Gilead Sciences Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Gilead Sciences Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
44%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Gilead Sciences CEO Daniel O’Day (no image)
Daniel O’Day
22 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Running too "lean" leads to poor work life balance for the "worker bees"(in 126 reviews)

  • "Upper management set with approaches that were more suitable for when the company was much smaller(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place for hard workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Fast-paced, diverse tasks, collaborative culture, positive atmosphere.

    Cons

    Disorganized at times. Be prepared to work through lunches, breaks, and stay late when things are busy.

    Gilead Sciences2018-04-23
  2. "GMP Pharmaceutical Quality Control API manufacture Instrumentation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Associate in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Talented group, lots of learning opportunities, good coworkers.

    Cons

    career growth, poor management, low efficiency

    Gilead Sciences2019-11-21
  3. "Best job I've had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Associate in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I work at the Alberta location. Management is great and listens to your concerns. Benefits are good and pay is fair. There's lots of work to keep me busy. Work/life balance is good here. My managers understand that I sometimes have other priorities.

    Cons

    Rotating schedules are not the best but they work.

    Gilead Sciences2019-07-22
  4. "whatever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gilead Sciences full-time

    Pros

    well paid so that was nice

    Cons

    way too much work to do

    Gilead Sciences2019-05-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Research Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Learn a lot, quickly Some management, especially middle management, are really good to work with

    Cons

    Very demanding, over worked a lot High turnover rate Heavy work load Pay not the best

    Gilead Sciences2018-12-13
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Associate in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gilead Sciences full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They offer extensive professional development if you have the right department and manager. Lots of swag. Very stable employment. Again with the right manager you get lots of autonomy to plan your own schedule as long as deadlines are met. Challenging work for the right people. Chemists could get bored, but they let you get involved with many different projects if you wish.

    Cons

    Without a PhD your job will never change, you will be allowed to contribute slightly more the longer your tenure at the company, but don't be surprised if your ideas are wrong until three months later when your boss has the same idea, but it's brilliant. Entrance education level and tenure were the contributing factors to advancement, not performance. Conflicting performance evaluations make it hard to improve, "No promotion this year because of X." the next year, "Congrats on your promotion because of your great work on X." What?

    Continue reading
    Gilead Sciences2018-03-01
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Could be a lot better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gilead Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Good pay relative to other jobs in the area and even in the country (Canada). Relocation benefits for new hires. Relatively young and diverse workforce. Stock awards, bonuses, RRSP/DPSP matching, excellent health plan. Good willingness to invest in human capital, such as training for employees in diverse subject areas. For the most part, a hardworking and competent workforce made up of good people.

    Cons

    Big disparity in benefits, pay, practices, quality of site resources, and attitude/culture from the main Foster City site. Site management could be very resistant to change and extremely reluctant to spend. This wasn't always the case but it seemed to be the norm. Often seemed to be a disrespectful or unprofessional attitude from some of site management towards lower-level employees. Lack of trust seemed obvious in policies and treatment. Sometimes inconsistent communication and practices, especially with regard to performance expectations/review, and promotions. Was told one thing, then experienced another. This happened a lot. On-site cafeteria was some of the most consistently bad food I've ever experienced. "Lean" work philosophy. This means that essentially everyone had multiple jobs and work-life balance could be difficult at times, though generally this was cyclical and not that bad.

    Continue reading
    Gilead Sciences2018-02-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Money OK, too much politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gilead Sciences for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has too much money

    Cons

    There are too much politics there. Difficult to work among different departments.

    Continue reading
    Gilead Sciences2017-11-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Medical Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Scientist in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great medical team, lots of opportunities for learning

    Cons

    Differences of opinion not welcome, some bullying behaviour in upper management, salary on lower end for MSLs

    Continue reading
    Gilead Sciences2017-06-17
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Therapeutic Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Therapeutic Specialist in Mississauga, ON

    I have been working at Gilead Sciences

    Pros

    Salary, stock, car, fairly independent

    Cons

    Pressure, culture, people in managerial roles, treated like a mushroom-fed crap and kept in the dark

    Continue reading
    Gilead Sciences2016-11-11
Found 737 reviews