Gensler Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Gensler Co-CEOs Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
586 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and some directors who are out of touch with employee wellbeing(in 54 reviews)

  • "hard to achieve work-life balance due to heavy load on works(in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to Work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative, people-first culture with a social conscience. This is a company that truly cares about their employees. Great benefits! Fun place to work. Lots of celebrations, happy hours and so on pre-COVID. Also, focused on giving back to the community - lots of opportunities to get involved. Current focus on diversity and inclusion - not just lip service, but true action plans and employees held accountable to following through.

    Cons

    Gensler is decentralized and very collaborative. Decisions and/or buy-in is needed by many individuals. This means that change is very slow and this lag in ability to make changes results in Gensler being behind the times in some areas (such as paid parental leave).

    Continue reading

    Gensler Response

    January 18, 2021

    Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our people. You and your colleagues are the foundation of our success.

  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    I've learned more and developed my career beyond what I'd ever imagined by joining this firm

    Cons

    Nowhere is perfect, and neither is Gensler. In all things you take the rough with the smooth!

    Gensler Response

    January 11, 2021

    Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our people. You and your colleagues are the foundation of our success


  3. "Big ego and micromanaging"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Job Captain in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    Great resources and international platform

    Cons

    Mid management has big ego, preferential treatment to a small group of people at the expense of the office culture.

    Gensler Response

    January 11, 2021

    Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive and will share your comments with leadership

  4. "good place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Job Captain 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth. Great place to learn. Opportunity to stand out.

    Cons

    Big business mentality, numbers driven. You can easily become just a number yourself.

    Gensler Response

    September 7, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive and will share your comments with leadership .

  5. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    Amazing work culture, innovative projects

    Cons

    There are no cons working for Gensler

    Gensler Response

    July 13, 2020

    Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We value our people and love to hear their perspectives

  6. "A good firm to work for..!!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Provides opportunities to work on different phases of project. You can work on multiple projects at a time. Promotion based on performance. Pays overtime and bonus. Other benefits are good.

    Cons

    Sometimes overloaded with work, so work-life balance is hard.

    Gensler Response

    May 22, 2020

    Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our alumni and wish you all the best in your current and future endeavors.

  7. "Great experience, mixed outcome"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great and open environment with many resources. Opportunity to be involved with many great projects and clients.

    Cons

    Room for growth is limited. One firm firm is the motto, but it only really goes one way. While certain areas are open to development others are close minded and not open to adaptation. People are segmented in cliques and are somewhat cold and not welcoming. Long hours is an unwritten expectation. Hard work is not always acknowledged.

    Continue reading

    Gensler Response

    May 11, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive. Providing honest feedback is critical to supporting our culture and our values of integrity, trust and mutual respect. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the firm’s leadership.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Well known firm but not the culture and environment I thought it would be"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Organized and has many resources - Good benefits compared to others - International opportunity

    Cons

    - Too global and hard to communicate - Been to other Gensler offices and the Toronto culture is not that great - Didn't feel genuinely valued

    Continue reading

    Gensler Response

    September 6, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for the feedback. We treat the concerns of every person at our firm seriously and have a robust system with multiple channels for reporting issues. Encouraging everyone to ask questions and provide honest feedback is critical to supporting our culture, as well as our values of integrity, trust, and mutual respect.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Monotonous and low pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    Impressive client list, the company name bears a lot of weight in the industry and will makes it easy to forge relationships with industry vendors and contractors who are keen to partner with you and the company. Downtown location is great and easy for getting around to meetings. Many invites to special presentations and parties around the city are extended.

    Cons

    Many are stuck on long term projects that are outside the practice area of desire, creating a long term boredom. Overtime is expected, so is unpaid attendance to lunch hour and after work events. You will work on some of the city's top projects, but your pay will not be a reflection of the multi-million dollar budgets allocated. There is a persistent anxiety about staffing, and when management has failed to staff an employee properly, it somehow is unfairly read as a reflection of that designers' skill set or experience being difficult to staff. Training opportunities are better in some studios than others, management and work/life culture varies drastically between studios. Some studio directors being fantastic to the lucky ones in their studio, and others ruling in a Machiavellian way. People who have been there for years are passed over for promotions, which are handed to newly hired people they are convincing to stay.

    Gensler Response

    March 13, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Gensler. We are sorry your time at our firm did not meet all your expectations, and we wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

  10. "Senior Designer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    The benefit of being an employee owned company means that other offices around the globe will collaborate without hesitation.

    Cons

    When someone doesn’t collaborate or communicate regularly with the larger team, they miss the whole point of working for a “one-firm firm”.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,102 English Reviews