Fuel Industries Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Fuel Industries Reviews

Updated Mar 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Mike Burns
26 Ratings
  1. "It was a wild ride!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Fuel Industries full-time

      Pros

      We made some cool sites and games! Had some amazing times.

      Cons

      Work life balance didn't really pan out so well.

      Advice to Management

      Godspeed!

      Fuel Industries2017-08-02
    • "Software developer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Fuel Industries full-time

      Pros

      dynamic team, creative atmosphere, good location

      Cons

      overtime is needed from time to time

      Fuel Industries2019-03-14
    • "Work hard play harder!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great team, great parties, good salary

      Cons

      Lots of hours, hard to manage work / life

      Advice to Management

      Better project planning to reduce overtime required.

      Fuel Industries2019-01-22
    • "Another rebuttal for "Great while it lasted""

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Fuel Industries full-time

      Pros

      The company has gone through some ups and downs over the years and when the last version of the company ended it was during a major downward spiral. Our paycheques were often late and people were leaving or getting let go pretty much every week. Decisions made by senior management had crippled the business well before the bankruptcy and we never recovered. After the company reinvented itself or as the other review...

      Show More

      Cons

      - Parties are not as fun - Company is much smaller so less people to talk to - Current location has less food choices then our old location

      Advice to Management

      The company still has some work to do but management is now steering us on a path the seems more achievable and will more likely help our future growth. Hopefully the mistakes of the past will not be repeated.

      Fuel Industries2018-10-18
    • "Foot in the Door"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Nice People, neat projects, fun.

      Cons

      Optional (coerced) unpaid overtime to get projects done. Low salary for job, reliant on starry-eyed recent students. Managers usually hired from outside of the company.

      Fuel Industries2018-09-04
    • Helpful (3)

      "A rebuttal to post titled "Great while it lasted.""

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Developer in Ottawa, ON
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        (Please read the post "Great while it lasted.", dated 27 Aug, 2018, before continuing.) "...they left..." >>> Everybody left because paychecks were consistently late and everybody had bills to pay, regardless of talent. "...no vision to support the creative leadership" >>> "Google: Translate BS" >>> "why can't everyone just work unpaid overtime all the time to meet unrealistic timelines...

        Show More

        Cons

        Who on Earth could possibly "Approve of (clearly referring to the previous, ousted) CEO" and write this shameless drivel?

        Advice to Management

        Ignore the Grumpy McGrumpyFace who wrote that previous post. Keep the name. Learn from the past. Do better. Good luck!

        Fuel Industries2018-08-28
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great while it lasted."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Art Director in Ottawa, ON
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Amazing creative leadership and the delivery team to match, but they left along with any talent that supported them.

        Cons

        A lot of the back office and operational team had no vision to support the creative leadership and vision. A lot of unqualified people promoted and brought in - hard to find that talent in Ottawa. Restructure was a giant failure. Once the founders left, theres no culture and no talent. Just a name and a lot of awards won by other people.

        Advice to Management

        change the name, it's not Fuel anymore.

        Fuel Industries2018-08-27
      • Helpful (1)

        "Good people, not well run"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Software Developer 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good people Lots of smart people Interesting work Good location

        Cons

        Management does not know what their doing Poor decisions led to massive layoffs Lots of power struggle

        Advice to Management

        Clean up the dead weight, figure out a game plan and stop wasting money on stuff that doesn't go anywhere.

        Fuel Industries2018-04-09
      • "Youth focused engagement"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Art Director in Ottawa, ON
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        In it's early days, Fuel was a fantastic place to work. Always inspiring, full of amazingly talented people. The coolest clients such as Vans, HBO and Mattel. Formoer leadership were global influencers.

        Cons

        New ownership forced out talented folks so I can't speak on it's current status.

        Fuel Industries2017-10-31
      • Helpful (3)

        "What a shame"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Creative in Ottawa, ON
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Fuel Industries full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Worked on some of the most amazing jobs of my career, and made life long friends with the people I worked with. It had so much potential. For all it's faults (which it had many) it was still home to a lot of talented people.

        Cons

        Unfortunately that amazing creative place is long gone. Fuel Inc went bankrupt in August and they changed the name to Fuel LTD in order to skirt some shady bankruptcy loophole so not to pay out any of the employees what they were owed. In the end, you're just gonna be treated as dispensable.

        Advice to Management

        They should of done things the right way, instead of the easy way.

        Fuel Industries2017-10-20
      Found 43 reviews