George Brown College Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
George Brown College President Anne Sado
Anne Sado
66 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Full time teachers aren't incentivized to deliver relevant course material or update their skills(in 37 reviews)

  • "Part time workers were not unionized at that time yet(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great opportunity for students to work at and a great service for students to take benefit from"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Peer Career Coach in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at George Brown College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Networking, Helps in building confidence

    Cons

    It's a student position so you get less working hours

    George Brown College2020-05-24
  2. "Postgraduate Course"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at George Brown College full-time

    Pros

    Good training for job market

    Cons

    Too focused on employment and finding jobs

    George Brown College2020-04-24
  3. "Good Intentions Stifled By Union Policy"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fullstack Developer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at George Brown College part-time

    Pros

    NIce people Good campus Some Faculty is trying to push things forward

    Cons

    Teaching antiquated material Full time teachers aren't incentivized to deliver relevant course material or update their skills Union stifles progress

    Continue reading
    George Brown College2020-03-29
  4. "Great Company Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at George Brown College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, great location, staff discounts for education are amazing. Pay in lieu of benefits. CAAT Pension is matched at approximately 9%.

    Cons

    Salary, although fair, could be better. No benefits for contract workers.

    Continue reading
    George Brown College2020-03-10
  5. "Help students to thrive on their careers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Peer Career Coach in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at George Brown College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning environment and access to events/training

    Cons

    Part time workers were not unionized at that time yet.

    George Brown College2020-01-20
  6. "Graduate Student at George Brown college"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at George Brown College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Location, Culture, Opportunities, Diversity, Staff.

    Cons

    None I could think of.

    George Brown College2020-01-01
  7. "Not sure what to write"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Library Assistant in Casa Loma, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at George Brown College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is great to work in George Brown College. It has a very friendly environment and everyone are always helping each other. I feel homely and always connected.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    George Brown College2019-12-31
  8. "Studying at George Brown College"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Student 

    I have been working at George Brown College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hospitality major is greatly taught, the professors are passionate with their teaching.

    Cons

    I haven't seen any cons yet.

    George Brown College2020-01-11
  9. "Note taker job review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Note Taker in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at George Brown College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Chill environment. You can work at your own pace given that you provide notes within 24 hours.

    Cons

    Delayed pays. Email is the only form of communication about the payroll. Sometimes pay can delay upto 3 months after you've covered 15 hours worth of classes.

    Continue reading
    George Brown College2019-12-12
  10. "Great access to education"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor 

    I have been working at George Brown College full-time

    Pros

    Professional Development is available and can take courses at an employee rate

    Cons

    Can take a long time to implement changes

    George Brown College2019-12-04
Found 165 reviews