Giant Tiger Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Giant Tiger Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 150 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Thomas Haig
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "From benefits to profit sharing to employee discounts they do a lot that other retailers don't(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great place to work at with great benefit and package(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Giant Tiger full-time

    Pros

    Great service to employers and customers.

    Cons

    Lots of drama to take part of.

    Giant Tiger2019-04-26
  2. "What a journey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Campbellford, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Tiger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Place to work and coworkers are great

    Cons

    Its retail . Must understand retail and tourist area

    Giant Tiger2019-07-10
  3. "Unfortunate workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Giant Tiger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great co-workers who make you feel like family - comprehensive benefits - work from home policy (with some restrictions) - summer working hours (shortened day on Friday's only) - reduced cost of monthly staff lunches & BBQ Friday's in the summer

    Cons

    - 9 hour days are long (8 hour work day + 1-hour mandatory lunch) - abuse of power within management - poorly trained managers - politically inclined leadership - bullying in the workplace - apparently, the company wants you to grow through training, but you need to have a supportive director/manager in order to allow you to pursue any skill development or training. - processes are archaic and slow to improve

    Advice to Management

    Vet out your managers to ensure that they have the skill set and personality to deal with issues in the workplace, and the know-how to create a positive and healthy working environment. It was an easy choice to exit the company because of the abuse of power from my director and the unhealthy environment I was in despite many complaints from several staff members to HR.

    Giant Tiger2019-07-04
  4. "Ok Experience Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Woodstock, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Tiger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers who really helped me do my job and enjoy some aspects of it.

    Cons

    They wouldn't allow me to work around my sensory disorder so I was in great mental and physical pain because of it.

    Advice to Management

    Please be more considerate of disabilities that may not be as great as a physical injury but ate still a big deal to your workers.

    Giant Tiger2019-06-14
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PAYROLL Associate 

    I have been working at Giant Tiger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities and growing company

    Cons

    Favourites get promoted not always based on work

    Giant Tiger2019-05-22
  6. "Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker 

    I worked at Giant Tiger full-time

    Pros

    Different shifts available, full time and part time

    Cons

    Some mediocre workers; some lazy people; some lazy supervisors

    Giant Tiger2019-05-07
  7. "Good Starting Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giant Tiger part-time

    Pros

    Good place to start working, gives experience working with clients and coworkers

    Cons

    Low pay, unlikely to move up in company

    Giant Tiger2019-04-05
  8. "Giant tiger. An....experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Giant Tiger part-time

    Pros

    Associates were nice. Good hours.

    Cons

    Management were incredibly mean and rude to employees.

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer to your employees

    Giant Tiger2019-04-02
  9. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Giant Tiger part-time

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, nice coworkers

    Cons

    Not really good benefits for employees

    Giant Tiger2019-03-13
  10. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giant Tiger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive Management, Fun environment and amazing rewards for hard work

    Cons

    Some Customers are challenging and IT staff are very Rude when you call with a technology issue

    Giant Tiger2019-03-02
Found 150 reviews