Fuel Industries Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Fuel Industries Founding Partner, co-CEO, CCO  Mike Burns (no image)
Mike Burns
27 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    It was a wild ride!

    Aug 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We made some cool sites and games! Had some amazing times.

    Cons

    Work life balance didn't really pan out so well.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Another rebuttal for "Great while it lasted"

    Oct 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company has gone through some ups and downs over the years and when the last version of the company ended it was during a major downward spiral. Our paycheques were often late and people were leaving or getting let go pretty much every week. Decisions made by senior management had crippled the business well before the bankruptcy and we never recovered. After the company reinvented itself or as the other review mentioned, a restructure occurred and it "was a giant failure". Now if a giant failure means paycheques come on time, company moral is much better, employee retention is much higher, zero debt after a full year as pretty much a new company and the ability to attract a larger company and be acquired by that company, then please I would like to take part in more failed restructures. New vs Old - Overtime is no longer expected and often, it is rare - We are getting free lunches again - We have cleaners that clean the building not employees - Work life is much happier and better all around

    Cons

    - Parties are not as fun - Company is much smaller so less people to talk to - Current location has less food choices then our old location

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible management but talented staff

    Aug 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This studio had lots of devoted and talented general staff members who had solid experience. The type of clients they had were all big brands.

    Cons

    All management, directors, and partners were ill-fitting, delusional and bullies. They were the ones who drove that place bankrupt.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Fun projects but not a respectful environment

    Apr 26, 2014 - Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I got to work and see a lot of great projects and exciting opportunities while at Fuel. Growth was a potential as you could join the company at a low level of move your way up to be team leads or higher. The pure talent of my fellow co-workers was incredible and always a joy to be a part of. Every few weeks lunch would be provided.

    Cons

    The expectations were ridiculous. Fuel would accept projects that had unrealistic deadlines and simply expect the staff to stay as late as needed to finish it. On top of the already crazy deadlines, new work would be accepted without any opportunity to extend the deadline. Fuel would bend over backwards to simply win a project even though they constantly talked about how the company was stable and could seek equal opportunity projects that would not constantly push the employees to the extreme. Projects would be estimated prior to any details about the end result. When it would come down to execution because everyone is perfectionists an estimate that was discussed as straight forward would be completely warped from what the original expectations were. Working overtime was expected and not paid back in equal rates. Weeks of overtime would be rewarded by a gift card worth not much more than a dinner.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Grind and not great.

    Oct 17, 2019 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -exciting topics, big name brands

    Cons

    -poor management, small business style

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Software developer

    Mar 14, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    dynamic team, creative atmosphere, good location

    Cons

    overtime is needed from time to time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Work hard play harder!

    Jan 22, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team, great parties, good salary

    Cons

    Lots of hours, hard to manage work / life

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fuel and Working there

    Feb 21, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Talent is insane People are great inspires learning and personal growth culture is picking up again great area to be in The types of clients Fuel gets is nuts. I can have my bad days like anyone else but once in a while I sit back and think of the kinds of projects I've touched and the clients I can say I have worked with; its staggering. The opportunity for local talent here is insane. Nowhere else in Ottawa are you going to build a resume like this so quickly.

    Cons

    Parking is pretty bad. You have a choice to find paid parking in the area or play musical parking spots, I pay to not play. can get busy. Putting in overtime during crunch times can happen (not nearly like it was two years ago) and its not paid but they do cover diner if you remember to keep the receipt. It can get loud. You can be working and all the sudden a nurf suction dart or something of the like whizzes by your head. Would be nice to update the kitchen arcade - at least get all the machines working right again. There are "clicks" in the company for sure but its been like that everywhere I've been The people at fuel work hard and are talented. I think Fuel gets a bum wrap sometimes. Yes there are some bad apples but there are some great people working there as well. Good things happen to good people.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    A rebuttal to post titled "Great while it lasted."

    Aug 28, 2018 - Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    (Please read the post "Great while it lasted.", dated 27 Aug, 2018, before continuing.) "...they left..." >>> Everybody left because paychecks were consistently late and everybody had bills to pay, regardless of talent. "...no vision to support the creative leadership" >>> "Google: Translate BS" >>> "why can't everyone just work unpaid overtime all the time to meet unrealistic timelines while being denied the use of a lot of off-the-shelf technical resources?". "...hard to find talent in Ottawa" >>> I can't argue with this point. The singular leadership needed to guide such large and varied teams of highly-qualified professionals across many disciplines was sorely lacking. "...once the founders left, there was no talent and no culture" >>> "Google: Translate BS" >>> "...after the CEO was forced out, an investor saved what talent and resources that remained to try again, hopefully treating it more like business and less like someone's personal playground". *Someone* thinks the founders were the sole source from which all talent and culture flowed!? I just threw up in my mouth a little.

    Cons

    Who on Earth could possibly "Approve of (clearly referring to the previous, ousted) CEO" and write this shameless drivel?

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good individual talent, terrible management

    Feb 25, 2015 - Software Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work-life balance. Great coworkers, good individual talent. You can learn a lot from them. Free lunch every other week. Good location. Decent pay (if you negotiate it upfront)

    Cons

    No perks. No parking. Management doesn't really know what they are doing. It's actually no surprise, as the project managers call themselves "producers". It might work well in a movie studio or something like that, but not in a software development company. I have seen projects with 2 producers.. Projects are usually under-sold.. Sales people don't understand technology. Like other people said before, it's like old boys club, where the managers (and the *many* directors) think they are some kind of high school superstars. The other day, while people were trying to actually do some work, some guy was kind of doing a strip show, talking loud etc... It's ridiculous. Some people at a management level, have a voice over technical decisions. With no computer science (or relative) background at all. And don't even bother discussing and trying to make a point, because most of the times they won't understand what you are trying to say - it's like trying to explain grammar rules to an illiterate. Project modeling and planning is a joke - it just doesn't exist. Very common for the project manager (oh, right, the "producer") to estimate the developer's tasks........really? They tend to think that having a 15 to 40 minutes daily meeting, with no clear scope, is doing SCRUM. Overall, I have had better jobs. If you are looking to learn a few new technologies, it's alright. If you want to work on a real software development company, with processes and engineering, forget about it.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 45 Reviews

Work at Fuel Industries? Share Your Experiences

Fuel Industries logo
or