General Motors (GM) Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

General Motors (GM) Project Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
General Motors (GM) CEO Mary Barra
Mary Barra
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Manager, CTC Markham location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart, collaborative people with many opportunities to innovate. High tech, cutting edge development is happening right now at this location. Culture is very diverse and inclusive. Beautiful facility in Markham, Ontario, Canada.

    Cons

    The Markham location is not on a subway line, (but there is a free shuttle to and from Don Mills TTC Subway Station).

    General Motors (GM)2018-07-22

    General Motors (GM) Response

    July 30, 2018Social Media Strategist

    We're glad to hear that you are enjoying your experience so far! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for all of your contributions to GM.

    Continue reading
  2. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM)

    Pros

    Job Satisfaction, Good Salary and a good atmosphere. I like the creative freedom I am able to exhibit. Discounts on cars as well.

    Cons

    Ofter is is difficult to get peoples attention in Detroit. Long hours, low raises and when the economy is struggling layoffs.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2010-10-16
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Washington, DC

    I worked at General Motors (GM) for less than a year

    Pros

    I would say it is a good place to work

    Cons

    Nothing to be added in this section

    General Motors (GM)2020-02-26
  4. "GM Has been a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits and compensation are great! There has been a sense of stability even in a tough market. If you are a dedicated worker who has the ability to work cross functionally you will excel.

    Cons

    Cultures change deep within business units and movement can be difficult at times.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2020-02-13
  5. Helpful (4)

    "General Motors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. I certainly enjoyed working with my co-workers. I have built relationship and friendship with many that I still maintained to date. 2. More than average work and life balance.

    Cons

    1. Low pay compare to similar industry. 2. With all the profit and tax incentives that General Motors gained over the years, the company is still at a brink of bankruptcy due to the executives/management self allocating wealth for themselves and spending miss management at the very top. 3. The workplace culture at GM was merely a fraternity of white managers who only seek to elevate those that shared similar ethnicity. While diversity, and especially within the IT Innovation team is a joke! The leadership and management absolutely have not a single person of color man or woman at the top leadership position. If you are looking for an organization to make a paycheck then sure the GM IT organization will be ideal. However, if advancement into a leadership role is your priority, that GM IT is not the workplace of choice that I would recommend.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-12-12
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Horrible Incompetant leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    GM itself is a great company and with the right management and fair treatment can excel

    Cons

    There is no true appreciation of talent, you can work weekends, nights and take away from your family and never a thank you or recognition. Poor under qualified crony managers ( previously fired from Dell) find ways to fault and grade as this come from their top leader making room for her friends and bonus opportunities

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-09-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Warren, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonuses and benefits, along with company brand name.

    Cons

    Overworked, no work life balance, little regard for family commitments

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-08-02
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Ingenious Business and Information Technology leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager/Implementation Consultant in Warren, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Location, 401K matching, cars, Detroit

    Cons

    GM itselfs, layoffs, stuck careers all over the place

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-07-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "IT in transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Austin, TX

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits. Interesting work. Trying to become more of a technology company

    Cons

    Disorganized, if you're not from HP or Dell you'll have a harder time getting into leadership.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-07-08
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Dont bother if you are not in Austin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Roswell, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really liked the relaxed atmosphere in Roswell. Benefits are very generous

    Cons

    Decisions are made centrally in a vacuum. Not open to any ideas that generate outside of HQ

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-07-02
Found 52 reviews