Fuel Industries Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Fuel Industries Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Fuel Industries CEO Mike Burns (no image)
Mike Burns
27 Ratings
  1. "It was a wild ride!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time

    Pros

    We made some cool sites and games! Had some amazing times.

    Cons

    Work life balance didn't really pan out so well.

    Advice to Management

    Godspeed!

    Fuel Industries2017-08-02
  2. "Grind and not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -exciting topics, big name brands

    Cons

    -poor management, small business style

    Fuel Industries2019-10-17
  3. "Terrible management but talented staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This studio had lots of devoted and talented general staff members who had solid experience. The type of clients they had were all big brands.

    Cons

    All management, directors, and partners were ill-fitting, delusional and bullies. They were the ones who drove that place bankrupt.

    Fuel Industries2019-08-01
  4. "Software developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time

    Pros

    dynamic team, creative atmosphere, good location

    Cons

    overtime is needed from time to time

    Fuel Industries2019-03-14
  5. "Work hard play harder!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team, great parties, good salary

    Cons

    Lots of hours, hard to manage work / life

    Advice to Management

    Better project planning to reduce overtime required.

    Fuel Industries2019-01-22
  6. "Another rebuttal for "Great while it lasted""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fuel Industries full-time

    Pros

    The company has gone through some ups and downs over the years and when the last version of the company ended it was during a major downward spiral. Our paycheques were often late and people were leaving or getting let go pretty much every week. Decisions made by senior management had crippled the business well before the bankruptcy and we never recovered. After the company reinvented itself or as the other... review mentioned, a restructure occurred and it "was a giant failure". Now if a giant failure means paycheques come on time, company moral is much better, employee retention is much higher, zero debt after a full year as pretty much a new company and the ability to attract a larger company and be acquired by that company, then please I would like to take part in more failed restructures. New vs Old - Overtime is no longer expected and often, it is rare - We are getting free lunches again - We have cleaners that clean the building not employees - Work life is much happier and better all around

    Show More

    Cons

    - Parties are not as fun - Company is much smaller so less people to talk to - Current location has less food choices then our old location

    Advice to Management

    The company still has some work to do but management is now steering us on a path the seems more achievable and will more likely help our future growth. Hopefully the mistakes of the past will not be repeated.

    Fuel Industries2018-10-18
  7. "Foot in the Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice People, neat projects, fun.

    Cons

    Optional (coerced) unpaid overtime to get projects done. Low salary for job, reliant on starry-eyed recent students. Managers usually hired from outside of the company.

    Fuel Industries2018-09-04
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A rebuttal to post titled "Great while it lasted.""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    (Please read the post "Great while it lasted.", dated 27 Aug, 2018, before continuing.) "...they left..." >>> Everybody left because paychecks were consistently late and everybody had bills to pay, regardless of talent. "...no vision to support the creative leadership" >>> "Google: Translate BS" >>> "why can't everyone just work unpaid overtime all the time to meet unrealistic... timelines while being denied the use of a lot of off-the-shelf technical resources?". "...hard to find talent in Ottawa" >>> I can't argue with this point. The singular leadership needed to guide such large and varied teams of highly-qualified professionals across many disciplines was sorely lacking. "...once the founders left, there was no talent and no culture" >>> "Google: Translate BS" >>> "...after the CEO was forced out, an investor saved what talent and resources that remained to try again, hopefully treating it more like business and less like someone's personal playground". *Someone* thinks the founders were the sole source from which all talent and culture flowed!? I just threw up in my mouth a little.

    Show More

    Cons

    Who on Earth could possibly "Approve of (clearly referring to the previous, ousted) CEO" and write this shameless drivel?

    Advice to Management

    Ignore the Grumpy McGrumpyFace who wrote that previous post. Keep the name. Learn from the past. Do better. Good luck!

    Fuel Industries2018-08-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great while it lasted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Art Director in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing creative leadership and the delivery team to match, but they left along with any talent that supported them.

    Cons

    A lot of the back office and operational team had no vision to support the creative leadership and vision. A lot of unqualified people promoted and brought in - hard to find that talent in Ottawa. Restructure was a giant failure. Once the founders left, theres no culture and no talent. Just a name and a lot of awards won by other people.

    Advice to Management

    change the name, it's not Fuel anymore.

    Fuel Industries2018-08-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, not well run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people Lots of smart people Interesting work Good location

    Cons

    Management does not know what their doing Poor decisions led to massive layoffs Lots of power struggle

    Advice to Management

    Clean up the dead weight, figure out a game plan and stop wasting money on stuff that doesn't go anywhere.

    Fuel Industries2018-04-09
Found 45 reviews