GE "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GE Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 23 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
GE CEO H. Lawrence Culp, Jr. (no image)
H. Lawrence Culp, Jr.
402 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance can be challenging at times(in 367 reviews)

  • "Long hours - my observation is that most salaried people work more than 40 hours a week(in 194 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at GE full-time

    Pros

    Top company to work with

    Cons

    Long hours at the company

    GE2019-07-12
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    -Flexible hours -Good team dynamic -Challenging work

    Cons

    -Long hours are expected -Since GE is a large company, there are lots of company politics

    GE2018-06-06
  3. "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at GE

    Pros

    Good Learning Experience Good Compensation Good Culture

    Cons

    Long Hours Tough work life balance Small Pay increases

    GE2016-03-24
  4. "Manufacturing Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at GE

    Pros

    Team environment Challenging work Great learning experiences

    Cons

    High stress, long hours, constant change in priorities

    GE2016-02-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent, its a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Systems Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE

    Pros

    - great opportunity - great co workers - excellent learning opportunities - challenging work - solid mentors - great leadership

    Cons

    - outsourcing - long hours - old technology - old infrastructure - need to improve training opportunities for all employees

    GE2011-02-16
  6. "Good money but you will have to work for it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE

    Pros

    Brand Name looks good on a cv. Other companies know that if you were at GE you were competent in your job. GE also has a mandatory fire 20% yearly of the workforce rule therefore if you last longer than a year other companies know you are good at what you do. The pressure is high depending on the role and current market status. As of late 2008 the lending business would be tough because of the number of... losses that GE has to write down globally. This means that the expectations on you will be even higher to perform

    Show More

    Cons

    High pressure and long hours. GE also does not really train you for a position. They calim they will train you but in actuality the do not. Typically they through you in the position and initially make a bunch of mistakes. the advantage is that you learn quickly because of the pressure you are under. This will result in you have completed a lot of different jobs at a senior level whereas you peers in other... organization would not get the same exposer. Get used to sleepless night though because the pressure will be on the whole time through your tenure at GE

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need to give promotions based on qualification not on numbers of years at GE

    GE2009-03-15
  7. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Process Engineer in Subang Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE for less than a year

    Pros

    they are friendly people I guess

    Cons

    they have long hours i guess

    GE2019-10-23
  8. "Good opportunities. Fair pay. Good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Xmas Temp 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Good environment. Great feedback.

    Cons

    Long hours. Long commute. Pay could be higher.

    GE2019-10-07
  9. "Top engineering terible work like balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great engineering, leading-edge technologies, great opportunities to move into different engineering specialties or management. Decent base salaries. Good healthcare programs but negated by unhealthy work balance.

    Cons

    No work balance, working long hours, no pay for long overtime hours, subpar 401 options, no pension for new employees.

    Advice to Management

    There is a limit for healthy satisfactory work-life. Base salary is decent but subpar if prorated for unpaid hours.

    GE2019-08-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Happy here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FP&A in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers - smart, hard working, passionate about what they do Continued education encouraged... tuition reimbursement up to a cap, numerous non-degree classes offered internally on job related skills Career advancement - lots of opportunities to try new roles and people tend to move jobs every few years

    Cons

    Long hours - my observation is that most salaried people work more than 40 hours a week

    GE2019-07-26
Found 194 reviews
</>Embed