General Dynamics Mission Systems Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 1,474 reviews

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Mission Systems President  Chris Brady
Chris Brady
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company also head a great work/life balance(in 101 reviews)

  • "Work-Life Balance and 9/80 schedule(in 91 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Management / Upper management don't really seem to have a good grasp on the programs that they're managing(in 47 reviews)

  • "Senior management poor relationship with employees(in 31 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Morale not great

      Feb 19, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work when there is work. Most employees are easy to get along with and knowledgeable in their fields. Benefits are decent.

      Cons

      Upper management does not plan far enough ahead. Company is in the process of outsourcing factory workers, engineers, designers etc. Layoffs for years which has caused horrific morale.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Excellent Company, Keep Innovating!

      Nov 7, 2021 - Software Engineer in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Innovative company, tries its best to care for its people. Great managers, nice tech stacks.

      Cons

      Upper management slow to change, pay could be better/more competitive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      Account Manager - Digital Strategy

      While we review our compensation packages every year, we understand that processes can be improved. Hearing from our team like this, former or present, helps us continue to learn more. Thank you.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good to get your foot in the door

      Oct 27, 2021 - Software Engineer in Bloomington, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work/Life balance - Decent starting pay - Enjoyable environment. Though, one could argue that this depends on the team you're working on.

      Cons

      - As others have said, your experience depends heavily on the project that you're working on. - Pay raises / promotions are few and far between. There is a good chance you will receive a good review at the end of the year and not get a promotion or a raise. - Management / Upper management don't really seem to have a good grasp on the programs that they're managing. - Tech stack is incredibly dated. The experience you get will feel useless depending on the program you're on.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      Account Manager - Digital Strategy

      We know that as a large organization working on the most advanced technologies, things will take time and teams will continue to build. We’re committed to improving – for the better. New ideas are welcome here so please share how we could help make improvements by emailing us at TalentSupply@gd-ms.com. We appreciate all ideas and feedback!

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Pay raise no good, bad management

      Sep 1, 2021 - Quality Technician in Bloomington, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing is good besides flexibility time.

      Cons

      Bad management change every 2 years No room for potential growth unless you know the upper management and very favoritism No more the fifty cents increase yearly No career advancement, hard to ask for help with school Not team player, they only cares about number

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      Managing Director

      If we only had positive feedback from employees, nothing would change. So, thank you for telling us what you’ve experienced. We take it seriously because we want General Dynamics Mission Systems to be a career destination for the very best. Change is a good thing and the only way to make changes is to understand where you’re falling short of expectations. If you are open to talking more about your experiences, please contact us at TalentSupply@gd-ms.com

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Decent place to work

      Oct 22, 2020 - Laminator/Fabricator in Marion, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Top pay for area, have union representation, benefits are decent.

      Cons

      Upper management drama and backstabbing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      CCO

      We appreciate your commitment to General Dynamics Mission Systems and the feedback you provided. Professional development and leadership training are ongoing commitments for us. If you have specific ideas or feedback, we would love to hear from you. Email us at TalentSupply@gd-ms.com. Thank you!

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Only good if you work in upper management

      Oct 26, 2020 - Project Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good if you're in upper management or if you want to have no life and just work all the time

      Cons

      It's all about who you know and if your boss likes you. There is always the mentality that the sky is falling and everyone must dig deeper. Forget about getting a promotion....ever. Bonuses are only for the very favored few... and if they tell you you were selected to get one, don't get too excited. Something will come up with a budget defecit that year. You won't end up getting your bonus but upper management will. Ironic!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

      CCO

      If we only had positive feedback from employees, nothing would change. So, thank you for telling us what you’ve experienced. We take it seriously because we want General Dynamics Mission Systems to be a career destination for the very best. Change is a good thing and the only way to make changes is to understand where you’re falling short of expectations. If you are open to talking more about your experiences, please contact us at TalentSupply@gd-ms.com

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Know where your area is headed...

      Feb 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Annapolis Junction, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work-life balance, very flexible (depending on where you work), opportunities to travel available

      Cons

      People don't know where their job stands when they fire upper management or relocate them. Those that work under them are left confused and lack motivation.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      I love my job!

      Aug 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My direct management is awesome! Open communication among my direct management and peers. I have opportunities to voice my opinions and concerns. There is respect and trust.

      Cons

      Upper management, at times, can be or give the appearance of draconian dictation. This is getting better and the reigns are starting to be relaxed, but decision making at the lower level is still heavily scrutinized.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Contracts Manager

      Mar 16, 2017 - Contracts Manager in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company with incredibly competent leadership at the highest levels. The Contracts team based out of Scottsdale, AZ is also ran incredibly well. They had my back and valued my input. Overall the company is a good place to be, particularly if you support our military and want to work on programs that protect our country.

      Cons

      The satellite office I worked at was under constant transition. Though we had direction from "up-top", it seemed like office management did their best to turn non-issues into big customer problems because of lack of trust between departments. Upper management was aware of bickering and did not keep score (major plus).

      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Out after 9 years.

      Mar 15, 2017 - Logistics Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good people to work with. Benefits are good. PTO is good as well.

      Cons

      No possibility for promotion unless you smooch the right rears. Upper management is a joke. This location is inconvenient. It is everyone for themselves mentality. This place is the worse.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews

    Popular Careers with General Dynamics Mission Systems Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at General Dynamics Mission Systems? Share Your Experiences

    General Dynamics Mission Systems logo
    or