GLOBALFOUNDRIES Process Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GLOBALFOUNDRIES Process Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
GLOBALFOUNDRIES CEO Thomas Caulfield
Thomas Caulfield
12 Ratings
  1. "Hard layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good if you are looking for a 2 year gig.

    Cons

    Don't plan long term. Think small

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2019-09-12
  2. Helpful (4)

    "_"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Malta, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My manager was good, but he seemed rare compared to others.

    Cons

    Things move slow because people are afraid to make changes, many levels of hierarchy, stressful environment. Upper management talks a lot about pioneering new semiconductor technology, but seems unlikely.

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2019-08-29
  3. "So-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Process Engineer 

    I worked at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time

    Pros

    Good for beginners and new NCGs from colleges

    Cons

    Management needs improvement and early planning

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2019-07-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Technology and Learning, Mismanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Malta, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tons of experience and places to work and learn as an early engineer

    Cons

    Management has no priorities, Everyone is concerned about their own job so career development is tough without spending extra 10-15 hours a week at work and really cultivating personal relationships with staff engineers.

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2019-07-16
  5. "Thoroughly challenging experience if you make the most out of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Process Engineer in Woodlands New Town, North
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to take on highly critical projects

    Cons

    Salary is a little unsatisfactory

    Advice to Management

    Make your salary structure more competitive to attract and retain best talents

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2019-07-11
  6. "Innovative technical leader with extensive experience in semiconductor industry and unit process development."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Process Engineer in Albany, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Highly motivated and resourceful team player with a winning attitude as well as collaborative problem solver, that is honest, loyal, and flexible. Display excellent interpersonal skills.

    Cons

    none that I could think of

    Advice to Management

    Work smart and efficient.

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2019-06-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty good place to work

    Cons

    Nothing in particular really honestly

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2019-05-16
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to learn, but not stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Malta, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to learn. Friendly work environment.

    Cons

    Lack of vision from the senior leadership team. Compensation is not competitive. Not a stable environment.

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2019-03-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Keeps me busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are awesome! I am never bored at work. There's never a dull moment. There's lots of individual work as well as collaborative projects. Plenty of material to learn and opportunities to change work scope without needing to leave the company or location.

    Cons

    The demands are high and you are required to work outside normal 40 hour work weeks without paid overtime if you are salaried.

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2019-03-21
  10. Helpful (40)

    "Do some research first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Malta, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    “High school” mentality means popularity will bring you further than skill. So if you make friends easily, you’ll do well. If you’re not a hard worker, it’s almost impossible to get fired.

    Cons

    Take a long look at the reviews on this site. Notice how almost all speak of failure, uncertainty, and lack of direction, but the best ratings say this is the best company ever? That’s because not only does our HR group write fake reviews on the site, they’re actually completely blind to what’s wrong here. They honestly have no clue that nobody here is happy, and the only reason more people don’t leave is because... there’s nothing else in the region for us.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Tell the truth, even when it hurts. This is your directive. Tom, remember those face to face meetings you used to have when you joined the company? Why don’t you Start that again? I’m sure there are plenty of hard working technicians on the floor that will be happy to tell you what it means to get a lousy review, a $.10 raise every year and half their bonus taken away makes them feel.

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2019-01-14
Found 107 reviews