George Brown College Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

George Brown College Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 202 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
George Brown College CEO Anne Sado
Anne Sado
83 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "most opportunities are part time so that you are able to do them while you are studying but full time opportunities are limited(in 34 reviews)

  • "No benefits or job security as contract/part-time(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Videographer and Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Videographer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at George Brown College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had an opportunity to developed my abilities as Videographer creating, editing and producing with quality all videos for website and social media platforms that increase the numbers of video viewers.

    Cons

    Even though I enjoyed work independently, I would be happy if I had a second hand in some interviews.

    George Brown College2019-08-22
  2. "Excellent Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Game Designer 

    I have been working at George Brown College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Professional atmosphere - Interesting projects

    Cons

    - Staff webwite (Cornerstone) can be unreliable.

    George Brown College2019-08-10
  3. "Peer Career Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Coach in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at George Brown College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - PeerConnect felt like a family. - I learned a lot about developing my soft skills. - Instilled confidence in myself and other.

    Cons

    - GBC is super slow if you want to start acting on an idea prepare to wait for a semester when they review it.

    George Brown College2019-08-13
  4. "Great students and faculty but management out of touch."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at George Brown College for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The pros would definitely include the students, faculty, support staff and downtown location.

    Cons

    Management out of touch with faculty and what is really needed to be the best college.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the faculty who are the ones in direct contact with your customers- the students!

    George Brown College2019-08-04
  5. "Contract rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professor 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at George Brown College for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best faculty, good management, some flexibility

    Cons

    Contract only paid only for 9.5 mk the of the year

    George Brown College2019-07-25
  6. "diversity environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at George Brown College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good environment to work. People are friendly

    Cons

    it could be boring because it's the same routine work.

    George Brown College2019-07-17
  7. "Working at GBC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Director 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at George Brown College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great potential to be a great workplace

    Cons

    Highly political environment. Always wondered how did they make it to the top 100 employer list.

    George Brown College2019-07-15
  8. "Decent Part Time Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Instructor 

    I have been working at George Brown College part-time

    Pros

    Access to school buildings & facility.

    Cons

    Not really set up for you to succeed. Not much guidance.

    George Brown College2019-07-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It could be a good place if you work with nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Library Technician 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at George Brown College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some staffs are nice and friendly

    Cons

    Some staffs are bossy and acting like they are your supervisor which is not

    George Brown College2019-07-06
  10. "Student Support Member to promote well-being."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Toronto, ON

    I worked at George Brown College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got the opportunity to help students and got to know people at school. Had flexible hours, everyone was kind to each other, gained many skills and contributed to making the campus a safer place.

    Cons

    This job only runs through the school year and not summer.

    George Brown College2019-06-15
Found 202 reviews