Genesis HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Genesis HealthCare Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
48%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Genesis HealthCare CEO George V. Hager Jr.
George V. Hager Jr.
611 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and Benefits, Time Off(in 41 reviews)

  • "Great team work in our department(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "The upper management needs to be more flexible(in 87 reviews)

  • "Large corporations can some times be impersonal for patient care(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Marketing and Admissions in Shillington, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family like environment. I have fantastic co-workers at my location and we all work great as a team. We help eachother out when needed. Residents and their families are all great as well.

    Cons

    Benefits could be a little better, but they're not horrible.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Genesis HealthCare2019-12-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to Work fo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    NO micromanagement. They treat employees with respect and understand that I have a life outside of my work. Flexible schedule is fabulous and they offer a 4 day workweek. Great co-workers that care about their jobs and take pride in their work. My upline supervisor, manager and director are approachable and easy to work with. Really makes me happy to work with and for them.

    Cons

    No negative comments to list.

    Genesis HealthCare2019-12-04
  3. "Happy to be Hiring for Genesis Heatlhcare!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Kennett Square, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible people to work with; Perfect work-life balance offered; The energy is happy and welcoming at every location.

    Cons

    N/A; Everything about this company is amazing!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Genesis HealthCare2019-12-06
  4. "Very Rewarding Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Office Manager in Shillington, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great coworker, teamwork, company cares.

    Cons

    Health is a 365, 24-7 career.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your staff. They have great ideas.

    Genesis HealthCare2019-12-05
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Wyncote, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job flexibility and a sense of team work and accomplishment.

    Cons

    none at this time great place to work for.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the great work

    Genesis HealthCare2019-12-03
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Executive Management in Shillington, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefit of an organized, team driven corporation that is a leader in healthcare and services.

    Cons

    Hiring process can be slower at times--working on streamlining hiring process!

    Genesis HealthCare2019-12-03
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recreation Director in Shillington, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well known company as a proven health care provider

    Cons

    Hiring process is to long

    Genesis HealthCare2019-12-03
  8. "Great opportunity for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cne in Phoenixville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Continued education, training support, home like environment, opportunity for advancement, benefits

    Cons

    Lengthy online training requirements for clinical staff could be better managed with bedside training

    Genesis HealthCare2019-12-03
  9. "I absolutely loved taking care of geriatric patients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Genesis HealthCare

    Pros

    I so loved talking to the old ppl and hearing their stories of how things used to be. I would bake them cookies and muffins because I figure if these old ladies was in they own home n they own kitchens they would be baking so they would love homemade goodies. And they would light up with smiles and hugs when I baked for them.

    Cons

    I hated Always working short handed

    Advice to Management

    Give some incentive to make other workers WANT to come in and work so we ain’t short handed

    Genesis HealthCare2019-11-26
  10. "Slave labor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesis HealthCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Like the people I work with and the residents

    Cons

    Pay is 30% less than other local healthcare providers No pay raise in 4 years New RN walking through the door gets paid more Expensive health insurance and $6500 deductible No matching 401K Disorganized No communication between management and staff Old, dilapidated building and corporate won't approve newer building Confidential complaints made to corporate are not confidential Some holidays taken away -... only 4 paid holidays per year Hard work and above average skills are not rewarded and there are no consequences for poor performance results in lack of motivation

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We are not slave labor and quit treating us as disposable employees. Acknowledge the pride we strive for. Talk to employees when you visit a sight instead of hiding in an office.

    Genesis HealthCare2019-12-12
Found 1662 reviews