Gannett Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Gannett Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Gannett CEO Paul Bascobert
Paul Bascobert
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with that want to accomplish tasks and see the business be successful(in 61 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance, relaxed office culture, good benefits(in 58 reviews)

Cons
  • "Instability in the newspaper industry(in 106 reviews)

  • "Upper management doesn't care about employees as much as they should/Act as we are disposable(in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Gannett full-time

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, fun staff and good compensation

    Cons

    lack of communication between departments

    Gannett2019-04-24
  2. "Recent merger with Gatehouse Media"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Copy Editor/Page Designer in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Gannett full-time

    Pros

    Some positions are able to be done working from home.

    Cons

    Poor hours for my position shift, which goes until midnight or later.

    Gannett2020-03-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunities for starting journalists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reporter in New Castle, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gannett full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Delawareonline covers the entire state of Delaware. Range of covering opportunities, good environment, large newsroom

    Cons

    It's in Delaware, disorganized editors

    Gannett2020-03-04
  4. "Managers Never Follow Through"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gannett full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's easy to be the best here. You just need to do your job and do it well and you'll outshine the others

    Cons

    Management team says they're here to help, but if you need something accomplished, you're better off doing it yourself.

    Continue reading
    Gannett2020-03-05
  5. "great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Gannett full-time

    Pros

    great place to work and develop

    Cons

    no cons to speak of

    Gannett2020-03-04
  6. "great close team, but many layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OFFICE SPECIALIST in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gannett full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice work environment, great coworkers, 401k company match, flexible hours, many PTO days (especially after 3 years employment)

    Cons

    there were many layoffs consistently during my four years, which always seemed like a dark cloud of who was going to be let go.. either yourself or great coworkers. It seemed that corporate did not look at the big picture when they made cuts and only looked at dollars. There were at least two occasions where a person was laid off and then brought back within a week after being let go because the decision negatively impacted day to day operations of multiple departments. Pay was also not fantastic and raises were very small. I was given a 3% raise each year and was told that was the highest raise anybody could get (confirmed with multiple coworkers that they usually got 1-2% raises).

    Gannett2020-02-28
  7. "Account Executive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gannett full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good training, friendly co-workers, some perks

    Cons

    micro managed, poor communication amongst different departments, lack of communication from top level executives, downsizing, unrealistic goals

    Gannett2020-02-27
  8. "It was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electro-mechanical Technician in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gannett full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    To corporate , they didn't care about their employees

    Continue reading
    Gannett2020-02-26
  9. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - News Reporter in York, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gannett full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people; ok pay for journalism

    Cons

    Layoffs; cuts; cuts cuts cuts

    Continue reading
    Gannett2020-02-23
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Gannett full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Time off Pay Commission Good work environment

    Cons

    No room for improvement Stagnant Saturated Market Competition Some leadership

    Gannett2020-02-13
Found 1429 reviews