George Brown College Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

George Brown College Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
90%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
George Brown College CEO Anne Sado
Anne Sado
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "most opportunities are part time so that you are able to do them while you are studying but full time opportunities are limited(in 34 reviews)

  • "hard to get a full time position (very competitive, lots of part-time & contact staff)(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Reporter-Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at George Brown College full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment Amazing coworkers

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    George Brown College2019-10-27
  2. "Great place for a work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at George Brown College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Salary, Great work hours, got off early every long weekend

    Cons

    Not a lot of upward mobility, profs hold most of the power and are stuck in their ways

    George Brown College2019-11-12
  3. "Peer tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Peer Tutor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at George Brown College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Calm environment, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Only few opportunities to network within the company

    George Brown College2019-11-04
  4. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruiting Assistant 

    I have been working at George Brown College part-time

    Pros

    good working environment and relatively easy work

    Cons

    little career growth and not motivated team

    George Brown College2019-10-31
  5. "Current student in Hotel Operations & Management Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at George Brown College full-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment and a great place to learn in regards to the service industry

    Cons

    Hard to get the co-op/internship you would want

    George Brown College2019-10-07
  6. "Administration comes in the way of education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at George Brown College part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Access to a great facility and enthusiast students. Opportunity to connect with and create meaningful impact on the lives of young professionals.

    Cons

    Everything you read on the state of academic institutions and their administration is true and applies here too. Incompetent administration that comes in the way of education and student's interests. Unbearable inequality between contract staff who carry the load and unionized full timers who can get away with anything (unethical and illegal activities as well).

    Advice to Management

    Learn ethics and start to do the right thing.

    George Brown College2019-10-09
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tutor 

    I have been working at George Brown College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My bosses were amazing and competent

    Cons

    Work can be tiring sometimes because of school

    Advice to Management

    None

    George Brown College2019-10-05
  8. "Great College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at George Brown College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy access; great teachers

    Cons

    Price for international students are very high

    George Brown College2019-09-17
  9. "George brown college child care - ECE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Early Childhood Educator in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at George Brown College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive wage $28~ - Part time staff tuition discount (you can take continuing education/part time program, only $20 per course - vacation fee - various workshop opportunities

    Cons

    - hard to get a full time position (very competitive, lots of part-time & contact staff) - hard to move to other job fields

    George Brown College2019-09-14
  10. "Videographer and Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Videographer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at George Brown College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had an opportunity to developed my abilities as Videographer creating, editing and producing with quality all videos for website and social media platforms that increase the numbers of video viewers.

    Cons

    Even though I enjoyed work independently, I would be happy if I had a second hand in some interviews.

    George Brown College2019-08-22
Found 156 reviews