GE Aviation Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

GE Aviation Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
GE Aviation President and CEO David L. Joyce
David L. Joyce
585 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESE 
    Recommends

    I worked at GE Aviation full-time

    Pros

    My team and my managers were always great, we had a lot of new projects coming in so I really enjoyed my time there

    Cons

    You're in Querétaro, a super safe city but a bit calm if you've lived in cities such as Guadalajara. Also, the salaries are not as competitive.

    GE Aviation2019-09-28
  2. "Data engineering specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Engineering Specialist in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee friendly company, Cooperative team

    Cons

    Nothing as of now regarding compay

    GE Aviation2020-01-17
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good help when needed

    Cons

    Not really multicultural. Can feel out of place sometimes

    GE Aviation2020-01-11
  4. "Great Career Decision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Program Development Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very stable and strong network of brilliant people to work with. Strong culture. Great work/life balance and decent benefits.

    Cons

    Although not very common, career advancement can (not always) depend on who you know and personal relationships more than it does ability to do a job.

    GE Aviation2020-01-09
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultative Sales Consultant - Home Electronics in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, and benefit.

    Cons

    The salary, and the poor management working with the different project. A lot improvement is needed on coordination and leading.

    GE Aviation2020-01-07
  6. "Great Company to Learn and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Performance Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE Aviation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    GE Aviation is the leader in turbomachinery. There are opportunities to work on cutting edge materials, next gen cycles, and unique software and controls problems. Jet engines offer a wide variety of work, from thermodynamics to structures, and it's relatively easy to change roles if you want a new experience. Their leadership development is also second to none; the Edison program was an amazing start to my career.

    Show More

    Cons

    Research and development funding is continuously cut or in jeopardy to appease shareholders. When funding's on and you're working a new project, the work is great, people are motivated, and amazing engineering happens. But during funding cuts, much of the available work is sustaining and maturing already fielded programs, which is less enjoyable.

    Advice to Management

    GE Corporate needs to make decisions based on what's best for the long term success of GE Aviation, and stop making decisions to keep GE Corporate alive. Cutting costs in Aviation is short sighted and hurting technological advancement. David Joyce has a great vision for GE Aviation; let him lead.

    GE Aviation2020-01-03
  7. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good bonus and salary with promotions

    Cons

    corporate & slow to change

    GE Aviation2019-12-29
  8. "Year placement at GE aviation engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Cheltenham, England

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly, lots of knowledgable people, great area

    Cons

    Work pace quite slow, lack of work for first 4 months

    GE Aviation2019-12-28
  9. "Poor Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE Aviation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pockets of good people Varied employment opportunities

    Cons

    Negative culture Convoluted processes Poor internal recruitment Blame culture

    GE Aviation2020-01-09
  10. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE Aviation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good career prospects. Lots of extra curricular activities available

    Cons

    needs some more formal training

    Advice to Management

    implement training

    GE Aviation2019-12-20
Found 1205 reviews