GE Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GE Healthcare Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
GE Healthcare President and CEO Kieran Murphy (no image)
Kieran Murphy
310 Ratings
  1. "Turnaround culture and business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Product mission, opportunity to contribute

    Cons

    Dinosaur culture, resistance to reality and customer focus

    Advice to Management

    If you do not see dinosaurs around you, you are the dinosaur. Please find another job.

    GE Healthcare2020-01-16
  2. "Big company with many required processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An opportunity to work with a lot of great talent. Flexible, casual work environment. Great benefits. Community volunteer days.

    Cons

    Numerous obstacles with processes. Challenging to maneuver through approvals for various aspects. Big matrix that takes time to understand how the different businesses align.

    Advice to Management

    Simplify the processes so it isn't so challenging for teams to do their work.

    GE Healthcare2020-01-16
  3. "Worst Experience of My Life - Injury"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advanced Manufacturing Technician in West Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GE Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It kept me from starving/

    Cons

    GE does not care about their employees. If the union employees came so close to a strike, think of how bad the non-union employees have it. I was physically assaulted at work by another employee. I told my boss about it, and he told me that if I went to HR, I would be fired because the other employee had more seniority than I did. I was also injured in a way that several other employees had previously been injured. GE does not care about your health or safety. The rest of my life is going to be sad and boring because these injuries are keeping me from doing my hobbies that I used to love. Vote for Bernie.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None of you will ever be billionaires. You are all only pawns. Your hard work puts more money in the owners' and investors' pockets (who either obtained wealth by inheritance or exploitation) than it ever will in yours. You are all under Stockholm Syndrome and that is why you put up with and allow the horrid mistreatment of hardworking employees. Become class conscious, free yourselves of your mental shackles, and do something that benefits the world instead of the billionaire investors. Work for a non-profit. Volunteer. Care about people. The next time you think "My job helps develop innovative healthcare solutions," think about how many mistreated workers like myself have to endure injuries and dangerous exposure to carcinogens in order to make those products. Free your mind.

    Show More
    GE Healthcare2020-01-15
  4. "Good company to wok at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good salary and good environment

    Cons

    nothing at all for this company

    GE Healthcare2020-01-15
  5. "Great company to work at, great engineering team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Applications Specialist 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to large scale product life cycle, many opportunities to grow and explore, team work and innovation atmosphere

    Cons

    Work-time balance is not always easy.

    GE Healthcare2020-01-14
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Computer Information Systems Analyst in Red Hook, NY

    I worked at GE Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    allowed family life balance nicely

    Cons

    cutbacks and reduction in workforce

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    GE Healthcare2020-01-14
  7. "The only constant is change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Historically GE Healthcare has provided flexibility and plenty of room for work life balance.

    Cons

    Restructuring is being rolled out this week which will change that. Lack of respect for support roles even those reimbursed as highly skilled.

    Advice to Management

    Show your employees with long tenure how valuable they are and that their contributions are appreciated. Avoid changing employee evaluation and corporate culture EVERY year - to try competing with other comparable companies.

    GE Healthcare2020-01-14
  8. "Design engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities and exposure and flexibility

    Cons

    Work times and complex process oriented

    GE Healthcare2020-01-13
  9. "Good work life balance here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -great work life balance -unlimited vacation days - some finance roles are very cross-functional and not typical finance

    Cons

    -heavy reporting cycles usually line up during holiday time -cash Pay could be better -most offices pretty outside of major city center thus either need to live in suburbs or have long commute

    GE Healthcare2020-01-10
  10. "Lots of red tape but also lots of good, hardworking people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Progamer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay and benefits. Many strong company leaders willing to mentor. Learn a lot on the job. Career development within company is emphasized

    Cons

    Work life balance not emphasized among some operations teams. Disconnected, sometimes outdated, and sometimes unreliable IT systems that make day to day job inefficient. Large company with competing metrics that sometimes make it hard to feel like all marching toward the same goal

    GE Healthcare2020-01-10
Found 2792 reviews