G Adventures Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "The company culture is like nothing I've experienced in any other job(in 20 reviews)

  • "and we really do live and breathe our Core Values every day(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "If FAMs are meant to compensate for low pay, let those who don't travel claim the cash value instead(in 23 reviews)

  • "The "Core Values" preached by the company go out the window as soon as they need to save money(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - AP Clerk 

    I worked at G Adventures full-time

    Pros

    Great Culture, The people you work with are amazing

    Cons

    I can not think of any right now

    G Adventures2020-05-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good workplace, great team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G Adventures full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team (manager included) were competent, highly skilled, worked hard, and helped each other out. Communications were frequent, detailed, and positive. I felt we worked really well as a team, and each brought different points of view and backgrounds of expertise to the table. We were trusted to work autonomously, and encouraged to collaborate and troubleshoot each other's problems. Prior to COVID19, we were en route to pay rises, improved hardware and software, and scheduled design sprints to focus on improving existing infrastructure. We were aiming for design awards. I felt motivated, excited, and inspired. Friendly, respectful, inclusive atmosphere. Some of the kindest, most like-minded individuals. You'll meet people from almost every walk of life, culture, and country. Open-door policy, approachable and amiable management. Opportunities to learn new skills via online learning, taking classes outside the business (relevant to your role). Some teams were able to go to conventions (paid by G) relative to their roles, to keep up with industry standards. Flexible hours, ability to work remotely, including working at other offices if traveling. RRSP employer investment matching program - you put in 3%, G puts in 3%. (This is only applicable in Canada.) Involvement with local events (Toronto Pride, Christmas event to entertain children, donation drives for people in need); Planeterra; animal and child welfare; respecting and preserving indigenous peoples and their cultures; generating aid for foreign crises (ie: Australian wild fires). Elaborately themed meeting rooms, bright and cheerful decoration throughout the building, positive vibes everywhere. Visiting office dogs. Snacks, hot drinks, alcohol. Occasional lunches. Seasonal parties; Halloween costume contest, potlucks, G-stock, lip-dubs videos, assorted dares and contests, random acts of kindness, random acts of silliness; barbecues on the rooftop patio. On-site yoga, fascial massage. Encouragement to eat healthy and engage in physical exercise. Self-improvement courses and learning modules. Social channels on Slack to find others with your particular interests, find help for tasks outside of work, find advice, chat about travel, etc.. Occasional in-house movie nights, live-streaming events like FIFA. Discount on Apple products, use of Macbooks in offices for a seamless experience. Showers, bike storage, convenient downtown location, steps from public transport, plenty of shops, restaurants, and entertainment in the area to meet friends or have a date after work.

    Cons

    Pay was below market across every department. This directly affected my team, as programmers were hard to keep, harder still to attract. Lack of programmers meant projects could take months or even years to begin, letting us fall further behind. Partially subsidized trips meant bringing a friend or partner would cost you. Low salary meant taking care of things while out of town was out of the question for some. Those who do not or cannot travel for any reason are often hounded to do so. If FAMs are meant to compensate for low pay, let those who don't travel claim the cash value instead. Prioritization was a never-ending struggle. Planning ahead was rarely ever done; it felt like we were all just barely keeping up. Band-aid fixes instead of critical examination of problems. No one person's fault, just a cumulative issue related to priorities, lack of people to do the job, and time. Stakeholders respecting task deadlines and revision quotas was a regular nightmare. This could have easily been solved by frequent and clear communication with everyone involved on a project. Improvements to inter-team communications have been made, but there is still a lot more work to do. Decentralized offices were prone to going rogue, sometimes with horrifying results. Brand guide and documenting completed and ongoing work was convoluted, frequently ignored. Brand guide regularly crafted templates and guides for those in digital marketing without seeking advice from the people who would be using those items. As such, collateral that should have taken minutes to craft, took weeks due to endless revisions and lack of clarity of vision for the finished product. Not enough time spent on improvement and innovation; majority of work was routine, even templated. Projects would either be really Out There and flop on launch, or be half-baked and under-deliver on expectations. Incentives lacked creativity. Workload always backed up in the funnel and would affect my team's ability to meet deadlines because the company expects certain roles to do the work of 4+ times the number of staff in that role. I've personally seen these people stay hours past closing 3 nights a week or more, work through weekends, not take lunch breaks away from their desks for fear of falling behind, and regularly double- or triple-book themselves into meetings they're too exhausted to focus on. This is fundamentally against the company's core values. Some teams got way more spotlight than others who were driving direct sales, which felt demoralizing. Emphasis on drinking culture both during "beer o clock" on Friday afternoons, and at social events.

