General Motors (GM) "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

General Motors (GM) Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
58%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
General Motors (GM) CEO Mary Barra
Mary Barra
71 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Development Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation, work life balance

    Cons

    ..... ... ... ... ...

    General Motors (GM)2020-02-06
  2. "The best place to work in Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Control Systems Engineer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Work-Life balance Great benefits Competitive Salary Friendly and Supportive Colleagues Get to work on new and exciting things

    Cons

    None that I have seen so far

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-12-03
  3. "Interesting jobs but can be slightly dangerous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good wages, great people, fun team leaders, 8 hour shifts

    Cons

    Stressful, hard work life balance, shifts, safety hazards

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-11-04

    General Motors (GM) Response

    November 11, 2019Talent Social Lead

    We appreciate the feedback thank you!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Great Work Life Balance, But"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great work environment with 'open office space' - Collaborative environment, everyone here is extremely friendly (except for infotainment, but that's just mini-China in it's own bubble) - Great work-life balance, you could probably play pool and Foosball all day if you wanted - Great place to spend the rest of your life if you have a family

    Cons

    - Non-existential career development, lots of talk, but no action - Dated tech stack, expect to fight with GM's tools before getting any productivity out of them - Expect to be pidgeon-holed to a very specific role and excel in it. Very much 'Cog' in the machine feeling although it may not look like it - This "Red tape" you hear of is especially true here. Good luck pushing 1 line of code without scrutiny from your boss, your bosses boss, possible affected bosses, and coworkers. - Agile is nonexistent here, though they like to dress it up like it is. It's waterfall design is starting to become dated and it shows in their software process - Managers managing other managers who manage their employees. Great autonomy though, but unnecessary middle management is a big thing here. - Prepare to play office politics if you want to make it here. - Lots of underutilized potential employees. I see so many brilliant minds squandered on battling politics and working on non-value added tasks here

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-09-26

    General Motors (GM) Response

    November 11, 2019Talent Social Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for your contributions to GM. We appreciate it!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "1 - Year Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The place has beautiful interior designs. Bright and doesn't feel like a prison. The open concept seating makes it easier to talk with everyone. Lots of clubs and social activities to take part in. No micromanagement from the managers. Amazing work life balance. Pool/foozball tables to chill out with your pals

    Cons

    Infotainment needs more diversity. There's a lot of people speaking mandarin and if you don't speak Chinese you feel left out.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-06-21

    General Motors (GM) Response

    July 17, 2019Talent Social Lead

    We're so glad that you're enjoying your time with us! Thank you for the feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Analyst in Oshawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits and pay. Also they allow a good work-life balance.

    Cons

    The management of projects focusing on OTD, regardless of software quality. This causes issues supporting delivered applications.

    General Motors (GM)2019-05-31

    General Motors (GM) Response

    June 12, 2019Talent Social Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We take all of our reviews seriously.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Controls Systems Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Control Systems Engineer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing corporate environment in Canada. The team is young, smart, and talented. Work life balance is promoted well and unless a big deadline nears, hours are relatively flexible.

    Cons

    Traditional company and hard to make big changes. There’s a lot going on and you need extensive buy in to make big changes. Rat race to obtain management positions is slowly negatively impacting the corporate culture.

    General Motors (GM)2019-04-06

    General Motors (GM) Response

    April 10, 2019Talent Social Lead

    Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your time at GM and appreciate your contributions.

    Continue reading
  8. "Enjoyable job and compensated well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of freedom in carrying out tasks and with project work. The work is always interesting and days go by quickly with lots to do. Many learning opportunities if willing to find them or create them for yourself. Compensation is great!

    Cons

    Purchasing parts/material not as straightforward as it should be and often becomes the hold-up in executing work. Future of the plant is always unknown and many external factors play into this. Work/life balance can be a challenge at times.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2018-12-01

    General Motors (GM) Response

    December 4, 2018Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate everything that you do for GM and thank you for your contributions!

    Continue reading
  9. "A golden platform for your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) You are trusted and respected despite your age or experience, you will have several opportunities to showcase your skills. 2) Management is very good and thorough; positive culture comprised of passionate individuals. 3) Competitive pay and great work-life balance. 4) Every department has their own unique way of running things; however, collectively we work together as a family. #OneTeam

    Cons

    There are no cons working for GM Oshawa.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2018-08-30

    General Motors (GM) Response

    September 4, 2018Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We couldn't agree more! We appreciate all your hard work and contributions to GM.

    Continue reading
  10. "The best company that I have ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Analyst in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, room to grow, open and collaborative, supportive, and great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Large and sometimes difficult to make connections

    General Motors (GM)2018-08-14

    General Motors (GM) Response

    August 15, 2018Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for all that you do and for your contributions to GM! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 342 reviews