General Motors Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

General Motors Reviews

Updated 19 September, 2018
80 reviews

Filter

Filter

Canada - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
General Motors CEO Mary Barra
Mary Barra
26 Ratings

80 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is something you need to be proactive about" (in 107 reviews)

  • "long hours are expected (only negative for those that don't prefer overtime)" (in 89 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Walking the Work Culture Walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Algorithm Engineer in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Algorithm Engineer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    GM has cultivated a work culture of openness, collaboration and innovation. GM's mission of zero emissions, zero congestion, and zero crashes is front and center. It is rewarding to work at a company that prioritizes creating a positive work culture and follows through on its commitments both internal and external.

    Cons

    GM has established a long term focus. To deliver the mobility products and services of the future GM has been investing a lot of resources into expanding its workforce and technical expertise. New hires are expected to play an active part in defining their role within the organization, and are given opportunities to influence the direction of their work and the organization as a whole. Not everyone is suited for this style of professional freedom and responsibility.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your employees.

    General Motors Response

    18 Jun, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We would like to thank you for your contributions to GM and appreciate the feedback!


  2. "A golden platform for your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    1) You are trusted and respected despite your age or experience, you will have several opportunities to showcase your skills.
    2) Management is very good and thorough; positive culture comprised of passionate individuals.
    3) Competitive pay and great work-life balance.
    4) Every department has their own unique way of running things; however, collectively we work together as a family. #OneTeam

    Cons

    There are no cons working for GM Oshawa.

    Advice to Management

    Continue supporting your employees and making changes/adjustments when required in order to drive the organization forward. You have been doing a terrific job thus far.

    General Motors Response

    4 Sep, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We couldn't agree more! We appreciate all your hard work and contributions to GM.

  3. "Great experience so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work environment, less pressure, Friendly people(90%)

    Cons

    Long process and I am just writing because of 5-word limit.

    Advice to Management

    Give some time to a junior developer before judging them.

    General Motors Response

    4 Sep, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your contributions to GM! We're so glad to hear that you are loving your experience so far.


  4. "The best company that I have ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Oshawa, ON
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible, room to grow, open and collaborative, supportive, and great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Large and sometimes difficult to make connections

    General Motors Response

    15 Aug, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for all that you do and for your contributions to GM! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.


  5. "GM Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Current Employee - Environmental Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - capacity for professional growth in various fields within and outside of specialization
    - work-life balance emphasis (rewards for wellness activities, flexible working hours, gyms onsite, healthy lunches)
    - one of Canada's Greenest employers
    - wildlife habitat areas at each work site
    - community partners and opportunities to volunteer
    - Educational credits (to get additional degrees etc)

    Cons

    Workload is extremely high most of the time.

    General Motors Response

    13 Aug, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for all your contributions to GM! We appreciate everything that you do.


  6. "Very happy with new employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Release Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Current Employee - Design Release Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance
    Flexible management and working hours

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy, though that is no surprise considering the size of the company

    General Motors Response

    13 Aug, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for all your contributions to GM! We appreciate everything that you do.


  7. "Controls Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controls Engineer in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Controls Engineer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Innovative, multicultural and diverse environment

    Cons

    long hours of working in a day

    General Motors Response

    13 Aug, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Manager, CTC Markham location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Smart, collaborative people with many opportunities to innovate. High tech, cutting edge development is happening right now at this location. Culture is very diverse and inclusive. Beautiful facility in Markham, Ontario, Canada.

    Cons

    The Markham location is not on a subway line, (but there is a free shuttle to and from Don Mills TTC Subway Station).

    General Motors Response

    30 Jul, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    We're glad to hear that you are enjoying your experience so far! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for all of your contributions to GM.


  9. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON

    I worked at General Motors full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    General Motors good place to work, less work load

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to grow

    General Motors Response

    8 Aug, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!


  10. "Great potential & opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technology Specialist in Oshawa, ON
    Current Employee - Senior Technology Specialist in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities especially during this growth period that GM Canada is going through
    Management actually cares about personal and career development of their employees

    Cons

    GM is a big ship, so change doesn't come easy but with enough effort and connections, it's possible

    Advice to Management

    GM is too hierarchical which makes it hard to get things done that are cross-functional but essential

    General Motors Response

    4 Jul, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for all your contributions to GM!


Showing 1,998 of 3,592 reviews
Reset Filters