    Continue reading
    G Adventures2020-05-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Highly Disorganised"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at G Adventures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - wonderful people - interesting office space with nice meeting rooms

    Cons

    - had good company culture but it was mostly a facade - projects are done with the "throw it at the wall and see if it sticks" mentality - management doesn't plan ahead and are operate on a more reactionary mode

    Continue reading
    G Adventures2020-05-25
  4. Helpful (9)

    "A house of cards toppled by COVID"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at G Adventures full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - G’s culture fit process leads to hiring some of the kindest people you've ever met, it wasn’t just a handful of nice people here and there, that was the majority of employees - Toronto Base Camp location and office featured some fun designs (Steve Jobs, Alice in Wonderland, Star Wars, and Stan Lee meeting rooms) - Chances to meet people from all over the world - Opportunities to work on a range of projects and collaborate with other departments - The culture was shifting to be more inclusive - Efforts were improving to try to keep everyone connected and in the loop - Use of mac products and great IT support for when issues arose - Trips were unique and gave back to communities, animal, child, and Indigenous welfare was protected - Office management and front desk staff were wonderful and extremely hard-working, office was always tidy, with stocked snacks or treats, fun playlists created a warm and welcoming office environment - Access to learning programs and LinkedIn Learning - Development programs like leadership camp - While there were often times you had to work late to handle workload it was not a culture of "you need to be doing this" in our office, I never felt pressured by leadership to work late, only by my workload

    Cons

    - Inexperienced hires were legacy issues – many employees knew the travel industry but were clueless about their roles and how to perform their duties (Potential marketing candidates beware, this is rampant. Get ready to argue Marketing 101 and explain what a CTA is daily) - The structure was a disorganized mess and it caused multiple roadblocks daily - decentralization for marketing forced experienced digital, web design, and advertising professionals to report to leadership that only understood travel, creating a constant power struggle that lead to weak executions - Overall lack of strategy and process - no training, support for onboarding efforts or employees in various offices - The huge disconnect between BPT’s vision for the company and what leadership team executed - Lack of upward mobility – the company strived to create elaborate programs that celebrated lateral moves with a lot of glitter covering obvious shortcomings - Low salaries supplemented with travel perks and average benefits. This was making hiring increasingly difficult, losing many talented individuals who wanted to start families or you know, pay their rent - Culture couldn’t keep up with the times, what was once forward-thinking was never updated and company hung their hat on their original efforts - Understandably, COVID battered the travel industry and G was no exception, but the damage hit hard and fast. No transparency or support for suddenly laid-off employees. Core values were thrown out the window. While the situation was unprecedented, if the core values had been upheld in how it was handled I think people would have felt like G cared. Little actions like compassionate emails, or helping recover files, or resume help would have been well-received.

    Continue reading
    G Adventures2020-05-05

    G Adventures Response

    May 19, 2020Global Talent

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We truly value the insight you have provided regarding both the things we do well, as well as the areas where we can improve. We are sorry you have been impacted in this way. We also appreciate our approach to this has been far from perfect. We had to respond to a rapidly evolving situation and make a lot of extremely difficult decisions very quickly. The decisions affecting people were by far the hardest. We thank you for your contributions to the business - you are part of our story and for that we will always be thankful. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback - we are taking it all onboard to ensure we do better in the future.

