GVE Online Education Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GVE Online Education Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
GVE Online Education CEO  Kevin Wu (no image)
Kevin Wu
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Great company lead by a thoughtful and considerate CEO."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GVE Online Education part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I tutor the CEO one-to-one to improve his English, and so I can see why the company is successful. He is always interested in making the company better for his employees and the students. He is of the belief that if you take care of these things, the profits will clme naturally.

    Cons

    Honestly, nothing. I have personal access to the CEO due to the nature of my job there, so if anything did seem off, I would just tell him.

    Advice to Management

    Keep things going the way they are!

    GVE Online Education2017-05-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Online English teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at GVE Online Education part-time

    Pros

    - Organized - Canadian team, so friendly and inclusive - Flexible - Allowed time off if given notice - Amazing students - Good communication

    Cons

    - Late pay - Some complain of too little work

    GVE Online Education2018-07-18
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good People to Work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GVE Online Education full-time

    Pros

    -Great location: downtown area, near Union Station -Unlimited coffee and snacks; Free Friday lunch -Great coworkers

    Cons

    These are just my own observations but: -No strategy planning at all -Terrible IT system -Bad communication

    GVE Online Education2018-07-20
  4. "AOM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at GVE Online Education full-time

    Pros

    Nice working environment. Nice co-workers. Nice Boss.

    Cons

    Better leadership. Process should be better

    GVE Online Education2018-01-11
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Corporate office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GVE Online Education full-time

    Pros

    it's people! the GVE employees are very friendly and cooperative

    Cons

    Management. They change their minds about how to conduct the business literally every week and want the team to deliver results at the last minute. Very stressful and unstable company.

    Advice to Management

    You need to realize you are responsible for your employee's lives. The fact the you decide to change direction in your projects and hire or fire people all the time just show that you don't know what you are doing and you don't care about your employees.

    GVE Online Education2017-10-31
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON

    I worked at GVE Online Education for less than a year

    Pros

    fun people to work with and a great office/location

    Cons

    lack of leadership and vision

    GVE Online Education2017-04-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fun and easy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    English Tutor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at GVE Online Education

    Pros

    GVE provides engaging lesson plans, has staff that always available to help, and provides a good rate of pay. The kids are usually engaged and are generally well-prepared for the lessons.

    Cons

    Glitches in software and lack of communication (see below).... this will probably be ironed out as the company grows.

    Advice to Management

    Follow-up! Don't ask about availability for special teaching lessons and then never mention it again, don't end the semester early and let people just days before.

    GVE Online Education2016-08-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at GVE Online Education

    Pros

    Less Supervision; Good work environment; Good location; Friendly atmosphere; Good pay;

    Cons

    The boss was a little strong-minded on employees' suggestion; The execution of plan was sometimes too flexible to follow.

    Advice to Management

    Improve work of planning to avoid big changes on plan.

    GVE Online Education2016-04-18
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Great People to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in North York, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at GVE Online Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with, competitive salary. Open relaxed environment

    Cons

    Poor business decisions, broken promises, quick to lay off employees without cause.

    Advice to Management

    Come up with a proper business plan. Market the product with north American ideals, and retain talent instead of laying people off because of their salary.

    GVE Online Education2016-03-09
  10. "GOOD HAPPY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GVE Online Education full-time

    Pros

    GOOD HAPPY ENDING Thank you for doing your part

    Cons

    BAD ENDING Thank you for doing your part

    GVE Online Education2019-06-22
Found 25 reviews