Gateway Casinos Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Gateway Casinos Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
50%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Gateway Casinos CEO Tony Santo
Tony Santo
67 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes the pace can be disruptive to the work/life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "Managers under too much pressure from the head office in Vancouver so either quit or ask too much of staff (until they quit)(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Sous Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gateway Casinos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good team and good place

    Cons

    few of the management is not full training for theirs position, need be more learning how to handle jobs.

    Continue reading
    Gateway Casinos2020-02-17
  2. "Friendly Co-workers and Nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Kamloops, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gateway Casinos part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone was really nice and willing to help when I needed it, you can make good money with the tips you get.

    Cons

    The hours are a little inconvenient.

    Gateway Casinos2020-03-27
  3. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gateway Casinos part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Friendly environment -Flexible Shift - Nice co workers

    Cons

    - Bad Management - Unorganized

    Gateway Casinos2020-03-13
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gateway Casinos full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The People good team and willing to help each other. Happy environment.

    Cons

    Better salaries and RRSP and hire too many managers with little or no experience.

    Continue reading
    Gateway Casinos2020-03-06
  5. "It's a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Hanover, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gateway Casinos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a great positive workplace

    Cons

    I dont think there are any

    Gateway Casinos2020-02-01
  6. "heavy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gateway Casinos part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good place to work happy p[lace

    Cons

    low salary nothing more only that

    Gateway Casinos2020-01-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Orillia, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gateway Casinos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent once you get to full rate

    Cons

    Shifts often cancelled, outlet hours constantly changing, seems to be no pride from the top down anymore

    Continue reading
    Gateway Casinos2020-02-12
  8. "Opportunity and Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gateway Casinos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Your career is in your own hands. If you want to take on new opportunities in your career, then this company is for you!

    Cons

    There are frequent changes that do happen. However, change isn’t necessarily a negative, just needs to be dealt with properly.

    Gateway Casinos2019-12-31
  9. "Good onboarding experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gateway Casinos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People in HR and the corporate management really demonstrated warm and welcoming attitude as I started my employment at Gateway Casinos. My team is nice and caring of each other. So far, so good.

    Cons

    So far nothing was problematic.

    Gateway Casinos2019-12-02
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second Cook in Langley, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gateway Casinos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule nice coworkers friendly

    Cons

    No paying full amount on time

    Gateway Casinos2019-11-30
Found 148 reviews