  5. "Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at G Adventures full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly Community, Career Growth,

    Cons

    Low Pay, Expected to work changing shifts every week,

    Continue reading
    G Adventures2020-04-28
  6. Helpful (8)

    "A solid culture completely tarnished in the wake of COVID-19"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G Adventures full-time

    Pros

    -There was a very solid culture prior to COVID-19 -Felt like we were working for a product and company with a purpose -Used to genuinely care about my team -Team was invested in their work and the company

    Cons

    -The company has consistently bungled it's handling of staff reductions and internal communications in the wake of COVID-19 -The "Core Values" preached by the company go out the window as soon as they need to save money. People have come secondary to saving a few dollars. -A total lack of vision from leadership for what's to come next -Questionable decision after questionable decision is being made with no explanation, and the only rationale seems to be they favour those who were most integrated in the culture before the pandemic -Team managers not consulted on staffing decisions about those teams -The company widely shared a "Best workplace" award externally and internally days after laying off staff -Pre Covid-19: same feedback that pay does not match outside travel industry (maybe even inside?) and no one cares if you take snack cart away

    Continue reading
    G Adventures2020-04-30
  7. "Loved this place!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Angestellter in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at G Adventures full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You get to work with super smart people - You get to wok on exciting projects (and learn a ton!) - You get to work in the travel industry which is amazing - Flat structure, open door policies and you can be literally friends with anybody, upper management super approachable and genuine (a few exceptions, but you have that everywhere)

    Cons

    - It can feel cliquey at times, depending on which department you are. A lot of the people have been working there for a very long time and no each other really well, so "getting in" from a cultural perspective can be tough - although not everyone is like that - very little growth opportunities - salary is quite low in comparison to any other industry I worked in - lack of strategy is huge, often projects / products will be pushed out although it is not the right time yet (product not really ready for the market)

    Continue reading
    G Adventures2020-04-22
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good for a short time, not a long time"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at G Adventures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free trip and free swag

    Cons

    Basically a cult Salary is below average, they pay you with free hot dogs and hair cuts

    Continue reading
    G Adventures2020-04-23
  9. Helpful (6)

    "#WhenTheWholeSquadIsImploding"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at G Adventures full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The employees and general staff were fantastic. Some of the nicest and most interesting people I've ever worked. - Nice perks, such as free food and drinks.

    Cons

    It's easy for a company seem great when business is growing steadily, but when times are tough is when companies show their true makings. Unfortunately, COVID19 lifted the shiny purple exterior of G and fully exposed the rusty badly welded framework below. - Company does not appear to follow it's own core values structure - Vendors report not being paid on time, or sometimes at all. - Pay is much lower than industry average. The perks do not make up for the lack of pay. - No environmental initiatives despite the companies public and private disclaimers saying that they do. - Appeared to be little to no effort by upper management or CEO to retain employment of employees once the COVID19 pandemic hit. Legally, it is questionable how they approached the mass layoffs. - Most companies in Canada are eligible for programs to help keep their staff afloat during the pandemic. G either did not have the foresight to apply for the programs and did not receive these funds, or they have (possibly) misappropriated government, tax payer money, for different opportunities. - CEO Bruce Poon Tip seems more concerned with his outside image than anything else. Choosing to write new ageism books in times where proper leadership is desperately needed. Leadership should take active care of the their employees, vendors, and clients. - Employees are more actively rewarded for praise of current condition, rather than positively challenging status quo. - Overall extreme shortsightedness and mismanagement.

    Continue reading
    G Adventures2020-05-12

    G Adventures Response

    May 19, 2020Global Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that your experience with your fellow employees was positive. We are so sorry you and many of your colleagues have been impacted in this way. We also appreciate our approach to this has been far from perfect. All of your great work has contributed to the successes G Adventures has experienced - you are each part of our story and for that we will always be thankful. The effects of COVID-19 have been devastating for many of us personally, as well as having had a catastrophic effect on the travel industry and we had to make a lot of extremely difficult decisions very quickly. We are grateful we have been able to leverage government schemes in many counties to place staff on temporary leave to protect as many jobs as we can while recognizing the market for travel will be a lot smaller on the other side of this pandemic. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback - we are taking it all onboard to ensure we do better in the future.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture, disorganized mess"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at G Adventures full-time

    Pros

    Lots of great people to hang with. Lots of energy spent on culture.

    Cons

    Senior Management is not aligned. No common purpose despite there being significant effort placed in to core values. Silos are very much in effect and this needs to be rectified for G to truly be recognized as a great place to work. Beer fridges and snack carts are simply window-dressing.

    Continue reading
    G Adventures2020-04-18
Found 188 reviews