General Atomics Engineer III Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

General Atomics Engineer III Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
General Atomics CEO Neal Blue
Neal Blue
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Engineer III. Pretty good overall."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer III in Poway, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Atomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Facilities are nice. Location in Poway is nice. Management seemed fine for the most part. Work pace is nice. Variety of work was nice.

    Cons

    Communication between departments was utterly missing. People were too reluctant or non responsive to help you on a project if their boss didn't approve of a Job Number first. Even a couple easy questions. So i was basically on my own for several projects where I wasn't a subject matter expert. Very weird isolation.

    General Atomics2017-06-22
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer III in Poway, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Atomics

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere, Poway is a great city, facilities are nice. If you get your job done and don't complain much then you will be on management's good side.

    Cons

    The organizational structure is confusing. There was recently (early 2016) a round of promotions where it seemed like everyone was made a director. Possibly too many chiefs? It seems to be really hard to fire an employee (this might be a pro?) I know a coworker who falls asleep at work regularly. You can tell because you can hear his snores. This happened daily for almost a year and management did nothing about it...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to motivate employees and reward good employees to prevent high turnover rates. Pay good employees what they're worth.

    General Atomics2016-08-07

    General Atomics Response

    October 4, 2016System Administrator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate the feedback and regret that you had this experience with General Atomics and affiliated companies. We encourage you to reach out in order to further discuss your concerns. Please feel free to call our anonymous support ...

    Show More
  3. "Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer III in Poway, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Highly technical management makes for an excellent learning environment especially for young engineers. Senior staff is always willing to teach and mentor. Never felt a sense of competition among coworkers. Everyone seems to work well as a team to complete projects.

    Cons

    Not the greatest pay. Could use more team building activities.

    General Atomics2016-07-03
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Average company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer III in Rancho Bernardo, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Atomics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very good pay, benefits, pension, etc. Interesting technical work.

    Cons

    Archaic management style. Not much a meritocracy

    General Atomics2015-09-11
  5. "title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer III in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Atomics full-time

    Pros

    Cool high tech projects, great location, autonomous & unstructured work environment, tons of opporunities to learn

    Cons

    Sometimes you get yanked from project to project, depending on which contracts are hot. Also there are inefficiencies in procurement and subcontracts that can be frustrating when you are trying to make things happen

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on dedicating overhead funds to training and developing your existing employees. Re-evaluate your employee evaluation and incentive scheme.

    General Atomics2015-08-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer III in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Immediate colleagues are great people, some very technically knowledgeable.

    Cons

    not flexible on leave, working from home, or managing work/life balance. No overtime pay as a defense contractor, the few days between Christmas and New Years are "optional work days" and you are required to use CAL, paid time off, or work those days, unlike most other defense contractors I've worked for. BAD MANAGEMENT. There are far too many levels of management, and the management does NOT know what they are doing...

    Show More
    General Atomics2015-08-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Engineer 3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer III in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting work in an interesting field. The UASs are continuing to be developed for various customers.

    Cons

    There is very little chance for promotion. Hard work is not recognized and the overall moral at the company has been declining.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within.

    General Atomics2015-06-11
  8. "Engineer III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer III in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good location (San Diego).

    Cons

    Compensation can be quite poor given the expensive cost of living in san diego.

    Advice to Management

    None at the moment.

    General Atomics2015-04-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome product. Could take care of employees better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer III in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work/Life balance, flexibility, 9/80 schedule, comfortable environment.

    Cons

    Advancement difficult, compensation below national averages, promotion seems more normalized with no incentive for performance.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring more employees when merits are low every year. Give more responsibilities to existing employees and give them an opportunity to move up instead of hiring in new employees to fill gaps in mid-high level positions.

    General Atomics2015-02-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work but depends on what group you're in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer III in San Diego, CA
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at General Atomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful campus, gym and pool on campus for employees. Great people there, smart and friendly

    Cons

    Too much bureaucracy and red tape to get things done sometimes. Also owners are very fickle about which programs to continue funding after contracts are over. Lots of reorganizations in short amount of time, so hard to be sure of your groups stability/funding

    General Atomics2013-03-27
Found 10 reviews