General Motors Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

General Motors Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
General Motors CEO Mary Barra
Mary Barra
37 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/Life balance issues requiring consistent 50-60 hour weeks to meet the demands of the job(in 127 reviews)

  • "Be prepared for the possibility of regularly working long hours as well as some stress to keep your head above water(in 98 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controls Engineer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great financial package and cool work. Innovation hub for GM

    Cons

    some processes are slow because of the size of the company

    General Motors2019-05-30

    General Motors Response

    June 12, 2019Talent Social Lead

    We're glad that you are enjoying your time at GM! Thanks for sharing your feedback.

  2. "Good work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Analyst in Oshawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits and pay. Also they allow a good work-life balance.

    Cons

    The management of projects focusing on OTD, regardless of software quality. This causes issues supporting delivered applications.

    General Motors2019-05-31

    General Motors Response

    June 12, 2019Talent Social Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We take all of our reviews seriously.

  3. "Not well managed for its people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Data Analyst in Oshawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors

    Pros

    The location was to home

    Cons

    Managers manage by trying to stay off metrics reports rather than doing what is in the company's best interest.

    General Motors2019-04-26

    General Motors Response

    May 7, 2019Talent Social Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We take our reviews seriously.

  4. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Business Analyst in Oshawa, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at General Motors full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good wages and benefits Working close to home.

      Cons

      Mass layoff due to restructuring.

      Advice to Management

      Review your employees before arbitrarily laying everyone off.

      General Motors2019-04-23

      General Motors Response

      April 24, 2019Talent Social Lead

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for sharing your feedback with us.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Controls Systems Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Control Systems Engineer in Markham, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at General Motors full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Amazing corporate environment in Canada. The team is young, smart, and talented. Work life balance is promoted well and unless a big deadline nears, hours are relatively flexible.

      Cons

      Traditional company and hard to make big changes. There’s a lot going on and you need extensive buy in to make big changes. Rat race to obtain management positions is slowly negatively impacting the corporate culture.

      General Motors2019-04-06

      General Motors Response

      April 10, 2019Talent Social Lead

      Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your time at GM and appreciate your contributions.

    • "Amazing Work Place Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Control Systems Engineer in Markham, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at General Motors full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Amazing work culture, young and enthusiastic team, great benefits, and flexible working hours.

      Cons

      Hard to think of any!

      General Motors2019-04-01

      General Motors Response

      April 10, 2019Talent Social Lead

      We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying your time at GM! :)

    • "Poor Work Life Balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Production Assistant in Ingersoll, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at General Motors full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The pay was good at one time

      Cons

      Multiple tiered pay & benefits No time off

      General Motors2019-03-22
    • "Nice location."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in Oshawa, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at General Motors full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great hq building. Did not have to go in to Toronto. Great gym on site. Great team mates

      Cons

      Made us in house from hp and then let us all go 6 years later. IT is run in silos and one hand often doesn't know what the other is doing. Short sighted strategy with respect to software platforms. Try to implement standardization which with older applications doesn't make sense.

      General Motors2019-02-10

      General Motors Response

      March 18, 2019Talent Social Lead

      Thanks for sharing your feedback and for everything that you do.

    • Helpful (5)

      "Limited Opportunities for Growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous in Oshawa, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at General Motors full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Decent benefits and short commute if you live outside Toronto

      Cons

      Limited opportunity for growth, both in learning experiences and salary/promotions. Small and biased HRM committee decides future of all employees of the company, usually based on opinions and personal agendas, not on merit

      Advice to Management

      Dismantle HRM committee. Define objective and quantitative reasons for raises and promotions. CAP performance evaluations are subjective, meaningless and never truly used to define merit for a promotion. CDPT career planning tool is rarely if ever discussed with employees, then cited as a reason why an employee wasn’t considered for a role since it wasn’t “on their CDPT”.

      General Motors2019-01-11

      General Motors Response

      January 14, 2019Social Media Strategist

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We read all reviews and take them seriously.

    • "Associate Software DEveloper"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at General Motors full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        positive working environment, coworkers are nice and smart

        Cons

        not i can think of

        General Motors2018-12-14

        General Motors Response

        December 19, 2018Social Media Strategist

        Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us!

      Found 97 reviews