GE Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GE Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
GE CEO and Chairman H. Lawrence Culp, Jr. (no image)
H. Lawrence Culp, Jr.
446 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is difficult at times with a lot of US based calls at night(in 372 reviews)

  • "Long hours depending on team/manager(in 198 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior HRM 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at GE full-time

    Pros

    Challenging work, great people, diverse, great culture

    Cons

    None that i can think of

    Continue reading
    GE2019-12-09

    GE Response

    December 30, 2019Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for your positive feedback!

    Continue reading
  2. "Decent Place to work late in career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Standard hours (9-5) Great if you're late in your career Good work-life balance

    Cons

    Hard to progress upwards in corporate ladder

    Continue reading
    GE2020-03-03
  3. "ddddddd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 

    I worked at GE full-time

    Pros

    liked it a lot to be honest

    Cons

    had a lot of laughs and cries

    GE2020-03-01

    GE Response

    March 3, 2020Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

    Continue reading
  4. "I wish they could value strong performing employees more."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Embedded Systems Software Developer in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    Big company and Good benefits

    Cons

    Tons of politics amongst teams

    GE2020-02-27
  5. "great work climate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    fair employer, career opportunities, great work environment

    Cons

    nothing that i don't feel comfortable with

    GE2020-01-28

    GE Response

    February 5, 2020Social Media Consultant

    Thanks so much for sharing!

    Continue reading
  6. "Multinational Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Director in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very diversified cultural and professional environment

    Cons

    Salary evolution is very limited and meritocracy is not very effective even though the business is very demanding

    GE2020-01-28

    GE Response

    February 5, 2020Social Media Consultant

    Sorry to hear this, but appreciate your comment.

    Continue reading
  7. "Treated like a number, not a person."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Peterborough, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    RRSP Match and benefit were good compared to other companies. Manager recognized hard work, though not financially.

    Cons

    No regard for work life balance. Worked 24+ hours straight on multiple occasions due to pressure for upper management who were then incensed that I wanted to leave when the emergency had been dealt with. Raises were small or non-existent for low level non-unionized workers but upper management and execs were well compensated.

    Continue reading
    GE2020-02-03

    GE Response

    February 5, 2020Social Media Consultant

    GE takes EHS concerns very seriously. We strive to cultivate a safe environment for everyone. Please share your feedback privately and anonymously with our ombudsperson at ombudsperson@corporate.ge.com so we can investigate further.

    Continue reading
  8. "overall a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    tons of training opportunities for young employees

    Cons

    overfocused on short term goal

    GE2020-01-13
  9. "Good opportunities for advancement, iconic company with high morals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AI and Optimization Leader, Senior Innovation Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities for advancement, iconic company with high morals.

    Cons

    Often heavy bureaucracy, consistent changes in management and lack of long term commitment on new ventures make the stability and planning of new ventures challenging.

    GE2020-01-08
  10. "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culturally strong, learning opportunities and work environment

    Cons

    Broken sub businesses if not Aviation or Healthcare

    GE2020-01-01
Found 8812 reviews
</>Embed