General Motors (GM) Senior Engineer Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
General Motors (GM) CEO Mary Barra
Mary Barra
2 Ratings
  1. "Good Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Time Flexibility and work culture

    Cons

    Too big a company to care

    General Motors (GM)2019-06-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Ok Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great retirement benefits, great work life balance.

    Cons

    Too much process, No incentives for team building, no freedom to innovate

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-06-11
  3. "trying to get rid of older employee"

    3.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Milford, MI

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, good bonus

    Cons

    job is not secure, too much politics

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-06-13
  4. "Mixed Feelings"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Knowledge Base is HUMONGOUS Job Satisfaction is guaranteed Every information and processes are very well documented and are accessible Cross functional work is good

    Cons

    Its never a Pay Master-Average hikes and appraisals which doesn't match the efforts kept No Career Growth, all the higher layers are stagnated... Management is not that great,can do better Pay scale is not even for the same grade engineers in the same team even though, joined at the same time.. Don't know how HR manages this NEVER takes care of Market correction, HR/ Finance never reveal this info, they just pass on saying its taken care Accomodates the dissolved groups and high level managers into other domains and most of them don't work, they just boss around

    General Motors (GM)2019-05-24
  5. "Poor treatment of employees"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior QA Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wide variety of work and opportunities to work cross functionally

    Cons

    The work environment here in Austin is not so good. There is definitely preferential treatment given to the swath of people who joined it in 2012 and newer hires are often treated like 2nd class citizens.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-06-09
  6. "Innovative work environment with lots of opportunity!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Limerick, Limerick
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with GM in Limerick for the past 5 years , I have worked and grown as a developer across many teams as the site has. Delivering on your commitments is rewarded with opportunity to progress your career and knowledge. Standard benefits , very active S&S committee and friendly co workers. Flexitime for non operational teams .

    Cons

    Salary lower than market rates No free coffee Holidays increased to 25 + 2 after 5 yrs

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-05-14

    General Motors (GM) Response

    May 15, 2019Talent Media Lead

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a thorough review of your experience and your advice.

  7. "My experience at gm"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Roswell, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefit, relaxed environment, paid time off

    Cons

    Bureaucratic in project management, top down structure

    General Motors (GM)2019-05-13
  8. "A decent place to work at but definitely not the best"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior CAE Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work culture. Average compensation. Company really cares about employee's safety

    Cons

    Work-life balance should be improved Career growth rate is very slow Fresher salaries are very low.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-05-11
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Schockingly Bad"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wages are good, decent 401k

    Cons

    Management seems a bit clueless, trying to make iconic car company into tech company using the wrong tech leadership.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-05-24
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Stay Away! They don't offer free coffee let alone Flexibility & Work Life balance!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Their salary is OK but not competitive in market.

    Cons

    - As of May 2019, all the software engineers & developers have to take production support 24 hours and that pissed off lots of developers and lots of them already quit - No growth. I have been working as Senior software engineers for 4 years and I did not see anybody promoted within. - They do not offer free coffee. You have to bring your own or pay them $80 for 6 months - Their cafeteria food is very expensive, i.e. $12 for burger alone. - Every year, you have to achieve 70% of your bonus, otherwise you will land in Performance Improvement Plan (PFI). No second chance available, if you land in PFI again. - I know lots of good developers being force to quit because of PFI. Your manager have to like you to avoid PFI. Too many favoritism involved. - ZERO work from home/Flexibility availability. You must be in office - They have laid off 40% of the workforce in February (search the GM news). They have been boasting about laid-off since October, that led many GM employee to quit in fear of laid-off. - One month after massive layoff, they are massive hiring and I see 40+ position opening. - If you are in project for over a year, and you decide to change manager/project, its super hectic to get approval from your current manager. - Absolutely no work life balance after they announced that everybody have to do 24/7 Production Support.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-05-16

    General Motors (GM) Response

    June 4, 2019Talent Media Lead

    Good feedback and thanks for your post. We competitively benchmark our pay scale once a year prior to our pay planning cycle. We take into account things like experience, unique technical skills, and local cost of living as we index our compensation to make GM an attractive place to work from both a career and a financial perspective. As you embark on your career at GM, I'm confident you'll find that the total compensation (including salary, benefits, and 401K) is one of the most aggressive in the industry. There's also a lot of unique perks including vehicle programs that can put you behind the wheel of some of the finest vehicles in the world at reduced or no costs. You're right, there's no free coffee or lunches but we believe that we offer some of the most competitive compensation in the industry.

Found 210 reviews