Genworth Reviews

Updated May 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Genworth Chief Executive Officer Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
233 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakville, ON

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    People, benefits, lots of opportunities to give back to the community, this company values training and development and recognizes successes on a regular basis. Management sometime implements change based on employee feedback, transparent and down to earth leadership. Forward thinking company. Good work life balance, realistic expectations and regular feedback on performance.

    Cons

    None, I really enjoy working here, and find it rewarding and challenging.

    Genworth Response

    January 29, 2019Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for your review.

  2. "Decent growth company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Financial Accountant in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Culture, pace, drive, location, leadership team

    Cons

    Size, industry, ownership, regulation, risk

    Genworth Response

    January 25, 2021Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review.


  3. Helpful (5)

    "Extremely toxic"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Underwriter in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great benefits that's about it

    Cons

    The environment is extremely toxic and fear based management is in place. All of the things about the SVP written are true. I could go on forever at the horrid unfair things this man has pulled off. He has HR on his side covering for him so I guess that helps. Many people went to HR, bypassed the one employee that we ALL know is not confidential, and went above her head. NOTHING was done. Some pretty serious allegations were made as previously stated in another review, and NOTHING was done. A lot of amazing employees left, either on their own, or let go with no cause, all because they couldn't stomach the butt kissing.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Get prepared for a toxic work culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Genworth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    if you have long term plans of sticking to a single place without growth . then this is the one.

    Cons

    If you are an IT engineer and you plan to worth in Genworth- either full-time or part-time you should get ready to see the worst work culture here. Working as part of the IT department, i faced a lot of politics, insecurities etc.... There are various contractors and vendors working along side in the department and everyone who joins this department eventually start following the same pace. its better not to recommend this type of company to anyone who prefers mental peace over stress. good luck!

    Continue reading

    Genworth Response

    February 3, 2020Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and years of service at Genworth.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Micromanaged"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Oakville, ON
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The salary and the benefits are good. That is the only positive about this job.

    Cons

    The Account Manager role is no longer a sales role. There is no focus on the client relationship as the Management team is solely focused on your calendar. This role has become administrative in nature. There is absolutely no autonomy. First in class sales people should be very cautious about joining Genworth currently. The Leaders lack intellectual humility. It is more important for them to be right than to listen to valuable feedback that could improve the role.

    Continue reading

    Genworth Response

    December 28, 2018Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.

  6. "Aswome job but with too many hours of work."

    4.0
     

    I have been working at Genworth

    Pros

    You will grow as professional and have good conditions.

    Cons

    I will be ask to do 7 days a week in 5 days.

    Genworth Response

    December 28, 2018Brand Marketing Specialist

    We acknowledge the cons you shared. We’re not perfect, but we’re working every day to make Genworth a great place to work. We hope you’ll stay along for the ride.

  7. "Great place to work in all departments except Operations"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth

    Pros

    Great senior team Good at getting you to take part in charity events Fairly flat hierarchy - good to get your ideas heard

    Cons

    Operations is not a nice place to work. Worst department in the company

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great co workers -work from home -open concept office space -open door policy

    Cons

    -unclear work roles - divided communications between departments

    Genworth Response

    October 18, 2017Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Flat organization"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Genworth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, huge community involvement, ability to do charity work during work hours, group RSP or stock contributions matched up to 3%.

    Cons

    Extremely flat organization. It is near impossible to receive a promotion or move up within the company. Tenure is not valued nor appreciated. It is better to get your experience and then leave.

    Continue reading

    Genworth Response

    September 19, 2017Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.

  10. "Recoveries Assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recoveries Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth

    Pros

    Great team, flexible hours, good work environment

    Cons

    Compensation wasn't great but the job wasn't taxing.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 645 Reviews

Popular Careers with Genworth Job Seekers

Mortgage Underwriter
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Director, Marketing and Communications
Learn About the Job
Mortgage Information Specialist
Learn About the Job
Residential Mortgage Underwriter
Learn About the Job
Manager, Marketing and Communications
Learn About the Job

Work at Genworth? Share Your Experiences

Genworth logo
or