General Motors Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

General Motors Reviews

Updated 12 November, 2018
83 reviews

Filter

Filter

Canada - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
General Motors CEO Mary Barra
Mary Barra
27 Ratings

83 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is something you need to be proactive about" (in 109 reviews)

  • "Long Hours, Difficult Commute if not local" (in 86 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Walking the Work Culture Walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Algorithm Engineer in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Algorithm Engineer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    GM has cultivated a work culture of openness, collaboration and innovation. GM's mission of zero emissions, zero congestion, and zero crashes is front and center. It is rewarding to work at a company that prioritizes creating a positive work culture and follows through on its commitments both internal and external.

    Cons

    GM has established a long term focus. To deliver the mobility products and services of the future GM has been investing a lot of resources into expanding its workforce and technical expertise. New hires are expected to play an active part in defining their role within the organization, and are given opportunities to influence the direction of their work and the organization as a whole. Not everyone is suited for this style of professional freedom and responsibility.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your employees.

    General Motors Response

    18 Jun, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We would like to thank you for your contributions to GM and appreciate the feedback!


  2. "A golden platform for your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    1) You are trusted and respected despite your age or experience, you will have several opportunities to showcase your skills.
    2) Management is very good and thorough; positive culture comprised of passionate individuals.
    3) Competitive pay and great work-life balance.
    4) Every department has their own unique way of running things; however, collectively we work together as a family. #OneTeam

    Cons

    There are no cons working for GM Oshawa.

    Advice to Management

    Continue supporting your employees and making changes/adjustments when required in order to drive the organization forward. You have been doing a terrific job thus far.

    General Motors Response

    4 Sep, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We couldn't agree more! We appreciate all your hard work and contributions to GM.

  3. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Engineer in Markham, ON

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay and good working environment

    Cons

    Nothing negative to talk about

    General Motors Response

    5 Nov, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We appreciate everything that you do and your contributions to GM. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your experience so far.


  4. "Fairly good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Ingersoll, ON
    Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Ingersoll, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good, and that's pretty much all on the pro side

    Cons

    Shift work, repetitive work, mandatory overtime.

    General Motors Response

    17 Oct, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for your contributions to GM and for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.


  5. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Test Engineer in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Software Test Engineer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    * Easy work
    * Benefits and Pay is good

    Cons

    * Easy work is sometimes boring

    General Motors Response

    3 Oct, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!


  6. "Co-op internal at General Motors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op in Montreal, QC
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op in Montreal, QC
    Recommends

    I worked at General Motors full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great learning experience. Was given special projects.

    Cons

    A lot of documentation is required.

    Advice to Management

    The culture at GM is great. Keep it going.

    General Motors Response

    3 Oct, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for your contributions to GM and for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear that you had a great experience.


  7. "Great experience so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work environment, less pressure, Friendly people(90%)

    Cons

    Long process and I am just writing because of 5-word limit.

    Advice to Management

    Give some time to a junior developer before judging them.

    General Motors Response

    4 Sep, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your contributions to GM! We're so glad to hear that you are loving your experience so far.

  8. "The best company that I have ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Oshawa, ON
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible, room to grow, open and collaborative, supportive, and great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Large and sometimes difficult to make connections

    General Motors Response

    15 Aug, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for all that you do and for your contributions to GM! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.


  9. "GM Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Current Employee - Environmental Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - capacity for professional growth in various fields within and outside of specialization
    - work-life balance emphasis (rewards for wellness activities, flexible working hours, gyms onsite, healthy lunches)
    - one of Canada's Greenest employers
    - wildlife habitat areas at each work site
    - community partners and opportunities to volunteer
    - Educational credits (to get additional degrees etc)

    Cons

    Workload is extremely high most of the time.

    General Motors Response

    13 Aug, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for all your contributions to GM! We appreciate everything that you do.


  10. "Very happy with new employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Release Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Current Employee - Design Release Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance
    Flexible management and working hours

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy, though that is no surprise considering the size of the company

    General Motors Response

    13 Aug, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for all your contributions to GM! We appreciate everything that you do.


Showing 2,011 of 3,664 reviews
Reset Filters