General Motors Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

General Motors Reviews

Updated 23 January, 2019
89 reviews

Filter

Filter

Canada - All Cities

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
General Motors CEO Mary Barra
Mary Barra
32 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great work/life balance, lots of advancement opportunities, plenty of challenging things to work on" (in 297 reviews)

  • "Pay and benefits they care about their employees" (in 93 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is something you need to be proactive about" (in 112 reviews)

  • "Long Hours, Difficult Commute if not local" (in 90 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Walking the Work Culture Walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Algorithm Engineer in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Algorithm Engineer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    GM has cultivated a work culture of openness, collaboration and innovation. GM's mission of zero emissions, zero congestion, and zero crashes is front and center. It is rewarding to work at a company that prioritizes creating a positive work culture and follows through on its commitments both internal and external.

    Cons

    GM has established a long term focus. To deliver the mobility products and services of the future GM has been investing a lot of resources into expanding its workforce and technical expertise. New hires are expected to play an active part in defining their role within the organization, and are given opportunities to influence the direction of their work and the organization as a whole. Not everyone is suited for this style of professional freedom and responsibility.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your employees.

    General Motors Response

    18 Jun, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We would like to thank you for your contributions to GM and appreciate the feedback!


  2. "Senior Control Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vehicle Dynamics Lead in Oshawa, ON
    Current Employee - Vehicle Dynamics Lead in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    task ownership. mentoring. working hours. bonuses. perks

    Cons

    r&d spread across geographies. sub-optimal ROI on r&d.

    Advice to Management

    Avoid cannibalism by trimming the sub-brands product lines and improving volumes of each model

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Limited Opportunities for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Oshawa, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Oshawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Decent benefits and short commute if you live outside Toronto

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for growth, both in learning experiences and salary/promotions. Small and biased HRM committee decides future of all employees of the company, usually based on opinions and personal agendas, not on merit

    Advice to Management

    Dismantle HRM committee. Define objective and quantitative reasons for raises and promotions. CAP performance evaluations are subjective, meaningless and never truly used to define merit for a promotion. CDPT career planning tool is rarely if ever discussed with employees, then cited as a reason why an employee wasn’t considered for a role since it wasn’t “on their CDPT”.

    General Motors Response

    14 Jan, 2019 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We read all reviews and take them seriously.


  4. "Associate Software DEveloper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    positive working environment, coworkers are nice and smart

    Cons

    not i can think of

    General Motors Response

    19 Dec, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us!


  5. "Skilled Trades"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multi - Skilled Tradesperson - Certified in Toronto, ON
    Current Employee - Multi - Skilled Tradesperson - Certified in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great Pay and Good Work Experiences

    Cons

    Terrible at being open, transparent and lack of Honesty in Upper Management

    Advice to Management

    People matter. Your costumers are the people who buy your products not Shareholders. Your employees are people too.

    General Motors Response

    3 Jan, 2019 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We read all of our reviews and take them seriously. We appreciate everything that you do. Thank you for your contributions to GM over... More


  6. "Enjoyable job and compensated well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Lots of freedom in carrying out tasks and with project work.
    The work is always interesting and days go by quickly with lots to do.
    Many learning opportunities if willing to find them or create them for yourself. Compensation is great!

    Cons

    Purchasing parts/material not as straightforward as it should be and often becomes the hold-up in executing work.
    Future of the plant is always unknown and many external factors play into this.
    Work/life balance can be a challenge at times.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage a better work/life balance and provide support to make it happen

    General Motors Response

    4 Dec, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate everything that you do for GM and thank you for your contributions!


  7. "Work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good working environment
    Lots of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Nothing I could think of!

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    General Motors Response

    26 Nov, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

  8. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Engineer in Markham, ON

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay and good working environment

    Cons

    Nothing negative to talk about

    General Motors Response

    5 Nov, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We appreciate everything that you do and your contributions to GM. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your experience so far.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Information Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Specialist in St. Catharines, ON
    Current Employee - Information Technology Specialist in St. Catharines, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Benefits are good.

    Cons

    Upper management is in control of everything. Lower management has 0 ability to do anything. Therefore, it's impossible to make a difference by working hard and going above and beyond expectations.

    General Motors Response

    29 Nov, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We read all of our reviews and take them seriously.


  10. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Test Engineer in Markham, ON
    Current Employee - Software Test Engineer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    * Easy work
    * Benefits and Pay is good

    Cons

    * Easy work is sometimes boring

    General Motors Response

    3 Oct, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!