Gallagher Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Apr 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Gallagher Chairman, President, and CEO J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
678 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment and supportive staff(in 61 reviews)

  • "Most people have the opportunity to work from home, which I have been doing for over three years(in 57 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing - 5 years wasted - Markham, ON"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Broker in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work from home opportunties - depending on what team you work for

    Cons

    Unequal opportunity for advancement Inexperienced Senior Management Disrespectful US Headquarters Legacy middle management are extremely narrow minded and underqualified Discrimination Gossip - nosey co-workers and Team Leads that encourage the behaviour to gain information

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2019-03-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Account Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Rolling Meadows, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work from home flexibility Great co-workers Team environment

    Cons

    Salary not competitive with market If you’re not in sales you’re considered an expense Bonuses are not fair across business segments No tuition reimbursement no motivation for higher learning

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2020-04-30
  3. Helpful (8)

    "I wish I knew before I came"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I can work from home during COVID-19

    Cons

    Everything else! Sweatshop with no room for advancement. 60+hour work weeks. Management turns a blind eye as to why employees are leaving. Treatment being in client services department is that of a dictator and degrading. Favoritism is the way to progress and obtain recognition. Finger pointing instead of problem solving. Sales teams are the only body of employees who are recognized and paid well. Pay increases and bonuses are non existent. Any form of employee event is subsidized by employees, including holidays (cheap company). You pay ahead for your expenses and then submit reimbursement and it is not easy! Discrimination, harassment and retaliation is very prevalent. Non existent HR! Non existent mediator for any form of consolation to employee issues. I don't think this company has moved beyond the 1960's in their management style.

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2020-04-21
  4. "Moved to work from home after year in office"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager 

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, work from home

    Cons

    Low pay, few growth opportunities

    Gallagher2019-11-28
  5. Helpful (10)

    "It's like working in the 80s, but without the benefits"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are pockets of rational people The new HQ in Rolling Meadows is nice, good cafeteria Can work from home

    Cons

    A lot of red tape to get anything done Finger pointing is common instead of just fixing a problem The company is 100% broker focused; if you aren't a broker, you are dispensable Raises are non-existent unless you fight, even though every year they are profitable The benefits are horrible (only HDHP with expensive premiums) and you only get 10 days off a year (15 after 5 years) Each location has their own rules and processes, there is no consistency Nepotism is standard practice; if you are family or a friend, you are set! Management has no idea what the day-to-day is for any of the people doing the work Morale is horrible Have to wear business casual every day (no jeans allowed) They focus on being an "Ethical" company, but practices don't reflect it internally

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2019-11-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    People people people. Flex time. Work from home when needed.

    Cons

    Large corporation feel at times.

    Gallagher2019-09-17
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Flexible work day & Work from home"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Resolution Manager in North Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A typical work day is busy, but laid back. For those working in the office, the expectation is that dress is casual (jeans!) most days unless a client meeting is taking place in the office. Most people have the opportunity to work from home, which I have been doing for over three years. I love the ability to work independently and the flexibility that comes from working from home means I don’t have to take sick days when I have a cold or my child is sick, drive to or from work in a snowstorm, or take off time for a routine doctor appointment. This is the only employer I have known that throws bridal and baby showers for their employees, to celebrate events in their personal lives. It is truly a family atmosphere and I have made true friends while working here. I have been given the tools and training I need to be successful and have supervisors who encourage me to grow and develop my strengths. I feel like I have people looking out for my best interests and in helping me reach the next level of my career. There is absolutely opportunity for growth and advancement; I have been promoted in the last two years and am formally working toward my next promotion with the assistance of upper management. I work on a team made up of talented and knowledgeable individuals who do not hesitate to step up to the plate when someone needs help or is out unexpectedly for a day or two. The case load is lower than industry standards in my experience and completely manageable, allowing me to have work/life balance. You are encouraged to take your time off and when on vacation disconnect completely. I don’t foresee myself leaving anytime in the future and feel lucky to work here.

    Cons

    The only negative is that there could be more vacation time, but sick days do not count against your time off and you get a lot of days off for holidays, including the Friday after Thanksgiving, which is nice. The sick policy is you take what you need, but don’t abuse it. Because I have the flexibility of working from home, I find that I don’t need as much vacation time because of my flexible work schedule.

    Gallagher2019-08-20
  8. "Equal Employment Organisation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager - Finance in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture, good work life balance, great management team, many joining benefits and work from home option available for those in need

    Cons

    For some job profiles transport is not provided, but it is still a good situation

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2019-07-22
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Nepotism & Patriarchy: A Corporate Saga"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    -great opportunity to learn about insurance, sales and corporate America -lots of opportunity to grow financially and professionally -opportunity to travel depending on role -work from home option -full benefits package (vision is the best! two pairs of glasses per year) -awesome, family like culture

    Cons

    -very patriarchal (meaning men are usually in leadership roles and "in charge" as producers and regional sales managers) -nepotism openly accepted and encouraged meaning people who have no skills, talents, or intellect are hired with competitive salaries just because they're related to someone in the company -takes a long time to receive a raise-must work very hard to receive a raise, and even then it may be meager -a lot of conflicting information given -systems can be cumbersome to navigate -high turn over in client service segment -somewhat incompetent practice leaders/subject matter experts

    Gallagher2019-06-08
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Senior Resolution Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resolution Manager in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to work from home.

    Cons

    There is not enough of a focus on quality claims handling Too many rules and procedures to follow that limit your ability to complete your work. High case loads Low pay High turnover

    Gallagher2019-05-30
Found 57 reviews