General Motors (GM) Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

General Motors (GM) Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
46%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
General Motors (GM) CEO Mary Barra
Mary Barra
49 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controls Engineer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great financial package and cool work. Innovation hub for GM

    Cons

    some processes are slow because of the size of the company

    General Motors (GM)2019-05-30

    General Motors (GM) Response

    June 12, 2019Talent Social Lead

    We're glad that you are enjoying your time at GM! Thanks for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  2. "Amazing Work Place Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Control Systems Engineer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work culture, young and enthusiastic team, great benefits, and flexible working hours.

    Cons

    Hard to think of any!

    General Motors (GM)2019-04-01

    General Motors (GM) Response

    April 10, 2019Talent Social Lead

    We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying your time at GM! :)

    Continue reading
  3. "Loved working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembly Line in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked along side were so friendly, very happy employees. Benefits were amazing as well as pay

    Cons

    I seriously have no cons from my experience and time working at General Motors

    General Motors (GM)2019-11-07

    General Motors (GM) Response

    November 11, 2019Talent Social Lead

    Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time working with us! :)

    Continue reading
  4. "Great place until it closed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director Materials Management in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tight knit team that was capable of building high quality trucks in a safe environment.

    Cons

    Central office can be a hinderance to rapid changes.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-11-07

    General Motors (GM) Response

    November 11, 2019Talent Social Lead

    Thank you for all of your contributions to GM and for taking the time to share your experience.

    Continue reading
  5. "Interesting jobs but can be slightly dangerous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good wages, great people, fun team leaders, 8 hour shifts

    Cons

    Stressful, hard work life balance, shifts, safety hazards

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-11-04

    General Motors (GM) Response

    November 11, 2019Talent Social Lead

    We appreciate the feedback thank you!

    Continue reading
  6. "Challenging Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for, salary and benefit

    Cons

    Very competitive environment, constant innovation of products required

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-10-28

    General Motors (GM) Response

    November 11, 2019Talent Social Lead

    We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us!

    Continue reading
  7. "Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oshawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay , benefits, pension, great supervisor

    Cons

    Job security, loss of jobs in Canada

    General Motors (GM)2019-10-29

    General Motors (GM) Response

    November 11, 2019Talent Social Lead

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Great Work Life Balance, But"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great work environment with 'open office space' - Collaborative environment, everyone here is extremely friendly (except for infotainment, but that's just mini-China in it's own bubble) - Great work-life balance, you could probably play pool and Foosball all day if you wanted - Great place to spend the rest of your life if you have a family

    Cons

    - Non-existential career development, lots of talk, but no action - Dated tech stack, expect to fight with GM's tools before getting any productivity out of them - Expect to be pidgeon-holed to a very specific role and excel in it. Very much 'Cog' in the machine feeling although it may not look like it - This "Red tape" you hear of is especially true here. Good luck pushing 1 line of code without scrutiny from your boss, your bosses boss, possible affected bosses, and coworkers. - Agile is nonexistent here, though they like to dress it up like it is. It's waterfall design is starting to become dated and it shows in their software process - Managers managing other managers who manage their employees. Great autonomy though, but unnecessary middle management is a big thing here. - Prepare to play office politics if you want to make it here. - Lots of underutilized potential employees. I see so many brilliant minds squandered on battling politics and working on non-value added tasks here

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-09-26

    General Motors (GM) Response

    November 11, 2019Talent Social Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for your contributions to GM. We appreciate it!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Omni-shambles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controls Engineer in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are pretty awesome people Company brand name is pretty prestigious Lots of press about being a 'tech' company

    Cons

    Inexperienced & untrained managers trying to manage things that they have no clue about Certain processes are massively changing - chaotic and in complete flux on a week by week basis for the last year and a bit, with no clear end in sight making delivery of projects very difficult and time consuming Respectful work policy -> Be careful what you say about China. Make someone uncomfortable about China, prepare for your performance to be questioned, for normal job privileges to be revoked, and for life to become difficult Worry and anxiety drive decisions instead of data or information No tools or resources to verify design decisions Meetings, endless meetings: every single thing is answered by having more meetings with more people to have more discussions.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-10-22

    General Motors (GM) Response

    November 11, 2019Talent Social Lead

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Control Associate in Oshawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - nice people to work with

    Cons

    - moved to mexico - lost jobs

    General Motors (GM)2019-09-29

    General Motors (GM) Response

    November 11, 2019Talent Social Lead

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

    Continue reading
Found 112 reviews