Gallagher Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated Feb 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Gallagher Chairman, President, and CEO J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
J. Patrick Gallagher Jr.
678 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment and supportive staff(in 61 reviews)

  • "Most people have the opportunity to work from home, which I have been doing for over three years(in 57 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "high turnover"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Great corporation as a whole, but flawed at a branch level"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, (mostly) nice co-workers, ethical company, some flexibility with working remotely from home, and a great learning opportunity. Once you work at Gallagher, you can work almost anywhere since they have so many systems and procedures to follow. Pay is good, compared to working for an independent insurance agency.

    Cons

    The on-boarding experience can vary greatly from person to person. Some employees get great training and support, where others are left to "sink or swim." You many feel trapped in a position where your caseload is high and there's pressure at multiples levels to work harder. You never feel "good enough." There is little appreciation from the sales staff but the expectations are very high. Certain departments have very High turnover. Getting audited internally by local and corporate management. Even several people who have worked there for years can't pass the audits. Many people are fearful of being audited and critiqued. Life/work balance is not good. You work long hours and sometimes on weekends just to keep the workload "manageable." Overall, a very stressful environment. Nepotism and favoritism are quite prevalent. Too many systems, procedures and layers of management. No internal IT person or Human Resource Specialist. You have to call a number or file a ticket to speak to HR or IT. HR is slow to respond to inquiries. The accounting and billing system is also frustrating. Some of the billing and support is outsourced, and it can take days to get a billing corrected. More focus is given to production and bringing in great sales so the numbers look good on paper. While there is certainly financial growth within the corporation, you do not feel a sense of personal growth or recognition. Producers who have been with the company for several years or have large books of business are allowed to get away with treating "the help" poorly. You can feel largely ignored depending on who you work with. You get attention when you make a mistake, but there's no positive reinforcement, except for a few great people.

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2020-02-29
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Bait and switch employer - Run!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It’s a paycheck, some great co-workers, interesting client industries

    Cons

    Workload is oppressive and unrelenting. With high turnover, hard-working employees are dumped with outgoing employee workloads, even if scope of work is completely outside abilities and expertise. No training or guidance given - it’s a huge E&O risk. You are expected to work weekends, be “on call” through vacations, and whenever some Gallagher sales person you’ve never heard of makes a demand from across the nation. Raises and bonuses, when they trickle out, never even cover the increased cost of insurance each year. You will bring home less take home pay every year. Account executives allowed to do whatever they want and treat service staff employees however they want. “Anonymous hotline” reports guarantee retaliation.

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2020-02-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "If you want to work in a nice office building"

    2.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Billing Specialist in Itasca, IL

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They provide training and has a new office building

    Cons

    The high turnover and compensation

    Gallagher2020-01-07
  4. "Dog pen"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Risk Administrator 

    I worked at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    Not challenging Heavy use of spreadsheets Springboard into an Actuarial role

    Cons

    Work not fairly distributed Treated as dispensable Very high turnover

    Gallagher2019-12-06
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Team Leader in my department plays favorites"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    Health Insurance Benefits Pay was good

    Cons

    High turnover rate, nepotism among employees, singles out employees she doesn’t like, very unprofessional

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2019-09-23
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Senior Resolution Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resolution Manager in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to work from home.

    Cons

    There is not enough of a focus on quality claims handling Too many rules and procedures to follow that limit your ability to complete your work. High case loads Low pay High turnover

    Gallagher2019-05-30
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Stay Away!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Associate in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful view of Boston Harbor OK pay The employees who aren't cutthroat are lovely but you have to seek them out Summer perks (casual May-Sept; leave at 2 on Fridays) are great

    Cons

    The turnover is unreal - over 40 people left in the time I was there, and people are still leaving as of this review. Almost everyone I know has moved on to another company. I wasn't convinced that corporate and HR were trying to fix the problem because they completely failed to address the real problem-this office is TOXIC. If you don't fit in or if your boss doesn't consider you their favorite you will be forced out. Everyone is cutthroat and gossipy. Nobody is committed to your success; only your downfall and how they can benefit from it. High turnover is not a sustainable model. Plus the insurance community in Boston is small. Everyone knows how bad it is to work at Gallagher. Word travels quickly. There is only one health insurance plan (BCBS of IL) and they force you to pay for birth control. This is Massachusetts - you're not supposed to be paying for that. Pretty sure it's because it's owned by a Catholic family. The workflows are absolutely ridiculous. You're expected to rotate through every daily task multiple times a day, and if you don't you'll be told that you're not working hard enough. This is basically inviting an E&O. People aren't robots. Training is redundant and is only designed to avoid an E&O - not improve efficiency. I wasn't convinced. I've been in insurance for many years and this job is the reason I won't go back to another position in the industry. I have a lot of issues trusting management after my experience with this company. Not worth the drama and mental health issues. I wouldn't recommend any of my insurance friends to this particular office. I think Gallagher is an okay company but this office in particular is awful and needs a complete staffing reset.

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2019-04-02

    Gallagher Response

    April 16, 2019Digital Marketing Analyst

    Thank you for your comments. Leadership in Boston is working with regional support on listening to employee concerns and problem-solving. Gallagher has one insurance provider, but multiple plans that our employees can choose from in order to make the best decisions for their needs. Gallagher’s plans do include a list of contraceptives that are covered at no cost to employees covered under the plans. Contraceptives not included on the list may still be covered under the plans, but at a cost to the employee. Employees are encouraged to report any behaviors that go against our policies to the Ethics and Compliance Hotline, which provides the opportunity to remain anonymous, at (888) 878-6236. Gallagher promotes a working environment free of harassing, abusive, disrespectful, disorderly, disruptive or other non-professional conduct that interferes with another’s work performance or that creates an intimidating, offensive, or hostile environment.

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Client Service Manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gallagher full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you get on the right team its a great place to work

    Cons

    Literally no communication as it pertained to performance Certain teams had high turnover only 2 weeks of PTO Not sure who is in charge of what

    Gallagher2018-12-19
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Financial Benefits Consultant"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gallagher full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay Work with a knowledgeable team

    Cons

    Department understaffed due to high turnover No training nor structure Sometimes deal with overbearing or inept consultants

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2018-11-15
  10. Helpful (8)

    "A Throwback Company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gallagher

    Pros

    Work from home ability, good employees at my office location, not pressured to travel a lot, good place to work if you have no kids, no family and basically no life.

    Cons

    Every office location seems to run differently. Extremely squeaky tight with $. Overwhelming expectations with lack of proper tools to meet the expectations. High turnover/high burnout rate. Overtime is an unwritten rule and basically expected. No work/life balance. Low pay and unfair process of how raises are given, if any given.....Hit or miss if some one gets a raise. No personal HR contact ability. Reminiscent of companies of the 50's, 60's, 70's, etc in an age where equality for all is in the forefront. A step backwards in many ways.

    Continue reading
    Gallagher2018-03-23
Found 28 reviews