales leadership. Glassdoor is a strong believer of promoting leaders from within. However, when that is your only method of hiring leaders, you get the Peter Principle run amok. Simply put, there is not a sales executive at Glassdoor that has been anything other than a frontline manager prior to joining the company. And it shows. The decisions made at that level are short-sighted; primarily for the benefit of individual sales reps and to the detriment of our ability to scale. There is little accountability holding leaders to the commitments and decisions they make. Perfect is the archenemy of good. And we learn everything the hard way. I have seen instances where our lack of experience on the executive team has left us incapacitated when facing the kind of difficult challenges every company encounters during hyper-growth. Every trial our company faces becomes a crisis where the leaders charged with resolution are only equipped to make very educated guesses on the path forward. Again, this is not limited to sales, but it's especially prevalent there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We keep putting people in executive leadership positions who have never owned that function before. That's a key part of developing leaders, but when massive sectors of your company are being run by individuals who have only experienced their current function through case studies, it becomes incredibly self-limiting. Ironically, there are plenty of case studies demonstrating this. You are hemorrhaging Sales... Operations people. There is a root cause. Read the notes from the exit interviews and take them seriously, or you're going to end up with Sales Reps booking their own deals.

    Show More
    Glassdoor2018-12-14

    Glassdoor Response

    December 18, 2018COO

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review. I'm genuinely sorry to hear about your experience at Glassdoor. Our hope is that all Glassdoor employees feel their experience here is one that reflects our mission. Your feedback is helpful so we can build on our strengths and fix what's ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (5)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Solutions Consultant in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am very thankful for the past 2 years that I have had at Glassdoor. It truly is an amazing place to work. I was brought on to the team to help start to Solutions Consulting program. My direct team immediately felt like family. Everyone has each others back, and truly cares about their teammates success. I was trusted with my work and learned a lot on the fly, which I loved. The Solutions Consultant team is growing... and they are doing great things. Other pros: 1. Great manager and direct team 2. Flexible WFH policies (which is necessary due to travel schedule) 3. Dog friendly office for Mill Valley employees

    Show More

    Cons

    1. The travel can be intense at times, especially in the busier months 2. Career path isn’t 100% clear, but the team is growing which is positive 3. Data can take a long time to load and can be complex to pull, which caused some late nights working on presentations 4. Lack of new products is causing employee churn across the whole organization

    Advice to Management

    The sales team (Enterprise specifically) is itching for a new product. Over communicate and really listen to the Enterprise side of the business, otherwise you’ll continue to lose good people.

    Glassdoor2019-03-10
  9. Helpful (24)

    "Not a great company for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mill Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits Catered Lunches Free Gym and Gym classes

    Cons

    Very little room to grow, often those who get ahead do so through nepotism. Glassdoor does not pay at a competitive market rate which is ironic in itself. The company hires the same cookie cutter people from Marin and there is a serious lack of diversity within the company. There is zero culture the only decent events are Halloween but even then people hang out downstairs for about 20 mins and then go back to work.

    Advice to Management

    Work on creating diversity and learning how to keep talent. Its not a secret that the company has such a low retention rate.

    Glassdoor2019-02-06
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mill Valley, CA

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great teammates, feel truly able to be myself and "at home" at work. It feels inspiring to know our work makes an impact.

    Cons

    Changes and rapid growth may lead to some uncertainty, but we have strong leaders at the helm

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Appreciate the transparency and "walking the walk".

    Glassdoor2018-12-12
Found 172 reviews