Fuel Industries Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Fuel Industries Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Fuel Industries Founding Partner, co-CEO, CCO  Mike Burns (no image)
Mike Burns
27 Ratings
  1. "It was a wild ride!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time

    Pros

    We made some cool sites and games! Had some amazing times.

    Cons

    Work life balance didn't really pan out so well.

    Continue reading
    Fuel Industries2017-08-02
  2. "Fast Paced & High Energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fuel Industries full-time

    Pros

    Working at Fuel is not for everyone. It's a fast paced environment where deadlines approach quickly, and you're often required to do more than "just your job" - If you're looking to punch a clock and work 9-5, check out the federal government, otherwise work at Fuel. The hours might be long occasionally, but the work is diverse and will challenge you on a daily basis.

    Cons

    It will take awhile to feel like you fit in, the on-boarding process isn't the best. Documentation, planning and other resources will vary wildly depending on the project. There's lots of opportunity for growth, but only if you actively manage your own career.

    Continue reading
    Fuel Industries2016-09-15
  3. "Very happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fuel Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great roster of clients. You get to work on cool projects. Family atmosphere. Strong culture.

    Cons

    It can get very busy and clients are clients.

    Fuel Industries2016-02-11
  4. "Transitioning from a small to medium size company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fuel Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing!!!! The projects that we work on are really cool. The office location has a lot of amazing restaurants to choose from. Always some type of social activities going on. Would like to see a few more activities related to gamers, but I understand we have to please everyone :)

    Cons

    The company is transitioning from a small company to a medium size company. Most people have a hard time with change. Management is taking steps to make this transition easier on employees which is great to see but it won't happen over night.

    Continue reading
    Fuel Industries2015-08-27
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really awesome people to work with. Was able to see really good improvements from the management team on process and culture. Great brands/clients to work with.

    Cons

    Because the building is a bit older the "pit" could be too cold or too hot at times

    Continue reading
    Fuel Industries2015-06-04
  6. "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment. Very talented people to work with

    Cons

    Some pressure/overtime to satisfy fast deadlines

    Fuel Industries2015-05-04
  7. "Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fuel Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment with projects that are flexible to designer input and flowing well with working on a team

    Cons

    Team is international and can be difficult solving problems when team members are working opposite schedules.

    Fuel Industries2018-07-30
  8. "Software developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time

    Pros

    dynamic team, creative atmosphere, good location

    Cons

    overtime is needed from time to time

    Fuel Industries2019-03-14
  9. "Work hard play harder!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team, great parties, good salary

    Cons

    Lots of hours, hard to manage work / life

    Continue reading
    Fuel Industries2019-01-22
  10. "Another rebuttal for "Great while it lasted""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fuel Industries full-time

    Pros

    The company has gone through some ups and downs over the years and when the last version of the company ended it was during a major downward spiral. Our paycheques were often late and people were leaving or getting let go pretty much every week. Decisions made by senior management had crippled the business well before the bankruptcy and we never recovered. After the company reinvented itself or as the other review mentioned, a restructure occurred and it "was a giant failure". Now if a giant failure means paycheques come on time, company moral is much better, employee retention is much higher, zero debt after a full year as pretty much a new company and the ability to attract a larger company and be acquired by that company, then please I would like to take part in more failed restructures. New vs Old - Overtime is no longer expected and often, it is rare - We are getting free lunches again - We have cleaners that clean the building not employees - Work life is much happier and better all around

    Cons

    - Parties are not as fun - Company is much smaller so less people to talk to - Current location has less food choices then our old location

    Continue reading
    Fuel Industries2018-10-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 45 reviews