Gerdau Long Steel North America Employee Reviews about "gerdau"

Updated Jun 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 326 reviews

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Gerdau Long Steel North America CEO Gustavo Wernek (no image)
Gustavo Wernek
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, good benefits, good work life balance(in 31 reviews)

  • "Good people to work with, also a good pay(in 28 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Gerdau is a very large company and as such it is hard to see the results of your work in real time(in 17 reviews)

  • "Can have long hours and 6-7 day work week(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Gerdau Long Steel North America and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "gerdau"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Intern

      Great work environment

      Apr 2, 2021 - Engineering Intern in Whitby, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Position allowed for autonomy in my role and provided support when needed

      Cons

      Gerdau is a very large company and as such it is hard to see the results of your work in real time.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Excellent Company

      Jun 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gerdau is an Excellent Company!!

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Lack of innovation

      Apr 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great dedicated employees that value their work and the product they make

      Cons

      Core values of accountability, simplicity has no meaning for the leadership of Gerdau. Every decision as little as it maybe has to be vetoed by the VPs/President of the company after being drafted, analyzed and paper signed by everyone in the food chain. Really so much waste

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Circular Firing Squad

      Nov 7, 2017 - Senior Business Analyst in Midlothian, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At one time this was the Chaparral Steel mill, the largest and most profitable mini steel mill in the world.

      Cons

      Gerdau is a Brazilian owned company. They have their vision, which over the past 3 years has been to replace as much management as possible with people from Brazil. The mill now operates at 40-60% of capacity. Compensation was great at one time but over the past 7 years has gone downhill. Every Year, at least twice a year, there was a purge of 5-10 people in IT. This year in July of 2017, it was massive.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Gerdau In Shambles

      Jun 16, 2017 - Maintenance in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great hourly workers who all seem to be on the same page and help each other

      Cons

      Company says it can't give raises to hourly folks due to business conditions but then turns around and gives salary persons their annual STI bonus. Very unfair!! If they can afford the millions spent on salary bonus why leave out the little guy?? This one action shows who Gerdau values. So much for everyone on one team. Management only seems to value employees with 4 year degrees. The hourly employees who can make or break you. Take care of them. Benefits have become a joke. Gerdau wants the employee to absorb the cost of insurance. Corporate directions say one thing and local leaders say the opposite.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Hiring process

      Aug 21, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      not nay known at this time

      Cons

      Gerdau Long Steel N A has a long process to transfer to another plant and hiring process. Interivewed by multiple people.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gerdau Long Steel North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thanks for spending a few moments to provide a review. We hope that we might continue to improve and, as a current employee, if you have suggestions, please feel empowered to present those to your local leader or People Business Partner as we would certainly like to hear your perspectives. Together, we can make Gerdau an even stronger organization!

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Make money while you can, but watch out for yourself!

      Mar 19, 2016 - Maintenance 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent wages, but lower compared to other plants in the area. Health benefits from Day 1 is a plus, compared to having to wait so many days/months compared to other plants. 401k is available and the company match is pretty decent. Vacation is about par for years employed.

      Cons

      Gerdau is a Brazilian company. Like many other Brazilian companies, they are sticklers for safety and reliability, however new upper management in GLN has not honored the company culture and is trying to "Americanize" the mills and push for higher production with lower manpower and lower preventative maintenance. Repair becomes "Just make it work!"

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Oct 28, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work with good benefits and stable jobs. Gerdau constantly challenges and supports its employees to not only achieve but also exceed performance goals. Good career opportunities within the company, especially if you have availability for relocation.

      Cons

      Gerdau is currently facing big challenges to remain competitive in the market on a business scenario where import products are coming to the US market at a very low price. This is leading the company to take some measures in the short term that has not been well received by its employees.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      run and run fast

      Sep 25, 2015 - Craneman in Midlothian, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      non i can think of

      Cons

      First let me say I am an ex-employee but I am not a disgruntled ex-employee. I will not mention names or departments of this company only that i was at the midlothian, texass mill.. The purpose of this post is to let people know about safety issues that go unaddressed and create danger for all persons around. I guess it's like the proverbial ostrich with his head in the sand, as long as management sees things flying magically through the air there's nothing wrong with the crane and life is good. We were in a what they call a line-out meeting where I really tried to address the issues with this crane. I was told the crane was in perfect working order and that I should just be quiet, therefore I had some choice words and I walked out on principle because I will not endanger anyone's life. I was notified by a gerdau employee that 5 days later krona crane inspected the machine put their lock on it and deemed it in operable. then it took 24 hours +/- with teams of guys to put enough band-aids on the crane so it could be used. You would think after that a guy would have at least received a telephone call saying hey "you were where right, we were wrong". trust me i already knew this was not going happen. But then again a person would have to have some moral character in order to do that. This is gerdau's hiring practice is as i have sen it., if you ever enjoyed a happy meal or if you ever got a trophy for losing a soccer game you are gerdau material. if you have some junior college you get bump straight to management. They are losing their experience personnel on a daily. Years ago I would have recommended the midlothian location to any friends , family, even strangers as a great place to work. now. I would not recommend it to any man or woman. Once upon a time we all enjoyed going to work, had smiles on our faces, we helped each other we looked after each other. Now it's every man for himself, watch your back because someone is wanting to put a knife in it. i am retired are the nice age of 54 and added ten tears or more to my life when i made the decision to walk because of all the ignored safety issues that plague this plant. please not i have not spoken badly about any man or woman with the company. there are still a few fine people that work there, but they know their days are numbered.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Pitiful

      Sep 16, 2015 - Hourly in Cartersville, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None left. As soon as Gerdau took over things have been going downhill with the Pedal to the metal. Lots of days off to look for other jobs.

      Cons

      Constant lies by management. Unprofessional, uneducated, & dishonest local management. The guys running the place couldn't manage a lemonade stand. Facilitators pick on "weak" employees and turn their heads to real problems.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Gerdau Long Steel North America Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Gerdau Long Steel North America? Share Your Experiences

    or